Chaos Attraction

Pleached Bower

2023-06-05, 9:40 p.m.

I took two anxiety gummies last night--NO effect. Took a sleep gummy when I woke at 3 a.m. I kept going to sleep and waking up every 15 minutes until the alarm went off, which is still an improvement from my usual WIDE AWAKE NO MATTER WHAT, albeit I was groggy AF and I'm amazed I made it to the office and didn't pass out in morning meeting (thanks, Mountain Dew!). Seriously, these experiments with gummies have just been disappointing.

In office day. Thankfully it was quiet and I didn't hate myself today. Finished one of the eternally long lists and just proofread addresses all day. Also worked on my maze scarf and actually got a few rows successfully in. It's nice to have a non-suicidal, non-rage, non-in-trouble workday. I did spend some time plotting out a driving vs. walking route if I'm in town to go to the artist studio tour in town next weekend. Looks like Mom is going to try to get different tickets for Woodminster for Sunday rather than Saturday...

Rehearsal: I guess Christian didn't work out, so tonight we tried out Ricardo, a friend of Juan's from Spring Fling. He is to be the prince (I note he did an amusing hair toss when this was said). Robert and Janene have a couple more potentials on Wednesday, I'm told. Fingers crossed there. It was apparently Green Shirt Day, as most of the cast had one on. I felt left out, even if my shirt had some green on it :P Sarah was happy to be the popular one.

When we came in, Rodney filmed us saying what our hardest line was. I said it was the whole "pleached bower" description, then read from No Fear Shakespeare about how that's describing a spot where people hid out looking to overthrow royalty. He was all, "No cheating!" and I was all, "Hey, you said to look stuff up!" Hahahahah. I think that went well.

Sarah said hers was "I'll make her come," because of NOT saying "you" there. ;) "I put you instead of her, but it's classic Margaret." Nick said it was saying the word "mine" about nine times. Beckett "ummmmed" a lot during his, with Rodney saying, "Could he be any more charming?"

Cameron said it was going to be two minutes of her staring... said she didn't have any hard lines as Don John, a non-talker, and also "I have trouble getting OUT of that language once I'm in...But soft! What light through yonder Frappuchino is this?"

Notes: we pretty much read through the first four scenes, act 3, scene 1 (my big dialogue one) and the first Dogberry and co. scene again. I'm wondering if we're just skipping anything with Claudio, Borachio, etc. since we don't have one, but what happens later on?

Robert and Jessica were (trying to be) off-book, which impressed Rodney that they were doing it on day 2. I kept pointing out they've done it before.

Rachel/Ursula was dubbed to read the Antonio/Leonato's brother lines, and she pointed out she's literally supposed to be talking to him in the masquerade scene. Rodney had her say those lines to Beckett/Balthasar instead. Oh, and Cameron now has a knife(!) (note: chopstick) to pull out during her opening rant. Hmmmmm. I am pretty sure Sarah/Rachel are going to be in the Watch, Sarah was quite concerned about quick changing and possibly uplifting her skirts, breaking out her Merida wig and somehow getting a beard so she can be a gnome.

Other notes: not only does Rodney want me to knit onstage, he wants Leonato to be holding a ball of yarn being wound...I pointed out that might be hard to take off and stand up in a hurry to do, just handed him my ball. We'll see if this continues to be a thing or no? Rodney was also playing marches off the phone.

Quotes (all quotes Rodney unless specified otherwise):
"Who the hell writes this shit?"
To me: "Your closet must be glowing." Darned right.
On the language: "What if we had to go back in time and perform Baby Got Back?"
To Robert: "That's the same look as when she kicked your ass earlier."
To Sarah: "And there will be no butt talking and no butt walking."
"And thank you for eating all the cookies."

Me:
"The first rule of Shakespeare Club is to talk about Shakespeare Club...."
"What's the 1800's equivalent of popcorn?"
"Cameron's literally waving a knife around?!"
(As the Watchmen get weird...) "Eating nits out of her hair, that's very Cabaret."
I labeled Leonato having to bow as a man curtsey, or "mertsy."

Rachel: "I didn't know I was starting a new part today..."

Cameron: "That age old tradition, jumping lines."

Sarah: "I like to wiggle."
"Thank you, I'm going to be a dwarf."

Janene: "Sorry, I must keep talking."

The last of my fancy nails finally popped off today. I guess I'll leave them on break for awhile after a literal month of having them on!

I had a wine slushie when I got home.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com