Chaos Attraction

Urinetown Audition

2022-01-09, 10:31 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
I Got Into Urinetown - 2022-01-14
This Setup Doesn't Work - 2022-01-13
Oh, THAT's Why I Suck! - 2022-01-12
I Suck - 2022-01-11
Nothing To do But Butter A Cat - 2022-01-10

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Slept in till 10:30. Rae called (I didn't answer) but did text to say she tested negative. Huzzah. Her mom texted to say Rae got sent home from her house from being well, "disrespectful" (not asking!) but didn't mention her own test results. Ashley texted to say her chest hurt but otherwise was thinking about yarn and her dad went to go buy her more and was FaceTiming her from there. I bet that was a hoot.

Today's show was looking fairly full on the sold-out-ness online (maybe 3/4 of the seat sold) but was actually a lot emptier today (probably 1/4 actually there). We've been told that Sunday's usually the best selling day* but I guess a lot of season ticket holders didn't show up. It was a pretty dead/quiet audience, though apparently some folks were texting their people during intermission and saying the reactions were good, it was just quiet. I also note that they aren't heating the theater this week much (I think there was some kind of...dispute on the temperature? I dunno) and it's at 65 on the thermostat. I'm not saying it's warm, especially since we're in uh, not particularly warm outfits a lot of the time, but still at least ten degrees warmer than my apartment, so I didn't bitch. But someone reported people BROUGHT THEIR OWN BLANKETS to the show, so oy vey there. That's PLANNING AHEAD.

* Presumably because the shows run long, usually about 3 hours each or longer. There was a big discussion yesterday about whether or not it was possible to start the nighttime shows at 7:30. Dannette pointed out that people can't get over from Sacramento and farther out after work, get food to eat, and get over here that early, which I think is totally reasonable. Then Other Jennifer was all "we never have that problem in Woodland and we can start at 7:30 and everyone can get here 1.5 hours early no problem!" I kept trying to figure out why and eventually she said, "oh, people just leave their work early!" Uh-HUH.

I think there were a few incidents--mostly after two days of good behavior, the mics decided to misbehave a bit and screech during one scene, and Scott's went out during the audition scene. (I kept thinking dude, you can be one of the loudest people I know, PROJECT ALREADY. Steve was getting on him during mic check to be louder and he wasn't, for whatever reason. Dude, that's why.) I talked to Tessa (doing mics) before the show and she said, "It's interesting..." I said that's how I felt about lights. I think she's nervous about doing it without Kimmie, who's out for 2 weekends of the show and then yesterday hit her head (or got hit on the head by something?) in the prop room, and was looking for her phone number. And sure 'nuff, the things got up to shit today. Oh well. Sarah was all "There needs to be a spotlight on Roger when he gets the idea," and I don't think that happened...then something was clearly going buggy at the curtain call. I FEEL FOR YOU.

Other than that, I think things were fine, we were doing well even if well, you can't help other people. Also, WE MADE IT THROUGH A FULL WEEK!!!!

Not that many funny quotes going on, but here you go:

Isaiah: "I have the same mask!"
Andy: "Do you?"
Isaiah: "No."

Me: "You have two different shoes on."
Isaiah: "DO I?!?"

Mic check:
* Jean: you don't even have to WATCH the show, but be sure to buy a drink, that's how we make our money.
* Arthur: "I'm getting my tan."
* Arie: "I'll just go back to pi now until you tell me to stop." Tessa: "That's not from something?" Arie: "It's from pi, which is a circle."

Steve: "Oh, thank God we killed that cat."

Sabrina: "All redheads are cousins on a soul level."

Mom said it was "cute" and "fun" and then started ragging on me for breaking my electric blanket because I didn't "do it right" even though I said I followed the instructions. Roger broke that one right up. Then she wanted me to come out to the car right NOW to go get the replacement throw blanket she got, and I said I'm in costume right now and can't, you can put it in my house. Then she wanted to know later why I didn't introduce Scott and I suspect he crept off behind me, so I didn't. Maybe he didn't, according to her. Oh well. Why bother.


