Chaos Attraction

Then I Guess I Catch Her

2023-04-23, 3:17 p.m.

It's been a do-nothing day, my last day of being 44. I was planning on going to a new festival in town I had mild interest in, but my interest has petered out today. I went to bed like a good little girl at 11:10 p.m. last night instead of spending half the night at the bar, proceeded to not lose consciousness all night for no good reason ANYWAY, tried to sleep over and over and over again, gave up and got up around 8:45, went back to bed at 11 a.m, slept till 1. Then was all "I don't want to waste an entire weekend day of lovely weather just fucking sleeping," but I'm still low energy, so I've been on the patio crocheting and fucking up my project. I've had to restart Dawn's map of the world TWICE because stitches keep disappearing AND I DON'T KNOW WHY....

Also I got off the phone with Mom and I'm a little cranky. She asks what I want. She won't order things online, she won't order off Amazon, "I don't want to get all those cookies," she only wants to buy shit she can walk in and buy immediately at Target (well, gee, I could have done that). I requested a deck of cards I've seen in the Therapy store twice (they had 3 decks the last two times I was in there!) and today she can't find them because they're gone, and she gave me shit for just not having bought them myself when they were there. Gee, thanks, Mom. She got them ordered, but still gave me shit about "buy it now" anyway.

In other news, tomorrow I will have Mom, Roger, and Dawn along for birthday lunch (hope that goes well), tried to make plans with Debbie/Rae but we weren't available at the same times, darn it. Maybe in a few weeks.

Anyway, talking to Mom always drains me dry and makes me feel bad. I apologized repeatedly for the cards not being there and me asking for the wrong thing AGAIN. She got mad at me for apologizing. SO THAT WAS FUN.

After that, I dragged myself to two grocery stores. SaveMart, a store I rarely go to unless I'm following Dawn around, has the best bakery in town as far as I've seen (I'm usually either going to Safeway or Grocery Outlet, the latter has no bakery and the former's bakery only has some options), but is definitely Quite More Expensive and nearly everything you get there is like $2-4 more than elsewhere. SaveMart, my ass. I needed to get quickie meals for the week and I hate to go to two stores, but I ended up having to in this case. I got myself an adorable little Oreo cake and some mini-cupcakes and tiny wine, and some stuff for shoes and a few other random items I can't reliably get at Grocery Outlet. Then it took like 20 minutes to get checked out because the lady said there was no price on the wine, then the guy couldn't find the wine, and the line got longer and longer, and then I had to find the wine, and then she was all "oh, wait, it did charge." Oy. Then I went to Grocery Outlet for everything else. That was the excitement of the day.

In TnT2 news, Rodney said "Perfect" to my email, Ed/Vinnie wrote an in-character blog for his neighborhood, and Linda said there's a Youth Day parade in town if we want to ride around in it on a cart and stuff on Saturday morning. Yes, please.


Quotes I forgot to put from Saturday TnT2 rehearsal:

Greg: "I wanna focus on my art."

Me: "Cornhole is sacred." Denise: "Children of the cornhole."

Linda: "He's not going to tell you you can't pay for alcohol." (Phone rings) "Unknown caller. Well, stop that." (after saying she ordered pizza) "THAT MEANS NOBODY LEAVES!" "Starting at the very bottom." (dudes snicker) To Mark: "You can be a ghost." "If I have to scream, you have to scream."

(The script says to say "dick" instead of "cheese" while taking photos) "I'd like to come up with a different word." (Discussion of "penis" vs. "dick" and who has one happens.) "You said penis? Fine." Mark: "We've gone from kindergarten to junior high." Destiny: "We're adults, we say penis."

Linda on asking about the catering: "I said we need pasta, it's an Italian wedding. He said gotcha." We're not sure WHAT that means, so Heidi changed the line "There's no prosciutto in the ziti" to "There's no prosciutto in the mac n' cheese." Vinnie's explanation for this: "Supply chain."

Tina on olives: "These make me horny, anybody want one?" Aunt Rose: "I'm already horny." Marina: "I don't need olives for that."

Rodney: "That was not ad libbing, that was sincere."

Jean: "Cranky is my character."

Rodney: "That scallywag, I bet it was Sal." Rodney: "Bada bing--" Linda: "NO AD LIBBING." "I'm gonna dance like a Mormon white guy. No offense to Mormon white guys." "I need more Tom. He needs a breakdancing song or something." (on Father Mark)

(as Dominic) "Donna wears me out on the floor. She's got moves. Those hips need to be licensed." "To the Albert Einstein High School for the mentally awesome!" On Sal: "She's my favorite." (I expressed objection.)

Nunzio: "Remember the good old days in the back of the Plymouth? Bada bing, bada boom!" "I'm gonna make the kitty growl." Dominic: "I'm gonna use that."

Unknown: "Father Mark's not gonna want to hear this."

Maddy: "Here's your plate, I hope you choke on it."

Denise, foreshadowing: "I gotta flirt with someone too, Rose is very flirty."

(On Tina's behavior getting worse, and specifically chewing Marina out.) Marina: "Bridesbitch." Dominic: "I'm getting to like her less and less."

Grandma Nunzio: "Grandma's definitely taking a shot." "She's having a pissy fit."

William on Joey: "Why is his mic sequinned?"

On international dances: Marina: "I love the tortilla!" Nunzio: "Hava tequila!" Dominic: "In a circle? What could go wrong?"

(note: per the script, Nunzio and Mrs. V do a ah, bullfighter dance. This may be hard this year if Jean is still in the boot by performance week) Me: "What happens if Mrs. V can't run?" Nunzio: "Then I guess I catch her."

Mrs. V: "Did you find your dead boyfriend?" Suggested honeymoon destinations from Mrs. V: Barstow, Compton. "I have to scream like a condor? I didn't have that in my notes. I guess I can scream like a condor."

Mark on his previous experience with the dollar dance: "We have to have a safe word here. It's more for Tony because Tina can take care of herself. I only made 3 bucks, it was totally not worth it." Vinnie offers to enforce.

Vinnie: "They long to be, stalking you."

Vinnie: "Uncle Lui's gonna do a little tinkling on the piano." Lui: "Where's the bathroom? I'm wearing a diaper." Also, "waits for the shake."

Me: "Seriously, I just want them to have lighters out" during "Santa Lucia."

Linda: "You're not going to hit him on the head." Nunzio: "That's the best part! It takes all the joy out of it!"

Mark: "Scuze me while I whip this out."

Other moments: Mark cane dancing. William wearing a "Happy Hanukkah" shirt and waiting for Linda and Denise to notice it. Emily banging the hell out of the keyboard when Lui has to fall down into it.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com