Chaos Attraction

Serial Killer

2023-05-02, 3:41 p.m.

I've been up since 5:30 a.m. when the cops called again. Another stabbing last night around 1 a.m., if a phone rang in the house during that time I did not hear it. (Which I guess rules out previous "guy caught with a knife.") They still didn't catch him. This time it was a woman. The good news is, he didn't actually succeed in killing her this time. He "stabbed her through a tent," whut? (Upon finding a news article: he was stabbing a homeless woman in an encampment. Critical condition.) So, anyone who told me to shut up, it's not a serial killer yet until there's three? Hello, we have a serial killer.

Also, there's now a TV strike. Happy spring!!!!

Callbacks at DMTC: Morgan, Hugo, Isaiah, Scott (of course), Kat, Taylor, Clocky, Sofia, Sierra, Rachele, Dannette, Sherilyn, various people I don't know. Not Jean (sorry, Jean). I did some brief mopey texting with her after that on people not seeing us in roles.

Work was horrible, as ever. They announced around 10 a.m. that they weren't going to change any daytime activities, but presumably the Gods of Giant Org were going to have a meeting to discuss moving online at night. They said they'd do this around 2 p.m. but it was really 4....and they said "you have to change over by 6 p.m. tonight" DA FUCK. I told this to Gail (former GiantOrg employee that would have been affected by this shiz) and she was all "how the heck are people going to do that?!" Yeah, no kidding.

At 11 a.m. -- I note this is my therapy call in time--they started a press conference online. This is probably the first time someone canceled for "serial killer." I said, "We have a serial killer in town," she said "WHAT?! I haven't heard of this," I said "I know it's too late to cancel, but they're doing a press conference--" "It's okay." They didn't end up saying a whole lot. other than they don't have much information and they're not going to enforce a curfew because that would require more cops.

I spent my day feeling like roadkill, dredging through giant lists of tedious international crap, waiting around for the official death notice for murder victim #2, which we were told was coming by 10 a.m. and did not until 4:50, and I didn't end up doing it because I was getting written up again. Meanwhile everyone else already approved his paperwork, except we couldn't do anything without the death notice. I answered several goddamned messy questions over email in which people didn't know what they were answering for. I just wanted to be, JESUS CHRIST I CANNOT CARE ABOUT THIS STUPID FUCKING SHIT TODAY, PEOPLE ARE BEING MURDERED. Same as during the insurrection, pandemic, etc. WHY DO I HAVE TO FUCKING PRETEND THAT I CARE ABOUT THIS STUPID PETTY SHIT.

One weird cryptic email was from Lioness and I finally just said something like, can you please explain what you are talking about (today is not the day to be vague with your needs!) and THEN I GOT WRITTEN UP FOR THAT ONE AGAIN AT THE END OF THE DAY. Also, "we've told you FOUR TIMES NOT TO CLOSE YOUR BLINDS IN THE OFFICE, WE WANT TO SEE YOU AT ALL TIMES," and I keep pointing out I AM NOT TOUCHING OR CLOSING THE BLINDS AT ANY POINT IN TIME, BECAUSE YOU KEEP HARASSING ME ABOUT IT. Literally I DO NOT NOTICE THEM BECAUSE THEY ARE BEHIND ME. Finally I stomped off and literally yanked the stupid things FULLY UP because GOD FORBID THEY CAN'T SPY ON ME CONSTANTLY. I note the blinds are at regular mast on the other office, but does anyone harass my coworkers about them? NO, IT'S JUST ME AGAIN, BECAUSE I'M THE FUCKING BUTTMONKEY OF SHIT AND ABUSE.

I will note that they got as nice about anything as they possibly get today after that shit, because they said I could take time off for a mental health day if I wanted. I pointed out that since Quarterly Project starts tomorrow that might be a problem, so I will consider how things are going after we do QP stuff tomorrow. Maybe I'll leave early. But yes, I felt fucking fried and they ended the day with another writeup and I just can't stop fucking up constantly.

I'm not kidding when I make "jokes" that if I get stabbed, at least I won't have to go to work again.


TnT2 rehearsal: they've got tables out, which is nice, and even chairs. Nancy has decorated the ATM with wedding veil, silver tinsel, and silver "Mr. and Mrs." letters. Adorbs. It only rained on the way over and otherwise was dry, so that was nice. I don't think it did much raining today, but I was indoors.