Auditions: 9 people there tonight and only one guy (Ed from Mary Poppins), so.... Previously known people: him, Molly, Dannette, Sarah (currently doing lights for Producers), Marie (from Mary Poppins). Jan auditioned by singing but said she wouldn't read any lines, just wanted to be ensemble. The lady who did the off dancing in Titanic, Chris, was in it. Kyle's girlfriend Sophia from New Year's, who has apparently done in her leg since the 31st (said it would be off...)? Said it should be off by run throughs, whatever that means.

Quotes from Steve: "We spoof about anything we can possibly spoof."
"They are doing a s-load of stuff."
"It's done in youth theater a lot, I don't get that. I guess kids pee a lot."
"I want this to be a fun time because with what's going on, we need it."

I did "There's A Fine, Fine Line" from Avenue Q and on the one hand, I felt like it was the best I've ever sung/belted it. On the other hand, I GOT NO APPLAUSE AND DUMBFOUNDED FACES (everyone else got applause after their songs), so um...I guess it was not good? :( Dammit. Everyone else was doing comedy songs, which is fine. I admit I picked mine based on https://www.theatretrip.com/audition-songs-for-urinetown/ this webpage, so.... oh, who knows, they know what I'm like in a show.

I kind of wanted to go out for Little Sally (I think Lockstock has the best part, but obviously can't do that one and Little Sally is as close as that gets to narrator snark for a lady), but obviously I wouldn't get cast like that, so I didn't want to write that down officially as a thing. I wrote down "any part but Hope, might be nice to have a named one this time (Sally?)" sort of stuff on the parts, but I think it's clear I'll be nameless ensemble again even though Steve said there's enough named parts in this.

Of course they had problems with most of the parts to read being men and uh, not too many men here. I read Officer Lockstock (in the "hydraulics" scene) and think I did a great job, not that that particularly matters, mind you. The second scene, well, clearly Steve was like out of scenes/ideas by the time he got to me and Molly being left, so he had us read over the last scene in which Little Sally has two lines and Lockstock has a ton, which others had already done. So I SLIGHTLY got to do character voice of it, but probably not enough of one. Oh well, what can you do.

Some girls, well, can't really read dudes, is what I'm going to say. Not that that probably matters, particularly. I was pretty astonished that Molly, who has done tons of shows (I think she is pretty much ensemble most of the time), was....not great at reading aloud when she had to read the long speech by Lockstock. Like mispronouncing/missing words kind of stuff. I tried to briefly read it aloud for her so she knew what it sounded like, but....argh. Some girls reading guy parts were well, just okay at it, I suppose. I want to be proud of myself for actually doing it at least somewhat well, but I don't think that matters too much. I was just trying to prove I could do character voices.

But watching some people, I realize that I'm really just not that good compared to other people. Like I note that Dannette had a shirt on that said "you define you," but really, that's not how life works? I can't define myself as anything that other people don't see me as. I may define myself as an awesome ingenue soprano, but if my body/looks/lack of talent can't cash those checks, yeah, right.

My bets on who gets what: Chris for Penelope, Marie for Little Sally because she obviously had major high pitched character voice and got to read that part twice. (Once I saw her doing it, it was all "never mind on that role.") I presume Morgan (auditioning tomorrow) will get Hope. Beyond that, I dunno.

Told Scott about it afterwards, he continues to hedge and be all "Haven't watched it, have to find some other song, my body could use a break" about the whole thing, About the one interest he had was that I said only one guy auditioned ;P (It looks like 5 guys total have signed up and there's 11 guy parts.) UGH, WHY AM I DOING THIS, JUST LET HIM DO WHATEVER AND STOP TALKING TO HIM ALREADY AT THE END OF JANUARY.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com