Chaos Attraction

Drunk Guy

2023-05-06, 3:52 p.m.

Saturday morning: slept in, did not stay up to watch coronation. Did leave town to try to go to the Honey Festival I note that it was dry and sunny here, and about five minutes before I got to Woodland IT STARTED POURING SO HARD I COULD NOT SEE (it might have even been briefly hailing, but it was hard for me to tell, but it was raining so hard it looked like rocks.), and had to turn around and go home...and then it dried up and was sunny again as I got back to my town. GO FIGURE. Well, so much for going to the festival then. SIGH. So here I am at home watching the coronation this afternoon.

Saturday night: it did not rain but was still pretty cold, we took another cast picture for the Internet anyway. I asked the black cat to return to the show, but it wasn't interested--must have liked the not-wet outside better.

Guests in attendance:

* My mom and Roger, who more or less seemed to enjoy it. Introduced them to Denise, Destiny, Gail, Bridget, Jean, and Linda.

* Janene and some of Robert's friends, I finally met that friend of his, Jessica, that he mentions periodically (they played Beatrice and Benedick previously).

* Most of Jean's family since it was her birthday--I'm told Blonde Sarah is coming tomorrow.

* That 70's Scott/former Vinnie. He came up to us before the show and Ed/Vinnie hid behind someone, then they met and hugged and whatnot. "You're the Studebaker of caterers!" Ed said. Mark labeled it "Into the Vinnieverse." I don't think That 70's Scott recognized me with new hair/no glasses/tons of makeup, etc., I decided not to confuse him. Honestly, I would have expected more catcalling from him during the show--I think there was a little bit of him saying something during but I didn't catch it.

* Destiny's mom and the dog returned again, aww.

* One guy at the show was really into the interactiveness of the whole thing and had a great time dancing and chatting with people.

Issues during the show: The food issue was solved by assigning tables and Bridget/Loretta having people go up individually, so we were able to do the stuff we didn't do last night. (Though I think Lui/Tina skipped the slap and I don't think Tina tried to get into Tony's pants, not sure what went on with either of those.)

The one incident of the night was that there was a Drunk Guy. Some GR employees told us later he'd been there drinking all day. He appeared to be accompanied by a kid, maybe around age 11 or so, looking super uncomfortable. First he came up to us before the show objecting to the wedding and claiming his kid was in love with Tina. We played along (me: "Hey, you can go home if you like," and saying to Robert, "Hey, someone else might interrupt the wedding."). Then he came up to us girls later when we were hiding in the back pre-ceremony to compliment Tina again. Okay fine, no harm done other than kid being kind of embarrassed. I did see him pouring out booze/something in a can by the river at one point.

Then during the part where we make a tunnel and the bride and groom run through it, Drunk Guy rushed on through. Brian did an excellent job of spinning around, catching him and spitting him back out, and the GR staff got him out of there very quickly, as promised. Greg told me afterwards that he went out there and saw some woman filming--he thought she was with Drunk Guy--and he blocked her camera, so she shoved him.

But other than that, all was well. I was amused when Linda let me do all of Hot N' Cold (surprise to me and Emily), presumably because the dollar dance line was long enough. I wanted to say "Told ya!" but did not.

Quotes and notes:

Rodney pre-show: (a) walking up to Gail with his tie saying, "I like beautiful women to dress me," and (b) "I'm going commando tonight."

Ed: "Somebody asked me if this was my jacket. I was insulted."

I noticed Heidi did have some pale pink eye makeup on tonight.

Destiny bought her mom a drink--a "mamacita rita" and then people were giving her the fisheye for having a drink while she waited for her mom to show up.

Lui: "I have a drinking problem. I haven't started drinking." I note that Mark said afterwards he had a gag in which he'd try to watch a TV that was off and then say he was watching a game...tomorrow...if anyone asked, but they did not.

I forgot to mention that John the owner has been warning Tina to not get married before the show. This is funny since she's on her fifth wedding.

I caught the bouquet, then handed it off to a wedding guest. Hey, it was coming at me.

Afterwards I had a drink since I wasn't driving and the bartender let me have a free one. The staff seem to be enjoying it, as one of them asked me how good of a lover Dominic is (me: "He's fabulous, but that's what I'm saying while he's nearby...") and later said she got more of what was going on with a second viewing. We did have some discussions later about how perhaps the program should explain how people are related to each other or perhaps have an explanatory slideshow. Had dinner, hung out with people, went home.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com