Chaos Attraction

Picture Day

2023-04-18, 3:05 p.m.

Work: nothing much to say about it other than (a) presumably I got in trouble again for doing my job instead of letting others do it for me (SIGH...don't ask), (b) after my midafternoon meeting, I spent a lot of time primping for TnT2 photos in between having to answer Slack messages.

Did the following:
(a) Combed out my hair and hair sprayed it, per that lady from the other day's instructions. (b) Curled it. (c) Hairsprayed it again. (d) Teased the roots a bit (not too bad) (e) Glued on the fake eyelashes--this was actually pretty trouble-free, go figure (f) Put on a shit ton of makeup, all the jewelry, dress, pantyhose, fancy shoes, etc. (g) Attempted to take a lot of selfies of myself looking like an 80's drag queen. (h) Used that Toon Art app again to make myself look a whole lot better and prettier.

Photos went well, had a good time doing that. They had a new photographer and took our pictures on the stage. Did some group shots with the bride/bridesmaids, some with Dominic and I hugging like it's the prom, one of me posing in the middle like a showoff...all in good fun. I was sad to realize I was the only bridesmaid NOT in total bling! Denise had a sequinned purple dress (love it, want it) and spiderweb stockings and huge necklace bling, Destiny had a glamorous gold wrap dress, which she wore with combat boots and leather jacket--I note that those are in her usual daily wardrobe, I'm not sure if that exactly matches with the Marina personality(?) but she looked darned cute with her hair up and ringlets and such. We took pictures together. Most other people had stuff from last time, Bridget had some gold beaded bling on her Loretta outfit, Ed/Vinnie had a plaid coat, Brian/Joey had a silver jacket on, Robert is definitely wearing the groom's T-shirt.

After that, we did as far as we've rehearsed again, and I admit this time it felt like a real wedding--musta been the outfits. Sadly, since I didn't have my phone on me, I couldn't write down all the good bits that were flying by me, and the snark we were doing and the like. DARN IT. Marina and I were talking about Hallmark movies and weddings and what kinds we'd have (I'd want expensive, she wants the money to go to the honeymoon) and how she admires me and fun stuff like that. Aunt Rose and I kept making dirty cracks throughout the wedding, as one does. I did have a conversation with William about working with That 70's Scott and he said he had the same experience--guy never knows his lines, is always doing his own thing and you never know what he's going to do, always going on about all the drugs he did in the 70's--but if you don't know what he's doing with the lines, he's a good performer. I admitted I was relieved he didn't return.

I do note that during my wedding speech, Dominic made a comment about a silent wife and I turned around and glared at him--excellent, I told Rodney to do it again during the brief time we were dancing later. The guy's great with the dancing and the poses, I must say. We don't end up having long conversations in this show much so far, but it's going well. As for dancing, I'm told Heidi came up with something for Snake Girls, but we didn't get to that tonight.

What did I get to write down: Gail (Sal) doing her backstory and saying she has a sugar daddy. Joey saying he's one of the few people who likes Michael at this wedding. It's been decided that Father Mark invited him. And Champagne March continues to be hilarious, I cackled through it--might as well make the cackle useful.

At the end of the night, I rehearsed "Hot n' Cold" again, this time somehow singing it in a New York accent since I'd been in that all night. That works.

On the car ride on the way home, people asked "Which one's Handsome Scott?" (yeah, guess who) and I said he's moved on from the likes of us these days. Denise sent a picture of her and me to someone that it turned out I knew from the Craft Center and he said yeah, I saw her at storytelling once, so I talked to her about that, and she knows Evan from Stories on Stage, and I'm reasonably presuming we know more people in common. (I tried showing her Meg's pics, she doesn't know Meg. But really, I bet they'd probably know somebody in common in SC.)

Oh, and Nancy is throwing a party Friday night! Gonna drive Denise and Gail to it, as the rest of the carpool can't make it.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com