Chaos Attraction

I Got Into Urinetown

2022-01-14, 9:19 p.m.

Today's news:

(a) Ashley tested negative on PCR, got ahold of rapid test today, will take that one as well at some point to make sure.

(b) I got into Urinetown as ensemble, not everyone who got a callback got a specific role. Called who got Little Sally, at least--it was Marie. Hugo (from Shrek) got Officer Lockstock, Tomas (from Camelot) got Barrel. Much to my surprise, Morgan did NOT get Hope, but got Penny instead. Go figure. Some newbies got lead roles, can't speak to those. Dannette got Bobby's mom. Molly, Jean (actress), Sarah (currently lights for this show), Jan and I are all ensemble without other parts. Two male parts are TBA, HMMMMMMMMM. I guess Scott did not bother to ever say anything to Steve. I didn't ask.

Work:

(a) I went into the office and got the cords--Grandboss agreed that uh, if I can just use one of the dang things, it sounds easier--and then I pointed out that despite the supposed plan to have tech people install the VPN, that did not install. I ended up hanging around the office after being told to page tech support to install it--they did not respond, so I finally went home. Grandboss did say she was trying to stay six feet away from everybody, which I appreciated, but um, what about yesterday....

(b) I put in an IT request to have the VPN installed, it didn't work. I'm keeping the old computer, thank you.

(c) Some girl called claiming she'd submitted her payment/documentation for an Important Document. I could find no evidence of this (nor could anyone else) and said they should try asking the payment office. Apparently she ripped the employee on the phone a new one, and ripped the manager a new one (I was all "Sorry, on a tech call!" when the demand to speak to a manager came through) and threatened to report us all. Yaaaaaaaaaaaay :/ She claims she talked to someone here, but heck if I know.

(d) Dawn wants to get together this weekend, but um, is that a good idea? She specifically wanted to go by someone in Yarn Club's house to get some patterns, and I pointed out that the lady's had cancer and probably doesn't want me, Walking Danger Zone, showing up at her house. Sigh.


Friday night's show notes: show went great!

Pre-show:

* After Alexis's green thermos was lost for like weeks, it finally turned up in the costume shop. Me, after repeated requests of had I seen it or not and I'd just seen similar but not correct objects: "Oh, THAT'S what it looks like!"

* Steve was doing the sound board because Tessa "only has strep or mono or something like that, yaaaaaaaay," said with dripping sarcasm on the yay-it's-not-covid bits. I saw Kimmie in the building, having recovered from a Titanic ship wheel to the eye, but she left early.

* After vocal warmups, the orchestra started playing "Springtime for Hitler" and those of us still milling about started spontaneously rehearsing it, even filling in other people's parts. Me: "Don't be stupid, be a schmarty, come and join the Nazi party."

* Jan was going around happily talking about Urinetown and pointing out who in this cast is in it and was saying that she prefers ensemble. Later, Sabrina said that despite Ulla being fun, she feels the same.
Jan also said--VERY ODDLY ENOUGH TO ME--that just because you don't get a callback doesn't mean you don't get in, but also that getting a callback doesn't mean you get into the show. I looked back at the list for Urinetown later and one of the people who auditioned--who was in Titanic and I think is a board member, even (and this was the one who was saying that some people just don't have a distinctive voice), didn't get in. This flabbergasted me, though maybe it could be because they ONLY wanted a big part and if they didn't get it, didn't get in. Maybe Chris just said she only wanted a lead, I dunno. They do say that on the audition forms that you're less likely to get in if you only want a lead and not ensemble.

* Steve asked Isaiah if he wanted a part in Urinetown, Isaiah said he might be going out of town in March. I was thinking GO ASK SCOTT ALREADY but said nothing, didn't ask Scott if he EVER said anything, stayed the fuck out of it.

Backstage before the show:

* Evan, Alexis, Elizabeth and I were having a conversation about how hot Boris the musical director is. Mostly this had to do with us saying the backstage camera that shows Boris conducting wasn't on, but clearly this went a bit beyond that :P He got called "emotional support Boris" and people were talking about how good his hair is. I guess Evan is gay(?) because he said he got nervous talking to Boris and would say weird things and Boris was confused about it.

* Jean (costumes) came in and said that some guy only bought tickets to shows here because Steve is Jewish and he thought that Steve knew Yiddish. Jean then proceeded to ask if any of the other Jewish castmates knew Yiddish. Isaiah said no. Then it was suggested Michael might--in the words of Nate, "Well, Michael is a little meshuggunah." Michael doesn't either. I wonder what this guy's opinion was of the "I don't know, I don't speak Yiddish" scene? I guess I'll never know.

During the show:

* Jean (actress) forgot to take off her usherette hat before changing to bag lady coat--oops. It got thrown offstage. I nearly went on as a prison guard with my old lady neck doily on, but someone spotted it before I did that. Jean: "I'm the bag lady who knocked off the usherette."

* Dannette's dress zipper was about to give up the ghost and Jean and I were all "I don't think this is gonna zip," so the dress was taken to Jean (costumes) and Sherilyn loaned Dannette her wraparound dress from the previous number. This actually worked out well.

* The audience was actually pretty lively tonight, after Ulla's "why you go so far stage right?" line got a big laugh, someone said there must be a lot of theater people in the audience. (None that I knew.)

* Scott blew me a kiss on stage again :) His knee is fine again after a week off.

* I continue to write dirty jokes on the papers I hand out in "I Wanna Be A Producer" and am amused at the notes Isaiah(?) also writes. I am trying to pass them out so the guys may see them, but who knows. Did see Scott looking at one/writing on it(?) or at least had a pen out on my way offstage, though. Hmmmmm.

Fun conversation in the dressing room:

Sherilyn: "My kids looked at the program and were traumatized by one of my character names, Lick Me Bite Me."

Not Fun conversations in the dressing room:

* Tons of people at Other Jennifer's and Dannette's job have it, and their family members. Other Jennifer said she was going to hold a work meeting outside in her backyard with heaters. Dannette said most of her class was out and she bought and brought her own HEPA filter for the room.

* At one point Alexis was all, "oh, I forgot my allergy medication today, no wonder I feel like crap." To which I was all "......"

* Dannette was going to have a friend usher, but the friend did not show up because she totaled her car instead. Friend is fine, car is not.

* Jean (actress) was distraught because a friend of hers got an injury and has a very badly off autistic kid at home and nobody to do care for anybody.

* Last weekend everyone was cold, today they were a bit hot. The heater was actually on, I guess. I made sure the HEPA filter was turned on.

After the show, the party was at Applebee's in Woodland, which I was so-so about doing (again, fucking Covid/masks/etc, plus driving in cold, plus most people weren't going). I kept waiting around for Scott to finally come out and find me, which he eventually did, and said he wouldn't go because he didn't know if he could eat anything there. I figured as much, and went home too.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com