Chaos Attraction

The Trail to Oregon!

2023-02-24, 9:24 p.m.

I went to bed at 10 like a Good Little Girl, Having A Consistent Bedtime 10 hours before you have to get up like Woebot says. WHAT IS THE POINT OF DOING THIS WHEN I WAKE UP AT 4 A.M.?!?! Seriously, a slight bit of rain woke me up and after an hour plus of waiting around to fall back to sleep, it didn't happen, I gave up, and I watched Abbott Elementary, Shrinking, wrote reviews of those on the Internet, and photographed myself in my new skirt and posted it.

At work, Quarterly Project was surprise! officially signed off by the Gods of the Giant Org, as the Head God apparently didn't take the morning off. So I did a lot of hard work from 8-ish to 2:30-ish, mostly discovering that the name program yes, STILL HAS PROBLEMS. I had to have a meeting with/politely argue with OldBoss because even though the program was obviously not taking my fixes at all in the program, she was all "but it downloads into the order right!" and I said, "Could you PLEASE report it anyway so I don't go crazy looking at this?" I still don't know if she will or not. I do note that she thought she'd cleared out everything and then I found multiple places where the "easy peasy" setting didn't show things and.... arghhhhh. By 2:30 I asked if we could just NOT place the order today because I am dead tired, NewBoss should be back for this, and in case any other damn thing goes wrong. She agreed. So I was a brain dead potato the rest of the afternoon.

I did start some work on the double knitting scarf. I used the new PDFs I came up with where the original is laid next to the reversed and I colored on them with highlighters. I figured out that I have to flip what I'm working on differently than I thought, but I think I figured out how to make it look right after a few rows? Huzzah to that.

Tony n' Tina auditions were announced for the last week of March, Wednesday/Thursday. Woo hoo! I also saw an audition for Romeo and Juliet: The Rock Opera, which normally I would have auditioned for (seriously, karaoke audition!), but it conflicts with that and a whole lot of other shows I'd like to see, so oh well. Then Linda emailed everyone in the previous show to say if you want your old part back, let her know (if you want another part, you have to audition for it). WOO HOO ALREADY IN!!!!! Rehearsal schedule is kind of weird though, last year we did every weekday and now it's two weekdays (M/W, sigh) and then a weekend for most of them. And two weeks of tech for some reason?

(And now Scott can't do it at all.)

I also got a coupon for Scott's store--that automated one they send when you haven't been in months. Expires next weekend, i.e. I Am Way Too Busy that weekend. Do I want to risk seeing him? No, but I know that if I go in the first 20-40 minutes of them being open on a Saturday, he isn't in and I can get out before he drags ass in. And I'm a bit concerned that if I stop going, I stop getting the coupons, and since I won't be getting gift certificates from there any more in the future, I want to still get the occasional coupon. (Yemi asked at lunch, "do you know if they stop giving them?" and I said "no idea, but it seems rude to ask?") I don't really need more yarn from there because I am seriously working on projects with the last three batches of yarn I got there already, but I could like, get some notions or something, tokenly. I also note that I'll need to pass by that town on my way to see Mom tomorrow, so.

Tonight I went to see "The Trail to Oregon," which is exactly what you think it is, i.e. a spoof (musical) of the Oregon Trail computer game. I'd seen it online but was surprised the other day to see it being listed as an actual IRL show. I note that 7/8 of the cast were women, about half of whom were playing men (score for not being limited in your parts), though I was pretty amused by the lone guy in the show, playing the bad guy, and a baby buffalo, and a giant lobster.

While waiting in the line to get marked off, they ask you to vote for who dies (father, mother, son, daughter). Someone ahead of me smartly asked who they recommended, and they said, "the son is the funniest" (see for yourself: son dies https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vw19fVyi_is), so we all voted for that. And indeed it was, as this was the most fitting character to dramatically die of dysentery ("I shouldn't have put all that stuff in my mouth....especially the shit.").

It's a dirty and hilarious show, which they did without too many props/sets (mostly using an interesting wagon) and background music. Unfortunately they didn't have mics (not a surprise) and I did kinda think maybe they all needed to project more, a la DMTC ("sing like you don't have mics on!"). Like I was in the middle front or so and even I thought they were a little faint. But still fun and audacious. I did like how they blocked off one row of seats with tape and then in the second act, the daughter is running away from the bad guy through the audience by going through that row and ripping off the tape. I'd say a good time was had by all.

On a random note, I have occasionally seen a cute guy around town (usually with girls...of course) and apparently he did tech on this show, so I've now seen his name in the program and such. Goes by any pronouns, a second year in college....yes, waaaaaay too young, of course. Figures.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com