Chaos Attraction

The British Are Coming!

2023-05-28, 6:46 p.m.

Sunday:

We went out to a restaurant called "The Charming Fig," which seems to be a more cheese-themed restaurant that throws drag queen parties. Mom showed me the pictures from the one they went to, and Roger said he was the only guy there and was happy to be there, and just wished he carried around smaller bills than fifties. I saw the pictures. It's adorable. I'm so happy my mom and her boyfriend are the types to go to drag shows. In the olde hometowne, of all places that can be kinda redneck (we have legit cowboys around here). Love it. I'd like to be around for one of those sometime. On a related note, my mom was talking to someone in there with a pot business of some kind (CBD products, anyway) and I saw her with a flier for it. I admitted that I've gotten pot gummies. She oddly didn't seem to notice this so much?

After that, I left and went to Vacaville early. The location of the show was a few blocks from the yarn store and I had a coupon, so I went in there briefly and talked to Scott's parents ("Hey, stranger!" his dad said), knowing today I could avoid him. They said it was Scott's last day of Avenue Q and they had to take down the set and have a party, I said I bet it's sad for him. They said he also got a cold and lost his voice for the last few shows, so I'm not sure how that went....they said he could do Rod's voice/singing but not his own voice? Not sure how that goes. Well, I guess I'm glad I went when I did. His mom said his grandma was told NOT to go to this show.

I asked if they were going to throw a 4th of July party because that might be good timing with the store closed (I have been wondering, figured I'd ask) and got a sorta-maybe--she's having hip replacement surgery two weeks before and said she'd have to see how she's doing, but agreed on the timing. Who knows. I got a few more crochet hooks (I don't know where all of mine wander off to) and another skein of yarn that would go with some of my projects.

After that, I went to go see "The British Are Coming!" the melodrama Robert (and other former castmates from As You Like It, Liz and Bryan) are in. William got there right before I did and we had a great time snarking away in the audience, rather Statler and Waldorf. It was very 4th of July patriotic in there. I note they provided people with giant fake silver coins on the tables and periodically some actors would tool around looking for "donations for the cause" and then throw more silver coins out back to us. William, of course, formed his into a penis shape until some other ladies wanted to throw some in the pails too.

Robert made an adorable Benjamin Franklin, and actually did singing in a show (that wasn't Beatles karaoke). It's a melodrama, so people have themed songs and booing and hissing and the audience yelling, "HE'S OVER THERE!" when the hero is chasing the villain through all the tables. It's during the Revolutionary War and ladies are spying on military details. The bad guy--of course it's a Brit with a Mario mustache--enlists a grumpy English chick who's just arrived to spy for him. Meanwhile the heroine ("Liberty Bell") and the hero are forced to "fake date" while they coordinate military stuff/weapons stashing, except they both like each other right off, of course. It was all good fun and we said hi to people afterwards (I note Tom from TnT2 and his wife Ann also were there), and got a group selfie.

Did hear that Bryan is going to be in "Miracle Worker" but didn't quite get to ask if he/Lize would perhaps want to do more Shakespeare--ah well, I figure Robert's on that topic if he can be. He didn't seem that concerned about having people turn up for the show since he said that sort of thing happened last year too. That said, I actually put in a prayer to St. Genesius to see if he can find anyone....

After that I made a few brief, pointless shopping stops in Vacaville before heading home. I would like to thank the porch pirates that when my package was unfortunately delivered during THIS weekend instead of its due date on Tuesday, opened up the package, realized they didn't want anything in it, and then still left it at my door. Thank you for not stealing stuff blind that it turns out you don't want! So I still got the cool vest I ordered and necklace. Whew. Love this vest, it has SO MANY POCKETSES. Since I never did hear if Manny was having a birthday party tonight or not (I guess not), I'm home alone fucking off. I finished watching "Sprung" and really enjoyed it.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com