Chaos Attraction

Driving Into The Bakery

2023-04-29, 3:35 p.m.

I went to the new NorCal Celtic Festival today. It was about two blocks blocked off, a small number of craft booths, food trucks, and pipers. I spent about a half hour at that and then walked off to the new bookstore, where I ended up spending more time and getting two books. Then I went to go see Young Frankenstein.

It was a very good production, I must say. (It certainly beat the "secret" one DMTC did, albeit that was on Zoom and all the sizes of everyone were off, and plus watching someone get um, raped on Zoom... but, y'know, that was 2020.) Great costumes, great people playing the roles. Elizabeth had THE best dresses, and I note they made That Scene not rapey by having her obviously taking control/consenting to the baddonkadonking. I liked Frederick, I liked Frau, Igor (Chris from Cabaret) did an excellent job, Danny was having a good time as Ziggy. Amy and Erik were in ensemble having a good time as well. Excellently done. Also, yes, everyone but Inspector Kemp tapped. (I did wonder about that guy, having to perform a week after his husband's death...well, let's just hope he was distracted enough or something.) I mostly tracked down the people I knew (Amy didn't come out for long and I don't know Chris well enough so I didn't bug him), did even see Rachel afterwards. So, cool. "You here by yourself?" "Yeah...." I didn't say "can't get anyone to go with me any more, so I don't try."

I saw Robert afterwards, he was all, "Scott's coming tonight" and I just said nothing. I was thinking, "I know that, that's the only time he could come" (plus Facebook) "and that's why I came now, to avoid him." You know, I was having a good time till that got brought up.

I bought this book, "Big Friendship," which is by these two ladies who are doing a podcast about long distance friendships, apparently. Can't say I've heard of it. BUT the book is how two such good friends had a breakdown in the friendship, what that did, and how they went to therapy to save that. It talks about passively letting friendship go.

Honestly, what is the point of saying anything? I force him to lie that he didn't mean it and I know he's lying? I force him to apologize? He's embarrassed at being called out and never speaks to me again? How is any of that going to make things better? If he doesn't notice that I'm gone, then it doesn't hurt him. And I know he doesn't notice.

I did get a letter from Cameron sympathizing on costume issues and mentioned all the costume issues SHE had (broken zipper, hated the stilettos, also had fake eyelashes and body glitter) and said she also felt like a drag queen. Sounds like she's enjoying the recap, at least. "Sounds like TnT is coming together in the chaotic way established by the last time we did it." LOLyup. That did make me think, "Oh, wait, do I have body glitter?! "Why, YES I DO!!!!

I note that Scott said on FB he went to Young Frankenstein with Morgan and Cameron. I got mad...but then, frankly, we're not cool or okay, and even if we had been and this was before August 2022, he would still have invited her and not me. Because she is the one for him and I never will be. So nothing new or different there, at all..... Someday I will defriend him, or he will defriend me, and I won't know about these things any more. I'm not there yet, but someday it will be.

Went to karaoke tonight, it was a blast. Did "Uptown Funk" and that was awesome. A lot of good songs were there, a lot of fun people to hang out with were there. I note that one guy at our table, Fernando, did "Psycho Killer" and then Buzz was kinda all, too appropriate this week, I agreed, and then everyone else freaked out. The most notable moment was the employee trying to haul waaaaaaaaaaaay too many boxes across the street and just losing them all, then they just sat in the middle of the road for like 20 minutes while we took photos and waited to see if any dumb drivers drove into them (no).

In other online news, Jean reported that the bakery (Redhead) Sarah used to work at (I note she's now at the branch office) got DRIVEN INTO THIS MORNING by someone who hit the gas instead of the brake. She was all, what is this town coming to?! So I posted the boxes in the street, along with "first a murder, then someone drove into the bakery, and now this." Kind of reverse escalation on that one....


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com