Chaos Attraction

International Dances And A Lot Of Products

2023-04-15, 2:57 p.m.

I went to bed around 10: 40. I woke up from weird dreams at 1 a.m., was Too Hot and Too Cold all at once, all night long. Take off the blankets, get up to pee, get a drink--TOO COLD. Put all the blankets back on, TOO HOT. Sheeeeesh. I could NOT sleep until 5:30, had super patchy un-restful sleep with weird dreams (with Scott in them, sigh) for two hours, then had to wake up for the workshop AND get totally dressed to leave right after. UGHHHHHHHHHHHH I FEEL LIKE SHIIIIIIIIIIIIIT AND PEOPLE ARE SO PERKY. I kept the camera off and chugged caffeinated soda.

Workshop was "Collage Techniques in Storytelling with Paul Strickland." I'll have to type it up later. It was interesting, but I forgot this guy is a makes-it-up story guy and I'm not, so I'm not sure if retelling a story with a flashback or in nonchronological order would work for me? Who knows.

After that, I went to rehearsal. We learned/relearned the Mexican hat dance, the hora, the tarantella, and the Macarena. Mark makes an excellent dance captain (he and Brian were pretty much the dance captains), which is now kind of funny since now he is playing someone too old to dance. A few of us tried to talk him into dancing anyway and going, "It's a miracle!"

Bridget asked me what Loretta does, and I said the big thing for me was finding out there was assigned seating, thanks to Anita. Then I was told (a) Anita moved to Hawaii (?!) and (b) no assigned seating, so never mind, I guess. Loretta has been assigned some more lines than I had in this one, at least, so she gets something to do. Robert and Brian have decided that Michael and Joey are friends due to Michael's band and Joey will be taking the Barry parts of attempting to watch what Michael does, i.e. get wasted

We were supposed to do the bridesmaid/"Snake Girls" dance routine, but that got completely not done. Instead we went over the beginning and wedding scene again, then read through the script for some of the post-wedding stuff. Linda brought sandwich fixings, which is a great idea during a lunch rehearsal. We finished off the day by attempting to figure out how to take pictures on Tuesday (!!!) without bridesmaid dresses AT ALL, which included having everyone go over to the storage unit and loot through the costume section. I don't think any women but Heidi (finding her wedding dress, which is good except for needing some shoulder adjustments) had any luck with that, I certainly couldn't fit my boobs into anything tacky.

Regarding "can't you just fit into the old bridesmaid dresses," Denise and I tried them on and NOPE. They are all mediums and our chests are not. Nobody even brought up making Destiny do it, thank goodness. Meanwhile Linda keeps changing her mind all the time (like a girl changes clothes...I gotta say it) and was showing me texts from Sally the seamstress saying things like "We could add new tops to the old dresses, it's a fashion now." I dunno about this. Destiny vetoed the one I found online since the sizing chart was sketchy (at least on the phone). Linda finally found hot pink dresses from shein.com. I have heard Bad Things About Shein on the Internet and attempted to bring this up, but I don't think that'll take. We agreed more or less on one, though Denise didn't like it having sleeves. Well, maybe Sally can take them off. Who knows. Anyway, we'll just have to dig up something at home to fake it, more or less. I think I'll just use the dress I used to be an actual bridesmaid, as it's the closest thing I've got to that sort of thing.

After rehearsal, I hung around town for an hour reading and knitting, then went back to town and then spent several long-ass hours shopping for beauty products to be Donna. Three pairs of short glue-on nails (pink with gold glitter), nail glue, acetone. Fake lashes, lash glue, some pokey lash applicator tool. A teasing brush to make my hair higher, hairspray, volumizer, and that root stuff to cover up your roots because my hair looks fucking terrible right now rootwise. Three hot pink lipsticks and a pink lipliner and a compact of pink eye shadows. Also, random products like eyeglasses cleaner/cloth and a new chain, shoe inserts because heels are not my jam, glass cleaner/cloths for the car, and food items for potlucks and this week's groceries. The stuff I got at the Dollar.25 Store came to $29, the drugstore was $81 (arggggh) and then groceries were $50ish. Yuck.

I will note that that area of town was quiet and not insane, my neighborhood is pretty chill other than a lack of parking, but apparently downtown is a zoo. Jim is doing Rance's karaoke gig this week while he's at a wedding, and I gather you can't park anywhere and it's a zoo and it's a huge basketball came (NorCal versus SoCal, apparently), and Ashley doesn't know whether or not to try to go, or just go to IHOP, or hide at her house, or anything. I said if we can't park and she can't walk downtown, maybe not go, and IHOP is probably swamped tonight too. We'll see how she feels later.

I started testing products. The root touch-up stuff turned out to be crap. I figured my hair wasn't red enough (it's red-blonde-ish) to use red, so I got medium to dark blonde and it just seems to have...given it a green tint. Unimpressive there, sigh. The "volume styler" hair teasing comb seems to work to add some pouf, albeit maybe I should have poufed before I sprayed (wasn't sure what order to test that in). I tried three hot pink lipsticks and found one I could take, so yay there for $1.25 taste testing. Lip liner is pink (albeit like $13 and seriously, is it worth that? No, but it was the only pink one they had). The orthotics for wearing heels work great. Tomorrow I will probably have to drag myself to DSW to look for shoes in person after the theater thing since I'll be in Sac already.

I have definitely gotten fatter this year: my old bridesmaid dress and the dress I wore to my last interview last fall don't fit in the boobs any more. Oh well, I knew darned well I sat around all winter shivering, wearing four layers of clothes and eating (plus birth control) so there you go. I did find a dress I got last year at a theater sale--yellow with hot pink flowers on it--that should work nicely as a fake bridesmaid dress, though. Better, actually.

Ashley and I did end up doing karaoke for an hour--got one song in, bar was crowded (and charged me $5, but not Ashley). From what we heard from her dad, parking downtown wasn't doable like usual, so I walked over and Ashley had her mom drop her off, then we agreed after we'd done our songs and were all "There's 23 people in the rotation, we're not singing again," I walked home, got my car and got her. Apparently she had a slight not-feeling-well moment and needed to sit down, so she sat on the dog bench outside, and some employee who didn't know who she was told her she couldn't sit down. Sheesh. I wanted to make a crack about how she should have said, "Do you know who I AM?!" except she's not the sort.

Downtown was packed with people, but everyone seemed pretty friendly/sober enough not to be a problem, so that's nice. I saw some notice about "clean up Central Park tomorrow between 8-10 a.m.!" and I was all LOLnope, nobody getting up that early tomorrow (though I did walk by the park and the trash cans are overloaded).


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com