Chaos Attraction

No Collage In The Collage Meetup?

2020-12-20, 8:00 p.m.

Vacation Day 2:
Amount of time slept: 9 hours. Slept from 10 p.m.-7 a.m. Had weird dreams but nothing terribly unpleasant, just odd. Good job, me, sleeping like a "normal person."
Did I exercise: Walked around for 90 minutes, lifted water weights, good for me.
Assigned projects for the day:
Patchwork sweater: Did four more squares, blocked a lot more of them. I will hopefully finish having all the front sides blocked once they all dry up, and then work on blocking the sleeves. Now Meg wants to do one of these with her weaving squares.
UFO 1, Butterflies sweater: I'm still waiting around for the ones on my blocking board to dry. I did crochet eight tiny butterflies to scatter around the sweater, I may make more later, but I want to start laying out the butterflies on the sweater and see what else it needs size-wise and space-wise. I can say I worked on it though! I did find some weird mysterious stains (aiee) on the sweater, so I need to position the butterflies to hide those bits.
Writing: Hah hah, still haven't done that except for the journal. Maybe later.
Other projects:
I worked on the second dragon, mostly making limbs for it today. I also sort of pre-did collage (see below).

Other Activities:
In the morning, we had a collage party... or were supposed to, anyway?
The invitees were (besides me, hosting the Zoom):
(a) Meg, inviting people
(b) Doreen, her sister-in-law, who is currently living at Meg's son Ian's house and trying to figure out what to do next with her life, hence the vision board idea.
(c) Meg's daughter Sarah (yeah, ANOTHER SARAH IN THIS JOURNAL, hah hah), doing quite well after having had a stroke and is doing a lot of papercrafting.
(d) Jade, who I met years ago right before she was moving to England and basically set up her being friends with Meg. She and I haven't had that much contact over the years, but after like five minutes of conversation she said it was like we had just talked. Yup, sometimes that happens!

Anyway, we did a lot of check ins as to how people were doing, what projects they are doing, what they might want to do in a vision board, etc. I showed them the one I made and there was some commentary on the ah....romantic aspects of it. Well, yes, this is a post-pandemic board of hopes there. (I will note that while I am not like, desperate to get married or anything despite the giant rings on the thing, I'd like to do that sometime, someday, eventually. Or, y'know, at least have a relationship work out.) I did get some comments like "Hope you're fine with getting a black cat in the future," to which I was all "eh, I'm not that specific on color of cat, that was just the cutest cat pic I found with my limited amount of collage stuff around here."

And that is when the conversation got interesting, because Sarah said that when she makes vision boards, they actually happen. To which I was all, well, I can't say that's ever happened when I do them. I like collage as much as the next crafter, but I can't say I've had that effect really. Quote from Meg: "A vision board means you're going to say yes to the universe and I'm going to manifest myself into what my divine purpose is on the planet." And Sarah mentioned that her dad (who is a very pragmatic, scientific sort) manifested a specific kind of couch she wanted. To which I was all, wait, what, I thought your dad was a Muggle? And she was all, "Oh, he KNOWS. He just doesn't say anything." Oh, tell me more....maybe later, if I can get Meg to hang out again later. (She said Tuesday.)

Both Sarah and Doreen said that when they met their future husbands, both of the guys said they weren't looking for anything serious. (Note: while I'm writing this up and watching things on the side while I type, this video came on. Har har.)

Anyway, Jade had a custom(?) meditation to read aloud/do regarding vision boarding, and it was actually a really good one, which helped me to think of another topic to do a vision board on. And then I was all hyped to do it....but then Meg said she wanted to "process" for a while after the meditation, so we didn't actually even start on the vision boarding, but scheduled another one for next week.

In the afternoon Claire threw another online craft party. Only two of us this time and the other one left after an hour, so she and I hung out while she made cards and a beaded glasses holder, and I did the dragon. It was fun. I will also quote what she said about what I said about the collage party: "No collage in the collage meet up? SAD." True dat! I actually went through my collage pile and picked out things to go with the new focus, presumably to put them altogether later.


Didn't really watch anything other than YouTube before I needed to get this done, but I feel like doing this Sunday Stealing, what the heck. This brought to you by having conversations about card making with Claire and with Sarah, who started making 80 Christmas cards in July....

What’s your favorite thing about the holidays? Overall festive atmosphere, decorations, parties, celebration in the air. Usually.
Do you send out Christmas cards and if so how many do you send? I did this year, the most ever (around .... 13?). I am not much of A Card Person, but I am far more likely to send any if they are already in my house around card sending time. I sent out these, I ordered a kit off Etsy and after I ran out of the 2020 cards, ended up sending a few of the handmade ones after all.
Be honest: holiday newsletters. Love ‘em or hate ‘em? Depends on what you do with them. I haven't done any since I don't have a family to talk about and that's what they all seem to be about.
Be honest: photo cards. Love ‘em or hate ‘em? They're fine, don't feel strongly one way or the other. Again, depends on what you do with them.
How soon do you start shopping? If I'm doing well, November.
Real or fake tree? I have fake these days because I started collecting small blingy ones when they used to have them at Borders. I still like real, but I don't do them while living alone anyway. Also, the fakes stay up all year, don't die, and don't wilt when I put big ornaments on.
When do you put up your tree? I literally leave about 8 of them up all year, the others are in the closets, except the largest of them that is being loaned to Mauricio at the holidays.
When do you take down your tree? I don't!
Describe your typical tree (size, decorations, type) One or two feet high, some spectacular blingy color, very misc. type ornaments. I have a lot of green and blue and white and purple up these days, there's some others in red/white/pink/whatever in the closets because I don't have the room to have them all up in here.
What do you top your tree with? Stars, though a few have crowns. I do not believe in shoving trees up angel's asses.
Do you put Christmas lights outside your house? Usually no. Last year I had out Mom's projector thing I stole, but I have given up on leaving things out on the patio in case some asshole comes by to steal/vandalize again. I dunno if I'll put it out this year for kicks or not.
Is there a wreath hanging on your door? I usually have a cheap felt one up, but I haven't bothered to get it out of the closet this year.
Do you hang up stockings? Technically I have a few hung up all year.
Your favorite Christmas Movie(s) Hm, I'm not sure if I have one? Maybe National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation.
Be honest: A Christmas movie you hate Eh.... nothing really comes to mind at the moment.
Favorite Christmas Song(s): As previously said, "Grandma Got Run Over By A Reindeer."
Be honest: If I hear this/these Christmas songs again I will throw up As previously said, "The Christmas Shoes" or any version of "Little Drummer Boy" that has no drums in it.
Give or Receive? Receive. Giving stresses me the hell out and makes me feel SO inadequate and like a big ol' failure with some people.
Eggnog or Mulled Cider? Cider. Never had eggnog, it sounds gross.
Ham or Turkey? Whichever, no super preference.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com