Chaos Attraction

Another Day, Another Murder

2023-04-30, 3:37 p.m.

It it 8: 47 a.m. as I write. This is how my morning has gone:
(a) Landline rung, followed by my cell phone (which has "do not disturb" on till 10 a.m.), saying that another stabbing/murder happened in another park last night circa 9:ish. Unidentified male murdered, unidentified suspect spotted fleeing the crime on a bike. Whee.

Well, I guess that takes care of everyone's complaints from last night about not being notified there's a murder, anyway.

(b) So many people have said they can't go to Sunday rehearsal that I am now one of the very few who has to go. Denise was told she could skip it, I'm just supposed to go over my singing and get the dress back. So.... that won't be long, presumably.

Update, 10 a.m.: I decided to take a detour down Murder Lane to see if I saw any cop cars (nope), but Linda called after I made the detour to say that Heidi's sick and not coming (which of course leads to the inevitable "is it covid?" thoughts in my head), and to not bother to come until Emily arrives at 11.

Update, 2:45 p.m. Turns out the remaining people still at rehearsal (Ed, Bridget, Nancy, Steve, Linda) were there since 10 planning out all the sound cues. Well, at least they got that worked out.

I did rehearse with Emily the two song numbers. I don't really have much clue on how to deal with a transposed song, I've just been trying to copy along with the piano. Obviously I don't know if I'm going "too high" or whatever, but Linda said it was going too high and why can't I do it the old way. I kept saying "I need to go over this with my singing teacher, I can only do that at 4:30 today," Then Debi (the pianist in reserve, Emily's mom, also a singing coach apparently) wanted to go through it and I said fine, she came up with the idea of doing it in D key. I don't know what this means either and was just imitating along. Not at all sure what's going to happen in the lesson.

Oh yeah, and I'm still having my songs cut. I don't care on cutting the first one after "I'll take the chance" since at that point it's mostly instrumental, but she kept saying "five minutes is too long" and ugh....She asked if it was okay and I said well, I don't get to make the decision on this one, so. I could not say it was "okay." I don't care on cutting the last repeating of the chorus again either time

In other news, Linda wanted to go over the speech and deliver it more...perky...in places. Oookay then. I'm at least able to emphasize the dirty bits. She did perk up and say "I saw Scott and Cameron last night!" and I was all "...." and didn't really want to comment on THAT. Can people stop bringing him up, please?

I have now also seen the new dresses. They have black lace and corsetry panels of sorts, and now chokers with the not-qute-that-shade-of-hot-pink on them. I'm thinking, "I went out and bought that $30 necklace for nothing?!" but maybe I'll wear them both and just be Much. We'll see upon wearing it, I haven't tried it on yet.

After rehearsal I went out and got TnT tacky colored wedding wrapping paper and wrapped some gifts for the gift table with all my shoe boxes. Then Linda texted me that someone a block away from me got "threatened," whatever that means. She offered details, I declined. They have identified the second murder victim. I don't know that one, but I am guaranteed to have to deal with it at work now. Joy.

5 p.m. Well, that didn't go well at all, Morgan's rehearsal went straight on till 5 and then she has auditions for Sweeney Todd. Guess we won't be going through any of it...oh well. Nothing that can be done about that, absolutely can't reschedule the rest of the week. WAH, but there it is. I guess I sing as a tenor? Or whatever?

Poodoo. I also tried going outside and it's windy and unpleasant, so never mind that either. Oh yeah, plus the serial killer.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com