Chaos Attraction

Dead Body In Central Park

2023-04-27, 3:32 p.m.

In office day. I got written up again for all of my fuckups for the last week. When I die, I hope it's at work. (I note I later was hanging out the window of a two story building and Manny made a crack about not jumping. It didn't occur to me there, but it sure does at work.) I spent the day working on a neverending list from goddamned hell, at one point messaging my coworkers that this is the list that doesn't end, it just goes on and on, my friends. Circa 4 p.m. my brain refused to do more of this tedious shit and I was just brain dead at work.

Added bonus of cranky: the Avenue Q cast made the Broadway World website. I could cry.

Though during lunch, Rachel and I actually got chairs and got to watch the sheep lie there and eat. So that was chill. I found out from her that (a) yes, it was the lead who got covid, so that's why it got canceled, (b) they had a "pickup" rehearsal last night without him, with whoever's being dubbed the "wonderstudy" just in case that person has to go on, and (c) she feels sorry for anyone who got covid and then has to do five shows in a row. wince.

She also mentioned a Celtic festival going on that day, so I looked for the one they usually held in Woodland. Well, I guess it's canceled for good/ever because apparently they're not going to have it again.... BUT someone else decided to throw another one on Saturday on Main Street, a free one, all day. So I can go before/after the show, which will be great. Parking, less great... debating whether or not I should just go at the crack of dawn or something.

On a less great note, they found a dead body in the main park around here during lunch. Oy vey. (I realize that the headline "dead body found in Central Park" is probably like, every Tuesday if you're in NYC, but not here.) Apparently a guy with stab wounds was left on a park bench by the playground. We were talking about it in the carpool and someone said "I hope kids didn't find it," but that seems um, likely. I walked by the area after work and it was half cordoned off, a few cop cars, and the park bench had been kind of fenced off, but you could see where it was. Not much came out about it n the news today, but we all got an alert during rehearsal that the police action was over and you could hear who lived where by the phones.


TnT2 rehearsal was at the Opera House today. You'd think that'd be great because it was in the 90's, but that building has no AC and stagnant air, except for the aforementioned open windows, and no breeze. Oh well, at least no new fresh bug bites. I did get to write down notes today because nobody checked me on that, muahahahah. We rehearsed "Stilettos" (note: this is where all the younger guys at the wedding act obnoxious, chant "Stilettos" because that's the name of their gang, the girls yell "Assholes," then they proceed to body slam each other and drink and carry on and crap), the one part we hadn't done yet. Linda said they were being so loud they might frighten people. After that, we did the opening to approximately the dancing right after the ceremony.

Quotes and notes:

Denise brought some extra dresses for Ana to try on because "Maddy was concerned I'd have a dress that was sexier than the stripper." (Ana didn't change dresses.)

Linda mentioned that the Opera House is surprise, full of cameras. Denise: "So when we strip, we'll all be on camera."

Mark has decided he now wants to sing "That's Amore," and we had a spontaneous singalong of that during break.

Linda on Stilettos: "This is truly infantile behavior." "I'm scared we're going to scare the audience."

On how Johnny is supposed to slide across the floor and we can't do that at GR: "I'm sure William can think of something more embarrassing." -me William: "I like when people get hurt...kidding."

Me to Rodney, walking in late: "Hey, you've just joined a guy gang!"

Manny: "I'm getting fondled tonight."

There's a line in the script about how the devil has entered Michael. Manny to Robert: "Who's playing the devil and in which hole he's entering you..."

Linda: "I just can't yell any more, guys."

Greg, after spilling a drink: "I'm not the brightest bulb on the tree." (I note he's some kind of malaria expert professor IRL.)

Marina on Stilettos: "I can't wait till they get to the part where they stab each other" and "I only watch fights when I pay for 'em."

The script says that Nunzio delivers a "rebel yell." He wasn't sure what this was. Gail: "I'm from Texas, THIS is a rebel yell."

Linda: "Let's take a breathah" (said about like that). Manny: "Let's go fight the cornhole people."

William to me as I head guess where: "Party in the ladies room."

Rose: "The Hatfields go here, the McCoys go there."

Johnny: "Everybody say penis!" Dominic: "Oh, the Padre's here."

Rodney brought Oreos. Marina: "An Oreo a a day keeps the tears away."

On Grandma Nunzio's fall: "She got run over by a reindeer, goes with the snowball." -Rose

Someone asked, "Linda, are you getting rings?" Linda, in big exasperation: "I guess soooooo." This was followed by pointing out the need for a garter (or three) or bouquet (or three).

Jean: "I can't wait to see where you stick that flower." Greg as Nunzio: "I'll get a long-stemmed rose and leave the thorns on."

Not AS tiring tonight, if kinda hot. Ended around 9 instead of going till 10, at least. Break for two days.



previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com