Chaos Attraction

UFO Experience

2023-02-18, 9:00 p.m.

I'm tired of waking up at 5 a.m. sad and missing someone who is categorically not missing me or thinking about me one tiny little bit. Because they never do. Why must men be so shitty?

Had my final knitting class this morning, it went well enough. She mostly talked about increases and decreases, which I ended up not doing, but I did get to ask how you knit double knitting in the round (same as usual, not doing anything really different) and got that set up for practice. I also asked her about the scarf pattern I got and she suggested flipping the design and then working off that back and forth, which I think is a great idea and something I'll need to monkey with on my own. After that I watched a lecture by someone who embroiders jeans.

I went back to the dance improv class I tried several months ago and had fun--it's a class I'm naturally good at, apparently. Too bad it's Saturdays at noon and most of the time I'm doing something at that time. Then I hit the thrift stores on the way home and got some workout gear--not that I needed it, but it came in great colors.

I gave up on (Redhead) Sarah showing up circa 3--I left it at "let me know if you can come" and since I didn't hear anything, I didn't bother to text her and assumed some other damn thing had happened and went on my own.

I went to the "craft fair," which turned out to be a parking lot street fair and mostly clothes, with a few other booths. Nothing that on discount, but eh, it was mildly entertaining. Then I went to the https://www.visitdavis.org/blog/encounters-ufo-xperience-in-davisUFO Experience thing all by myself, which was certainly an experience that a lot of construction-y nerds must have had a good time with. There's a lot of lists of weird alien encounters, combined with various aliens from movies (OR ELSEWHERE...), listings of celebrity alien sightings, a UFO, some kind of pod, and various bodies of Greys, including one with brains out and one where it said you could touch its guts (I could not). In the back, they have a whole music/DJ setup. Some guys from Obsidian Works were there and had robots that you could pilot, which they let me did for awhile and crash them into each other. That was fun, and I signed up for whenever they notify people of their next Robot Rumble, presumably to be located here again. Somebody was there from Reality Check TV doing interviews (they didn't ask me, that's fine), not sure what I would have said?

Here's some visuals for you.

Sarah eventually (circa 4) texted to say that she got forced to work late and then couldn't come over here and then go to bed at 7 p.m. to get up at 3 a.m. the next day...oy. She really can't work and have a life as a baker. She said how do I do it, that I don't have kids, and I said yes, but also my workday is 8-5, M-F and it's not changing shift work every single day, which is not fun for her either. She said she has tomorrow afternoon off, so we rescheduled again...but I'm going to assume that won't happen either. I'll probably just do the suggested plans (another craft fair) on my own again too. I just texted her some photos of the whole thing and well, that's how she'll see it, I guess.

I am watching For All Mankind right now. The first few episodes weren't really grabbing me, but once the women took center stage (most of the guy astronauts are kind of gruff and annoying), it got compelling. Particularly as season one goes on, because it goes from joy (first woman in space! they found ice! there's a space base!) to total sad (launchpad blows up, leaving people at the space base there for over six months, one guy in the space station goes space crazy, his coworker gets herself injured so they have an excuse to leave, they leave one guy behind and then his son dies while he's up there, and he finds out FROM THE RUSSIANS....and then they continue to have horrible tech problems sending more people up there...

Okay, this DEFINITELY HELPS to distract me from my own issues, for sure. I feel better with distraction. I've now cast on for the neckline ruffle on the Halloween costume, which is tricksy.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com