Chaos Attraction

Stagnant

2023-03-11, 9:56 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Art - 2023-03-17
Prayer - 2023-03-16
A Really, Really Bad Day - 2023-03-15
I Fucked Up Again - 2023-03-14
Restraint - 2023-03-12

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

"You are my favorite mini-series." -Jennifer Crusie.

This morning: tried to sleep, didn't sleep that great, had to drive to Pleasant Hill to go to a favorite BBQ joint of Jackie's. The food was okay--mostly so abundant I could not eat it all. I ate wo potato skins and two great onion rings and really didn't even get to the chicken sandwich, Jackie ordered a bunch of food and didn't eat most of it either. Oops. Well, the waiter was super nice and brought me Oreo ice cream, so yay for that and I got leftovers. She gifted me with a ton of chocolate, which was amazing. I'm really impressed with her cooking/baking, but she's all "I don't enjoy it, I do it for other people and then my family doesn't appreciate anything that isn't bought from a store."

You know, we just tend to be stagnant, really? She's always job hunting, always house hunting, always being a caregiver--though her mom's cancer has stayed stable after 2 years and she's been alive six months longer than predicted and might stay alive longer. I'm always in the same job with nobody loving me ("did you go to a psychic again?" "No, I did not, obviously there's no hope for me") and my mama drama. She said at least my industry is stable, which is true. At worst they just cut our hours by 2.5 hours in the last recession. We've pretty much been like this our entire adult lives and nothing ever changes in those overall status (except her jobs change, obviously).

I did not enjoy driving in in "rain so hard it backwashes in your face and you can't see the lines in the road," which happened off and on throughout the drive but at least not the entire time both ways. That said, even with a good podcast on ("British Scandal," the Jeremy Thorpe episodes--can't believe they scored an interview with the guy he tried to kill!), I was falling asleep so bad and I barely got all the stuff in the house before passing out for three hours.

Ashley wants to do karaoke tonight, so I guess I'll have to get up sometime. She's back to "not having surgery" status again, which is confusing and we'll see how long that lasts since whether or not she needs surgery seems to change weekly. She's confused, the doctors are confused.

The pandemic went official three years ago today, remember that?

Went to karaoke. Got a table outside but under a heater, bar was not too crowded, pretty nice actually (until one girl started projectile vomiting, at which point we left). Sang some fuck-you-dude songs. Stayed sober but acted drunk anyway. Had a good time.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com