Chaos Attraction

Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812

2023-05-27, 6:44 p.m.

Saturday: I went down to meet Mom and we went to go see "Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812," starring Jared from Evita/B&tB as Anatole the hottie.
This is a really fabulous show. I highly recommend it. I note that they had giant posters of everyone's face outside and I took a picture of Jared's and he said he was surprised nobody drew a mustache on it. "Or devil horns," I suggested. They also had an amazing set with a lot of lights and instruments (both playable and not) all over and mostly lots of gold. There were two tiny "pits" for musicians--keyboard and cello on one side, woodwinds on the other, drummer and bassist hidden onstage. Some cast members played piano, violin, and even accordion onstage. And at the end, a giant comet lit up on the ceiling. LOVED IT SO PRETTY.

I also note they had an aisle down the middle of the theater and in the middle of it, which the cast ran around, danced on, sat on, did walking on hands on.... LOVED it. Mom was at first impressed that I got seats in row 3 near the aisle/behind the pit, then was all "maybe we should have been behind the aisle." I note that I gave her the seat closest to the aisle because she is forever short and can't see over anyone and that shouldn't have been an issue in that seat. It was not, but it was probably closer to the actors getting up to interesting things than she might have liked. I enjoy that sort of thing, she found it embarrassing. To which specifically I mean, Jared came over and flirted with us and kissed our hands in the middle of the show. I enjoyed it VERY MUCH, Mom said she was embarrassed and did not know what to do! I was delighted to get the attention--this isn't a show where the actors come out afterwards, so we had our moment of fun.

Mom wasn't too into it at first--I caught her falling asleep--but I think she got into it more later? It was SUPER FUN. The show explains pretty well who everyone is and what's going on, but it's sung through/a bit operatic (but also crazy), super energetic, dancing is fun/more modern, they are clearly having a blast. I thought it was interesting that various people had writing on their clothes, albeit not writing I could read. Pierre had writing on his sleeves, Sonya had some randomly embedded into her skirt. Anatole had what looks like writing down the sides of his gold pants. I wish I could ask someone how that came about. Anyway, amazing show, highly recommended if you can see it.

Much Ado will go on...with six people, somehow. Doesn't sound like the guy they wanted for Claudio was gotten. Robert and Jessica are of course Beatrice and Benedick, Sarah is Margaret, Janene and Jessica's son are for the Watch, Cameron is playing Don John with a name change (I think....said "Dona Maria"), and I got Hero! The one part I would never have guessed I'd end up with. I guess Rodney liked how I played her. Anyway, huzzah!...albeit still concerned on people. First rehearsal Wednesday.

After the show, I wanted to go to Barnes and Noble to get a copy of No Fear Shakespeare, Much Ado version, and picked up a Moth-themed storytelling card deck and a hippie book, in addition to that one. Mom picked up a TON of books. Then we attempted to find that "Funny Farm" restaurant we went to after Come From Away. Apparently there are two of them and the one nearest the bookstore was the smaller, crappier-neighborhood one. It wasn't quite as kookily decorated in signs (though I did appreciate the fur-covered pole and the "Vampire Test" mirror), but the Monte Cristo burritos were still delicious. The place was super empty when we got there and we felt like we needed to leave ASAP, so we only ate half and got out before closing. Next time, we're gonna track down the other version of this place.

After we got back to Roger's, both he and Mom apparently really loved "The Diplomat," so I got them started on "The Americans." That was fun. I really should like, finish that one sometime. In other news, my crochet dress ended up having several inches of it taken out because it seemed to get bigger...? I have no idea how that happens.

I went to bed around midnight, and even though everything was comfortable, the ticking clock was taken out, the windows were all the way closed, I still didn't sleep till like 5:15. Why is this when I stay here? And that was due to pot gummy. I think I've figured out that this works as a middle-of-the-night thing more than a "take it at 11 and sleep through the night" thing, because that didn't work, but it has at least put me back to sleep later.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com