Chaos Attraction

Group Numbers Online

2021-04-13, 8:30 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Freak Flag - 2021-04-18
Breaking Bad - 2021-04-17
Office Shenanigans - 2021-04-16
Battle of Farquaad - 2021-04-15
First Day of Freedom - 2021-04-14

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Work things:

(a) I had to put in a complaint yesterday that our crappy system wouldn't let me put certain info in (that people were complaining about not being in). Today my boss said that we literally CAN'T put it in the new upgraded system because it was previously customized in the old one and we're no longer allowed to customize things because that causes problems. Well, guess what, not customizing causes problems too, like literally not being able to do the job. I'm no longer allowed to use the old system--they took back my access, assholes--so my boss had to do all that work. Oh well. I said "what happens when they surprise shut off the old system?" and she was all "Grandboss will hunt them down" and then we all made jokes about getting popcorn to watch.

(b) Hope and I had to do a half hour of watching Adventure Girl answer the phones. On the one hand, yay for only having to do a half hour of that (she said that after a weekend of partying at a wedding she was watching her voice). On the other hand, I don't feel like a half hour answers much for all the pitholes and problems that come up with the damn phones. She trains people the way I do, which is interesting.

I'll note in the continuing adventures of Adventure Girl, they were doing a lot of dancing and partying at this wedding and at one point her boyfriend dipped her and ripped her dress--fortunately not in a "where the good lord split ya" sort of way, at least. But once again I am all "aaaaaaaaaaaah how are you not catching things aaaaaaaaaaaaah" in my brain. (Also, see below.) I hope she's getting vaccinated since once she expressed interest in such to me. Or already did, I hope.

(c) I lost track of how many times Mom both called me, and texted, and FACE TIMED me this morning (my coworkers were amused as I recounted it all) because she was out and about today. Roger had his heart battery replaced and is fine, yay. Mom was going to try to get RealID but they wouldn't accept her marriage certificate because it came from the church and not the law (also, my dad has been dead 14 years so...why????) but was thwarted at this because offices are closed for Covid, so instead she did my birthday shopping.

This wasn't going so well because she decided to buy things at Bed Bath and Beyond and Wal-Mart (I think?) and some of the stuff I wanted specifically, she either didn't find at all or didn't find a substitute. Like I asked for this little microwave omelet cooker and SUPPOSEDLY IT'S AT BBB but somehow she can't find it and shows me some huuuuuuuuge omelet cooker that doesn't use the microwave and I'm all, I literally can't fit this large thing in my cabinets. I asked for a seat cushion that's 5 inches high (I have to prop myself up high enough off my kitchen table so as to not have mouse hand issues, hence the request, standard cushions are not covering it) and she kept showing me normal sized fairly flat cushions. And "would you like these cute backpacks that are super tiny and barely hold your keys?" Sigh. I feel like such a picky bitch saying no. Shoulda stuck to only books.

In other news, Kelly is plotting the suffragist play a lot, and she also said that one of the cast members got Covid. And it's bad enough that she feels like she's dying off and on. Aiee. Other than that, we're discussing costumes and the like. I most likely can do our actual acting out of the show without it conflicting with DMTC, as I asked and they said they don't rehearse on Saturdays. Kewl.


Tonight was the first group musical rehearsal for Shrek, doing the two large group numbers. Steve had his nasal polyp surgery yesterday and ah.... y'know, maybe wasn't quite in the state to be rehearsing since he was very busy bleeding all day and says he feels like he's getting pneumonia....I wrote down quotes, of course.

Anyway: when we did Robin Hood, we did one person singing it, we had Marcia come up with the track, we sang to it, tah-dah. Today it was like, "here's all the songs on Dropbox," except ah, they were not labeled so clearly and people didn't know what they were doing, or what section of the song they were singing, and he was all "Take it from E" and I was all "where's E? I played violin, I have no clue how sheet music translates into my voice here...." So it was all confusing. We attempted to perform it in individual chunks, I guess? Those who had or could find their background music sang to it. Only one person went at a time and the rest of us were told to put our mutes on and then sing in our own homes (fine by me). Four people were designated section leaders and were told to record their parts and then the rest of us will learn our parts from that. Fine by me, again.

Quotes from rehearsal. All quotes are Steve unless stated otherwise: "It looked like I was in a remake of the movie Psycho." -Steve after his nose surgery After one of the kids' mom said she only lets her kid be on Facebook for shows, because otherwise bullying exists: "Facebook is an enormous time waster." "The odds of getting the harmony correct when we do it like this is virtually none." "The high pig, the middle pig, and the bacon. Too soon?" Steve: "Hugo, I am going to come down to Elk Grove and smack you." Robert: "That's where I live!" Steve: "You're next, Robert." (Note: I am unsure what brought on the smacking threat. Nothing major, clearly.) "You sing it in your window muted until we record. I'll have no idea if you're doing it correctly." "Any questions on this today, other than you couldn't really get to sing it?" "I was a little busy today trying not to swallow blood." "This is so hard to learn like this. Take a 2 minute break, everybody!" "I am so sick of the color green. So sick of it. Not your fault. Well, could be." -to one of the kids with a green screen set up. "Raise your hand if you think you're a soprano. You're probably wrong." "And I'm singing nose flute." "I'm still getting out of the anesthesia." *And Barney is playing the annoying barking dog." *It's going to be virtually impossible, but give it a shot." "Any questions? Because that was absolutely perfect!" Jan was in the room but not doing too much during this, but she came in at the end to say "I think everybody sounded good for the first time. DON'T WORRY." She also complimented us for getting into it even when muted, citing "Power to zi piggies," so I guess that was us :P

Sunday will be an all nighter, doing all the songs, and watching someone else's show...or listening to it at least, something like that? She will get us a copy of the album.

Jackie called and left a voice mail while I was in the middle of all of that, saying her mom has lung cancer. She was crying. Hooooooooo boy. She said it's a large mass and her mother doesn't want to do chemo, the next appointment is on Monday, and why does she have to have all the shit hit her at once. Agreed. Ditto why certain people are karma Houdinis. Other than that, I told her about all the theater, and she told me she spent four hours trying to get someone a shot appointment and he turned them all down and after that she got fed up and quit. I would too. Some people may just end up being Darwin Awards here.

So yeah, a lot of stuff went on today.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com