Chaos Attraction

The Most Likely To...

2023-05-07, 3:55 p.m.

Another Sunday in which I am taking the day off to sleep in, watch the coronation (still, they got like 6 hours of footage on Hulu) and not do much.. Eventually I realized that I had to (a) get groceries, (b) go buy stuff for Mom's birthday/Mother's Day, so I got groceries, two cards, a mini orchid, a pair of slippers, three pairs of earrings, a book, some massager thing--almost all of which I got for relatively cheap since it'll all just sit in a bag anyway :( Ran to Grocery Outlet, dollar store, TJ Maxx, Target. Shopping is less fun when you are doing it for other people, especially ones who won't be into what you get no matter what it is. Sigh.

30 people booked for today. Having 70-80 or whatever the last few nights was the perfect fit for what we were doing, hope it works today. I wish people I knew wanted to come instead of being all NOPE to it, because it's me and only me (and not Scott, fuck him). Hell, Steve and Jan went to a show Steve didn't even like for one kid, but I'm all "you could move rehearsal" and noooooooooo. Grrrr.

I think on the fourth application, these eyelashes may be on their last lashes. Putting them on today was a bit tricky. I thought about buying more while I was out today--the dollar store suddenly had 'em--but decided it's one more day, why bother. I did buy more fake nails though...I'm kinda liking 'em.


Sunday show: went well. No major incidents happening--stayed dry, even a bit warmer, no black cats, but one bird did fly into the top of the tent (and didn't poop), no drunk guys. Slightly smaller crowd--I was told they sold about 30 tickets before and I know of at least one walk-in, there may have been more. They just removed a table or two and it still looked sufficiently full. There were a few Very Tall Dudes in attendance, who I presume were somebody's friends since they were at the afterparty. One of them straight up lifted Manny in the air while dancing with him, which was hilarious. I did get to do all of Hot N' Cold again. William decided to fall himself at the end of the night because "Well, I have to bring the suit to the dry cleaners, I might as well fall." Rodney commented that I got makeup all over his shirt, which was certainly true. Sorry, Rodney and the dry cleaner's.

In attendance: Ed/Vinnie's son, who he told us to mess with if at all possible, various people did something William's mom (SUPER glamorous) and his nephew, who William told me to dance with. The kid shook his head no very hard and I said I wasn't going to pester him on the topic. Gail's husband, who she wanted me to dance with, and thus I did Destiny's mom and the dog--in a stroller this time, I'm impressed she got that down there since there was no smooth ground/ramps/anything down here. Cathy and Walt, so yay there. A lady who previously played Beatrice in Much Ado here, she told Denise she should be Beatrice. (I was a bit disappointed.) She was fun, though, hugged me and everything. I note we've had two Beatrices lately. (No Blonde Sarah...apparently she's busy, sigh.)

We signed cards for the staff. Robert had us all sign the back of his groom's T-shirt, Destiny and Jean had people signing programs. I note that Rodney signed his by claiming he'd given Marina a hickey.

I asked if Nunzio/Dominic were passing out their business cards, and they said they did. Nunzio said he was leaving cards for ladies saying, "If you're looking for work...." I note someone put out some nice writeups on the tables explaining that Mrs. V and Nunzio had A Thing Going On in high school and the like, so good job there.

After the show, we had the after party at Nancy's again. I had a good time hanging out with Mark and his wife, Denise, Destiny, Emily and Debi (I did talk to them about being recruited by DMTC, said it's worth doing and nice people), and William quite a bit. William is always VERY interesting to talk to.

When I went to the mall to buy wedding jewelry, I got some free bridal stuff. Blingy "brides babe" buttons that I handed out to Heidi, Destiny and Denise finally--I gave Robert the extra one. And I got a set of rubber bracelets, one that said "Bride" and the other had categories. I announced that we should have a group vote as to who got what, and votes were almost entirely unanimous.

Most Likely To Pass Out: Robert (though Tina was brought up, she got a bracelet already)
Most Likely To Dance On Tables: Ana (the table dancer)
Most Likely To Be Late: William, he who is perennially caught in traffic and told stories of showing up for shows RIGHT before they started and still made it dressed and onstage at the time
Most Likely To Hook Up: Rodney, he who flirted with everyone
Most Likely To Get Arrested: I was totally surprised at this one's vote...it went to Linda!!!! I feel like we had so many candidates for this one!
Fun facts: (a) Mark said his wife had seen TnT somewhere and told him about the show, he said that he wrote on his form he wanted a part with lines if he was going to drive 1.5 hours to do it. Linda had told me previously he wrote down that he wanted Tony, so there was a bit of dispute with them about that :P He told her he thought she was crazy for doing it again, but came back in a different role since he was too old for Tony even then. He also had no idea Manny and Heidi were together at first, surprise.

(b) Mark also said that his father-in-law (I guess they didn't come a second time) was yelling at him when Tina was dancing was Michael, and was also SUPER fixated on the nun, following her around. "You know she's not really a nun, right?" "That makes it fun, I'm trying to make her break character."

(c) Linda said that John had originally been annoyed that we weren't using their outdoor stone stage to do the show and Linda wanted the tent, but after Friday he said, "Thank God we did it in the tent."

(d) Destiny's mom filmed the entire show Saturday night, hopefully she can edit it together. I note that she apparently didn't notice on the email (darn it, knew I should have Said Something....)that we needed to turn in our dresses today and didn't have all the clothes again. Her mom LENT HER HER PANTS and was sitting out in the car with the dog and a blanket! (We said she could come in, ah well...)

(e) Someone said, "Isn't the show over? Why are they still kissing?" Manny: "I'm a Method actor." Mark said if they ever get married, we'll ruin their real wedding and Manny said no, you'd only make it better. (I note they live on opposite ends of the state and aren't interested in doing that as yet.) I note Heidi said Manny's having a birthday party during Labor Day weekend, so hopefully I get to go to that.

(d) William has done 49 shows, and he said he's hardly ever auditioned for a show and not gotten in, and is usually recruited for shows (though he's turned down Rodney and DMTC--I said if he likes to argue, it's probably for the best on the latter one because he may like to shoot the shit with Steve, Steve don't like being argued with), because well, he's a dude doing theater and it's easy for them. Sigh. On his theater career here, "I've been annoying them ever since."

(e) He also did some hilarious stories and imitations of relatives, drunk people he's run into at parties, weird people he's run into at work. I also asked him about Rodney as a director and while he hasn't been directed by him ("I didn't like him at the time" when he asked, but since then he's turned out to be an okay dude), other people say he's fine to work with, "even if he's crazy." "Well, aren't we all," I said. So, he said he thought it'd be fine to do Much Ado with him. I really like hanging out with William, hopefully he's around again someday... too bad I don't really run into him otherwise. People did tell him to not go away so long again, so we'll see.

I will note that several people--Robert and Jean, Mark (though it sounds like there's going to be a Spelling Bee cast trip for him to see Hugo instead) said they wanted to go see Avenue Q. Robert in particular wanted to get up a group. I said I bought mine for the 19th already, so he said he'd look into that one. I also ended up explaining what it's about to Denise in the car on the way home, so she might be interested as well. I don't know how I feel about that. Might be better to have a crowd.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com