Chaos Attraction

Pirates of Penzance

2023-03-10, 9:54 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Prayer - 2023-03-16
A Really, Really Bad Day - 2023-03-15
I Fucked Up Again - 2023-03-14
Restraint - 2023-03-12
Stagnant - 2023-03-11

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

"You are my favorite mini-series." -Jennifer Crusie.

In office today, was boring AF but at least it wasn't raining. I had another front counter shift and nothing happened, which is fine by me, but I'm sure NewBoss will have objections to that next week and insist on putting me on busier shifts, sigh.

I got another card from Cameron--crossed in the mail. Said she did make it to Stitches after all (sent me a a card from there) and that she probably will audition for Tony n' Tina. Yay!!!!!!!

I also got stuff I ordered in the mail--a new cord for my convertible knitting needles (hope it works better than the current one) and a new FasTrak, which I will need for tomorrow. I hope it freaking works. I stuck the new one in and disposed of the old one in a post office box. Turns out I'd had that thing for ten years--no wonder it was kind of stopping working.

Now I'm dwelling that Scott's probably getting the cards in the mail today/tomorrow. Wondering what he'll think, if he'll get the insult or not notice/care, but I'll never know.

Newsies! Paul from Urinetown got Jack Kelly--perfect casting. Kat from Cabaret got Katherine. Scrooge Scott got Joseph Pulitzer, Brian is playing Teddy Roosevelt (LOL), Lucas, Felicia, Dannette, Steve the Beadle, Joshua from Cabaret, Alisa and Jillian, James from Urinetown, Sabrina and Elizabeth, Molly and Annie, Laura from tap class. Jan is in as "townspeople along with whoever else isn't dancing, I presume. Yes, most of the Newsies appear to be girls (I note several have ambiguous-gender names). Well, good for all of them.

I went to Pirates of Penzance tonight. It's not a show I like in itself (kinda boring, kinda dumb/slow-ish except for certain songs here and there), but the performances were good. Lucas made a great Frederick, Brian was obviously having fun as the Pirate King for his third time (my favorite bit: "I wanna be in the kickline!"), Carolyn does AMAZING operatic singing. I told her so afterwards and she was all, "I don't practice very much," and I was all "you do when you have rehearsal, eh?" LOL. I talked to Laura from tap class--she said she probably won't be back since she got into Newsies. She played a cop in the second act and I talked to her, Arthur, and Joe about their use of spirit gum. Arthur had to shave his usual facial hair to wear a fake bad mustache in the second act, Joe had on HUGE muttonchops as the major general and he said they were hard to groom and since they were white, he had issues with the spirit gum making big ol' marks on his cheeks. Jenn Clossick wanted to know how I was doing but I didn't get my way back to her, alas. I note she played Ruth, a part I didn't enjoy so much in act 1, but in act 2 she's in a sexy pirate costume and LOVED IT. Anyway, performances were good even if that ain't my favorite show ever.

Jan invited me out to dinner after the show, I wasn't sure how long they'd be doing changeover, so she said meet at IHOP at 10:30. So at first it was just her and me, and then three other people from the show joined. I didn't talk to the guys too much (they were pretty quiet is why) , but I did really hit it off with Kaitlyn, who was super sweet and cute and nice and adorable and I look forward to being in a show with her at some point.

Talked to Jan about how my auditions hadn't gone well lately but I'm looking forward to Tony n' Tina again, was trying to talk her into going ("if we don't have rehearsal," I note I messaged Steve afterwards to mention this to him as a reason to not have rehearsal that night), she was trying to talk me into doing other shows, like why didn't I do Pirates (honestly, not that into it, but looks like others had fun). Told her I though Woodland was pretty disorganized and we talked about how we don't get how they do shows. She said they only pick 24 per show so who else can get in, I said Danny and Jean said I wouldn't get in (she was kind of shocked at that), I said it does seem like they have favorites, but oh well there. She did mention going to Avenue Q because Morgan and Hugo and Scott got in....SIGH.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com