Chaos Attraction

Redhead Reunion, Finally

2023-02-19, 9:02 p.m.

I had a lovely sleep for 9+ hours, only to wake up and find that Rae had been calling and texting begging me to take her to the craft fair. I was planning on going anyway, but I had wanted to go see my tap dance teacher's (supposed) rehearsals in the park she was doing on some Sunday mornings. It was supposed to be from 8-11 and I was over there circa 9:45 and...she was nowhere to be seen. The heck?

So I went home and immediately Rae called again and I gave in. I was there literally for almost the entire fair (except for lunch) because she wanted to dance and dance and dance and dance to all the bands--a jazz band that she knew someone in in the morning and a new band in the afternoon. We ended up meeting "the Box Queen," an older lady (named Karen, but now her name's been ruined) who has some kind of box creation business that was very feisty. She was all, "oh, I'm supposed to go into isolation tomorrow, there's a tumor around my spine that hurts every time I walk, BUT I'M GONNA DANCE ANYWAY," which tells you all you need to know right there, doesn't it?

Anyway, I was there until she had to go to some running activity at 4 (I was all "you're going to RUN after all of this?" and she was all, "I'll probably walk the track,"), dropped her off there, then went home for a wee bit to chug water because I was quite thirsty. I note she stayed in a good mood the entire time, thank goodness.

I was waiting around to see if I'd end up seeing (Redhead) Sarah or not--I assumed no--and eventually was told she had to "make plant medicine" for a "rainbow baby" and wasn't going to the craft fair and I was all "um, WTF is this" and "you need to do this RIGHT NOW?" in my head, but she said I could come over--her old roommate Sarajean was also over seeing the cats. So after I finished up with Rae and got verification from Sarah she was still there and hadn't wandered off or gotten too tired or what the heck ever, I went over there. Turns out it was something along the lines of, a friend's partner had a baby, some "indigenous elder" told her friend that you could make some kind of clear oil out of chickweed, which Sarah has a lot of in her backyard, so she was trying to crunch/whatever the leaves and trying to figure this out. We attempted to Google for this, but it seemed to sort out into clear goo after sitting in the fridge for awhile...? I said she should just ask the friend to ask the indigenous elder for better instructions.

We had a great time hanging out--even till circa 10:30, petting cats and the dog and things like that. I didn't get to talking to her about the stuff (you-know-who) that I wanted to talk to her about, but oh well. I didn't want to drag Sarajean into all of that crap this late in the failed game.

We did talk about how she loves me even if my work doesn't and they keep on bullying me--which really, it kinda is given how they continue to harp on so many things. Sarah straight up was all, "you're not neurotypical, neurotypical people don't do well at front counters and phones" and calling me autistic (I note she says she is but "masks" too well to get diagnosed, I have zero idea on this topic and know not what to say on any of that). I said I really, really don't think I'm autistic just because I'm weird, I don't have the issues she brought up, but I did get evaluated and not diagnosed with anything....but that said, if I'm "too weird" to do that sort of job, god, I wish they'd let me out of doing that aspect of it. She also said that she didn't get in that many plays other than high school and Winters either, so it was good that I auditioned at other places even if they don't want me either. It really helped to be loved by someone, you know?

God, I hope I can hang out with her again...any time. We'll have to see on some other Saturday if she's up to it, I suppose, I said I'd go to her house if that was easier, I'm fine with that. We'll see. But I'm flabbergasted it finally happened, and I'm really happy about that. (And also to get to hang out with Sarajean, who I hadn't seen since Sarah's birthday in 2021.)


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com