Chaos Attraction

The Lady Demands Satisfaction

2023-05-26, 6:39 p.m.

Today at work wasn't as bad, but I did get cheesed off when a higher-up from another office sent me a list of names, about 20 out of 100 of them were different from what was in the computer. This is pretty typical for these offices, so I wrote back "here is your list vs. what was in the computer, which am I supposed to use?" and he got all "use MY list, btw, I DID GET THEM OUT OF THE COMPUTER," and I was all OH NO YOU DIDN'T I GOT THE EVIDENCE RIGHT HERE, but of course I can't say anything because it's a higher-up. So either he's dumb/doesn't know how to do his job (likely because he's new) or he's a liar, and either way, ugh. Also bad is that I am now forced to put WHATEVER NAME THEY WANT and um, someone decided to list all their degrees, which is so...oh, for fuck's sake.

Rachel did not end up auditioning for SpongeBob, blah blah tired not prepared, which kind of surprised me because she was hyped about it for weeks. Tried to talk her into Much Ado instead, but yeah, right. So far Erik from work, Omar, Eddie, Marie and possibly I'm forgetting one other person got into SpongeBob. It's enough people I'd feel obligated to go, except I've never seen SpongeBob anything or had any remote interest in doing so and I don't get the appeal, so....I dunno.

Singing lesson: did Fifty Percent again, not much new to say there.

After that, I went to the annual free play by the teen theater, "The Lady Demands Satisfaction." I'll sum up the plot: Trothe* Pepperston is a 15-year-old in love with a "poet" named Osric, presumably her mom's dead, and her dad (a famous swordsman who didn't train his kid) has just been killed. Somehow this translates into "anyone can show up at the house with sword to fight Trothe* for the house," and Trothe's options are (a) nunnery and/or a brothel--there seems to be some kind of confusion on that, (b) learn to fight from her aunt Theodosia, the best swordswoman around, except she's gotta do it before her 16th birthday in a week, (c) marry the nearest swordsman she can find, i.e. Some Prussian Dude Who Only Speaks German.

* note: pretty much said like "trophy," which makes you wonder.

Her servants, Penelope and Tilly, attempt to assist. Penelope "supposedly" translates German--I'm not sure if she actually does or not--and Tilly dresses up like a Prussian dude and fakes German, for Reasons. Meanwhile, the actual Prussian shows up, only speaks actual German, and has no idea what's going on and nobody else knows what he's saying either. And somehow Aunt Theodosia gets the idea she needs to lose to Fake-Prussian Tilly in a duel, which was....something I can't even describe with the number of near-misses and "Come and get me," bro" behavior, and kicking, and twirling. And finally out of nowhere Osric is all, "I stabbed your dad!" and Trothe stabs him without a qualm, and the Original Prussian is..I guess a woman in disguise...and there's debate as to whether or not Trothe already had her birthday months ago thanks to the Gregorian calendar changeover, and the show ends with Penelope and the Original Prussian suddenly having a gay wedding in the 1700's out of nowhere.

I dunno about the writing of this one, is what I have to say here. Oh well, swordfights are always fun and Acme does them well (I note last year's show of The Three Musketeers).


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com