Linda gave a nice speech about how they've mostly lost access to their main venue and John the owner volunteered his place, just wanted to help out, didn't even care if they made money. He's very sweet but just...kinda disorganized. Well, fingers crossed there.

That black cat that hangs around GR was downstairs tonight, Robert befriended it.

We went from the start of the dinner line to the end of the show tonight, which went well. And we ended by like 8:20, which was also very nice. Ed/Vinnie and I were doing our pre-fight scene and Rodney/Dom wasn't paying attention, so he started slow dancing with me. Hahahah. He was yelling at me whoring myself out and I was all, "hey, you're the one who works at Animal Kingdom!"

I had my phone on the charger all day and it somehow stopped charging after awhile and was at 58%. I tried to use the cord to charge in Gail's car and in my backup charger bank and it still wouldn't charge. I was so pissed--what if something bad happens in the next few hours? (I note nothing but people texting me if I'm okay.) I hate how my phone is so finicky with USB-C plugs for some reason, it's only working on one cord these days. Meanwhile my old phone will charge with anything still. Bleah, Samsung sucks with those. Anyway, I had to take sketchy handwritten notes instead, let's see if I can read THOSE.

Quotes and notes:

William on table decor: "As cheap as this is, it looks nice." (Nancy got hot pink fabric for the bridal party table.)

Denise on stress snacking: "My father called eating like this eating with two assholes."

Before we had chairs, Linda: "Isn't it nice to stand like this?" Jean shook her head no many times.

Bridget wiggles her butt on the line 'orgasmical." Then she and Ed/Vinnie bump butts on "Lettuce alone." William: "I just got that joke." Vinnie also does "Bone appetit!"

Marina: "I'm so hungry I could eat a bride."

Tina, trying to do her line as Mrs. V is talking to the director: "Mommy, there's no proscuitto--are you busy?" William: "I went to the gas station the other day to get string cheese and it has prosciutto wrapped around it."

Denise wore pajama pants today. Rodney/Dominic: "Hey, Rose, you're wearing pajamas to a wedding? Show some class!"

William has two pinky rings that say "SINK" and "SWIM." "I work in the pool industry." In other news, he has shaved and gotten a haircut, he's down to a 'stashe now. I noted that he is either in the scroungiest work clothes he can find, or in a nice suit. He agreed and said he doesn't do much in between.

I note we had olives at the table tonight (they make Tina horny), so we played around with those. Rodney threw one at Destiny's mouth and it bounced off many places before he finally caught it. The second time, she got it on her mouth. I had him feed me an olive, sexily. Manny: "Put the O in olive." Heidi: "I don't like olives." Me: "Will you feed them to Manny?" Her: "Probably." Marina, dropping olives: "Check this shit out...Fuck!"

Mrs. V: "We're grownups here!" (No, we are not.) Also, "I'm really not so serious."

Jean: "I have no brain cells by the end of this." William: "Us too, girl."

Linda: "You are going to be served cheap food."

Denise: "It's dinner theater, they know what they signed up for."

Marina (who I note did an excellent job of sneaking a shot tonight when she's not supposed to): "I'm always making good choices!"

Marina: "Oh, Father! I didn't know you were so spicy!" Linda: "Poor Father, he's been drunk the whole night."

On toilet breaks as Rodney heads for one: William: "I go before rehearsal, I'm a good actor." Manny: "I got before too, I just have a small bladder."

During Mrs. V's announcement of their honeymoon in Barstow, Marina and I presumed that Tony must be into looking for aliens. (I note that IRL, great-grandboss went off to some alien tourist town in...Utah somewhere?)

Manny, singing: "Squirrels long to be, close to you."

On the way home we saw cop cars in Winters (apparently pulling someone over) and in town. (a girl on the street with her bike, possibly injured) Saw one guy walking with a baby(!) in the dark and two girls walking a dog. Per Denise looking at NextDoor, a lot of places were closing early and the party she was going to go to after rehearsal got canceled.

Denise is going to do Dr. Andy's radio show at 5:05 before leaving. I'll have to remember to try to listen to it.

After I got home, I checked the Internet. Victim #3 is alive, alert, speaking.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com