Chaos Attraction

Signior Benedick of Saliinas

2023-06-01, 9:27 p.m.

I remembered to do rabbit rabbit! Let's see if that does anything!

Work: in office day, which I used to scan my script and make flash cards of during lunch. That was productive. As for actual work, I did more tedious lists and found out that a whopping 89 people were oops, left off the Important Document List (note: not my fault, but one office is NOT DOING WELL), so I had to deal with that all afternoon. Sheesh.

After work, I forgot to grab my script, realized this halfway home, and lucked out by running into NewBoss (decorating for a wedding shower) and got a ride home in time for singing lesson, WHEW. That would have been a tight squeeze.

Singing lesson: apparently Morgan has decided to switch me to a new song to "get me there" (whatever that means?), "Pretty Funny" from Dogfight. I know she likes this musical, but after hearing the plot of it....eeeeesh, it's literally about guys making bets to date ugly women. NO LIKEY THE CONCEPT OF THIS AT ALL AS ONE, THANKS. And the song is pretty depressing, in the 'I just got back from a shitty date, I'm still ugly, this is how my life goes" sort of way...which is to say I certainly relate to it even if I haven't been through that particular awful experience. I note the version she had me look up was sung by Lindsay Mendez (who did "Lost in the Brass," a song I do love and fit) which makes me wonder if nerdy/unattractive girls are Lindsay's typecasting in theater or something. Anyway, it's TEN PAGES LONG and we did around five of it. She sounded fairly happy with it so far? Ish?


Rehearsal: did various scenes from the first three acts, mostly the opening, the ladies-only scene in which Ursula and I talk up Benedick, some bad guy conversation, and the opening Dogberry scene.

My big scene in Act 3 went well, I note that Rodney actually does kinda "direct" more than most people seem to usually, or at least pointed out tweaks and blocking. It went well.

Notable things:

* One of Janene's students, Christian, was in for a bit. Pretty quiet. Rodney said he was hoping for a Claudio but thinks he'd cast the guy as Conrade.
* We signed picture releases. Presumably someone will do photos for us for publicity next week sometime. Rodney had a very brief video of "day Zero" of rehearsal bits to show.
* We are going to be allowed the community center...indoors, yes...for the actual run of the play. I was pretty shocked at the townspeople being cool with that, knock on things...??? Probably all for the best given the weather these days and there will probably be a fire or something.
* Jessica's son will be playing three roles so far: messenger, Verges, and Balthasar (me: "Does he play a musical instrument?" Jessica: "Nope."). Not sure how that will go. I note that Sarah and Rachel were subbed in as Watchmen tonight, I asked if that'd be the whole time and he said he didn't know, he was concerned on changing costumes. Which I agree with, but might have to happen? I dunno, up to you, bud.
* The Italian locations are being replaced by California ones. Which is fine, but I dunno if it sounds too impressive to say that Signior Benedick is of Salinas.

Quotes (all Rodney unless spelled out otherwise)
"In my mind, Hero is knitting..." Fine by me, so I did that in the opening scene, ha ha.
To Cameron: "I want you to be like you're eating liver."
To Robert: "She still thinks you're a piece of shit."
To Janene: "So, Dogberry, you're a woman. Congratulations."

Rachel and me snarking on Don John's "I am a villain, I want to sleep when I'm tired and eat when I'm hungry" speech:
"Sounds reasonable to me."
"He's like a baby."

Robert/Benedick: "The world must be peopled!"
Me: "All by my penis!"

Sarah, upon seeing what's in my hair today: "Can I touch a butterfly?" Sure.

Sarah: "I'll make you come." Everyone died laughing.

Me: "Making up lies about my cousin, who I love."

Cameron: "My reaction when I hear a phone ring is uh-oh. Nothing good comes from the phone." Agreed. She also said that a theater has to have the appropriate amount of theater and grime, which Rachel concurred with.

Sarah asked what the proper honorific was for a director, because as a food person she's used to calling people chef. (I gather Rodney went into the bakery today and said hi and she was in Sandwich Mode.)

Cameron, upon watching Janene do Dogberry: "I want her in a Napoleon hat."

Me watching Beckett do the coconut walk (I note his "audition" was a video from Spamalot): "Coconuts! We need coconuts!" Everyone agreed.

Robert, noting that "Seacoal" and one of the watchman were combined: "Seacoal nominated herself."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com