Chaos Attraction

Bench Guy

2023-04-28, 3:34 p.m.

Work sucked yet again. Lemme recap:

Wednesday: "we have to enter nearly 800 records, 160+ of them from scratch, and all of them have to have a comment." I note that the procedures do not say to put in comments, they all argue with me that yes, they are supposed to do that. Comments are written into the procedures upon my complaint. I work on this shit from 10 a.m. on and it's not till 3 p.m. when I'm told "oh, the comments have to go on two lines, not one," forcing me to have to redo like 80% of my work.

Thursday: still slogging through this giant list from hell all fucking day.

Friday morning: OH, OOPS, NEVER MIND, NOBODY'S SUPPOSED TO HAVE COMMENTS, NOW YOU HAVE TO DELETE LIKE 700 OF THEM. (I think there were probably at least 100-ish left we hadn't done yet.)

I would like to note that I got lectured for and written up about "If you think something's wrong, speak up and say so!" AND LOOK HOW THAT WENT. I also pointed out at the time that if nobody knows what it's "supposed" to look like (which apparently even management doesn't know), how the hell do you even know what's "wrong?"

I wanted to scream, but I was in the office and could not do anything except bitch on private Slack channel.

Added bonus: NewBoss has written me up and complained that I don't read and follow the procedures for things I have done like 900 times and can do in my sleep, which she admits. She made me do the order today, so I literally READ ALOUD, VERY SLOWLY and as boringly as I could, EACH AND EVERY SINGLE PROCEDURE. Including where all the typos were (I note that I wrote up where the typos were before upon proofreading them, but I guess that's gotten ignored?). I would like to hope I do not get written up for this, but....I'm sure we can find a way to.

In the afternoon, she assigned me more front counter shifts for the next two weeks (yay...not), and then asked if I'd ever taken a customer service class. I sent her the list of EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THEM THAT I HAVE TAKEN SINCE 2013 in response. THIRTY-ONE CLASSES THAT WOULD COUNT ON THIS TOPIC. I have literally taken all of them offered here AND YET I STILL SUCK.

Oh, and the records I was screwing up? I just got sent a LONG LONG LIST OF MORE OF THEM!!!.... due in a few days!...FUCKING SHOOT ME DEAD NOW I WANT TO DIE SO MUCH. I have also been told that this person (who insists on only sending them to me, "because nobody else responds to me) is going to be told not to do that any more, since I've fucked up so much at it. Joy.

The only good thing about today was that NewBoss, left to herself as the only supervisor in the office, figured we could all sneak out 10 minutes early since hardly anyone was here. Huzzah.


The murder: well, it turns out it was a guy I knew of, even though I was not acquainted with him personally. He's known for (a) creating an artistic bench, (b) hanging around on the street corner of said bench with a clipboard. Frankly, dude with clipboard was enough for me to personally move away every time I saw him because that's usually hitting people up for attention/money and I've also had some guys get incredibly divey with me on this street corner, but apparently he just was asking people what their definition of compassion was* and was called "Compassion Guy." I called him "Bench Guy" and when I saw his picture online today, I was all, "THEY STABBED BENCH GUY?!?!" Geez. Of all the people to violently murder who didn't deserve it, apparently. This is really sounding like something that would happen in New York, not here.

yeah, I wouldn't have one, so that wouldn't have gone well
I told the carpool this and Denise knew him and was crying in her car. I feel so bad. (Plus guilty that I avoided him now.)

I walked by the park this morning and everything was back to normal. The murder bench was there, looking like a normal bench. That just seems wrong. On the way home, I saw that flowers and some books had been left on the bench. There's going to be a vigil at the bench Sunday night. I doubt I'd go since I actively avoided meeting him, but good for people, I guess.


Saw Newsies tonight. HUGE cast. Gave me much Urinetown vibes--I note Paul is playing Jack Kelly, so especially that (told him he seems to have a type). A few other Urinetown folks were in it, there's protest signs, etc. The newsies seemed to be having a GREAT time and it was kind of a sport trying to figure out which girl was which under the caps. Also seems like a show where everyone has a few lines, which would be really nice. Kat did a great job as Katherine, doing "Watch What Happens."

I don't know if I'm THAT into the show itself--I never remember the songs after the fact, except now for Watch What Happens--but everyone seemed to like it quite a lot. Very enthusiastic cast there.

Did see Andy (sitting behind me), Jean (ushering), Maya (dad in show) in the audience. Did kind of crack up at hearing Andy talking about this being a female ensemble that worked well, as opposed to Beauty and the Beast where it looked weird that we had no men. (I turned around and said, "Yeah, we said Gaston killed them.") Attempted to say hi to most of the people I knew if I could catch them after the show, ha ha. Got invited to IHOP but then remembered "oh yeah, I've been up since 5 a.m," so I did not.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com