Chaos Attraction

Lost in the Mail

2024-01-03, 10:39 a.m.

No group therapy today, nobody else signed up. I sort of wonder on the benefit of this if most people aren't interested in doing it and it requires you driving in person...but at least I don't have to drive over there today.

Sleep report: went to bed without pills, slept 3 hours, took pills when I woke up around 3-ish, they made me woozy and I went back to bed for another five, albeit I started having alarm paranoia and kept waking up and checking the alarm from 7-8:45...even though I had turned my alarm off and I don't have to do anything till 11:45. Sheeeeesh.

Here's how the appointment with Dr. Amanda went:

We discussed the whole sleeping pills and how they sorta work but not really for "maintenance insomnia" and how I'm taking them at 3 a.m. now, whish she referred to as "if you find a wacky way to take them, then fine," but that said, I asked to talk to another psychiatrist on what else to take and she said she'd work on that, but it may happen either tomorrow or Friday. She said the new psychiatrist is "good at thinking outside of the box" and "doesn't beat around the bush," so "he'll be a good fit for you." She said I'm not getting tired enough during the day from exercise and I said that usually doesn't seem to have any effect one way or the other from day to day, some days I do nothing or 15 minutes and some days it's a lot, who knows.

Apparently Dr. A DID send the limitations/accommodations form to GiantOrg...though to WHERE at GiantOrig is a mystery, nor did he scan the form into my records anywhere, so she'll look into where that is. She said it may need to be amended by Julia (ADHD evaluator) and/or new psychiatrist in the future anyway. Julia has been cc'd on the form stuff.

As for my treatment plan, I've got ADHD class and a therapist and psychiatrist lined up. They'd normally recommend me taking another 90 minute class, but they're all during work hours and that will be a problem, so...probably can't do that right now.

Other than that, save my messages I want to keep for when my insurance lapses, but messages will probably come back once I'm insured again, there's a "Believe Me" policy in place to still get medical care for 90 days in between, so that's good. Also, I am being sent a psychological survey every single day and she was all, "you don't have to fill that out daily, we'd only want that like every few weeks!" So that's nice.

Rae called wanting lunch, so we went to Panda Express, I took her along on my errands to get a library book and get my key fob fixed, and then hung out at her place for a few hours with her new caregiver Marcella (very chill, which is needed). Then went home for my new ADHD class....which turns out to be 2 hours long, not the one hour I was told. That means it runs until 7:30, which means it backs up against rehearsals...I'll either have to leave class early or go to rehearsal late, probably the former.

Anyway, class was pretty good, talked about distraction and impulsivity tonight. Went into anatomical and chemical differences, how it's over 50% inheritable, what the issues are, and practical ways to deal with your issues. I don't feel like writing it all up now, but it was good stuff. At the end, she offered to go into how diagnosis works--lined up about with what my experience has been--and she talked about what happens if they think you have too many other factors going on. They'll tell you to address your trauma, etc. and ask for a reassessment after you've been working on your issues. She agreed that trauma probably contributes to symptoms, and they should make you recommendations to get trauma treated even if they won't say you have ADHD. Also, fun fact, ADHD meds can make trauma worse...whee?

After that, I went to Ashley's and we yarned and watched Chicago Med since none of the shows we usually watch were on tonight.

I dug up my mermaid costume and my remaining under-the-sea wall decor to bring to Rae's tomorrow. That'll be weird to wear out in public, but fuck it.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com