Chaos Attraction

Frozen

2023-01-12, 10:09 a.m.

My LL Bean rolling backpack finally broke for good--the strap is SUPER snapped/broken/not fixable. It was right as I was putting it on to leave the house and I didn't have the time to look for another non-rolling backpack and repack it, so I just tucked in the straps and rolled it to work today. Which is fine--I left it at work since I have to go back anyway--but may be an issue tomorrow when it'll probably be pouring again. I looked online for another one and they only had gray (how boring) AND only a few left AT ALL, so I had to order it. Sigh. Be two weeks on that one.

I asked my mom when I got it--I bought it when we last went to the East Coast to visit relatives--and she said 2013. So, around 9 years? My previous one from them lasted 8 years, which is why I had to get another one, boring color or no. Nothing else lasts THAT much these days.

Today was a fairly dull day at work/in office (i.e. no mail), I had a few meetings, did a few things, blah de blah. New Boss felt bad about how the last meeting went because we had to do training round 2 on that, and I was all "nah, I've seen SO much worse." I literally looked around for anything I could possibly print out. I was reminded recently of the rainbow butterfly unicorn kitten and decided to look around for yarn patterns to Frankenstein that up, and then per watching Leverage last night, I was thinking of Frankensteining a hat--lumberjack hat/beard combo with a crown....

There WAS a giant tree by my work that fell over during the storm. Huge roots, huge hole left, they will be chopping it up for most of the block. Very sad. Is it the bigger trees that lose it in bad storms with a lot of water? Do they just tip over? I did see an even bigger tree having fallen across the street from the theater too tonight, eek.

I ran into Theater Jim (from Winters theater) leaving work today--he still works from home all the time but sometimes brings his laptop to Giant Org's coffee shop area "so my cat doesn't get fed up with me." Told him about Cabaret, he might consider going (we'll see), talked about the other potential auditions coming up. He was wearing his usual shorts/tank top/bare feet and I asked what he wears when it's raining. "Same thing, but a warmer hat."

After work, I went to see Frozen at Sacramento Broadway. It was very good. THE SPECIAL EFFECTS were freaking amazing. Elsa's ice palace in particular is SO beautiful. They did a lot of the ice effects (both with lighting/scrim and with actual objects combined together well, the scrims were BEAUTIFUL, costumes and hair were beautiful. There is a guy in a full on walking around reindeer suit with a head and presumably on stilts, holy COW. The new songs added in were great--Elsa has one about being a dangerous monster and one about hiding that are good, and they did a reverse "Let It Go" about the sun shining in at the end. It was beautiful. (Also, frankly, this show clarifies "hygge" more than "#xmas" did, and had a lot more naked people hidden with towels and bushes. Wasn't expecting that.) The main difference is that the trolls are turned into some kind of ... I dunno, native tribe people, I guess the mom is part of that tribe or something?

I did see Morgan at intermission briefly--in a blue and white simple Elsa-ish dress and with tiara! She looked lovely. Lots of dressed up Elsas and Annas in the audience, of course. Heck, I wish I'd worn a tiara, but I note I had on a blue color-changing skirt and top, so was Elsa-ish. I pondered buying merch, but wasn't in love with any one item. They had a lot of pretty stuff, though.

Driving home was ok, it sprinkled off and on but thank god didn't start pouring. The car next to mine had its alarm going off (not my fault, it was happening when I got there!) and I could hear it from BLOCKS AWAY when driving away! Oy vey.

Anyway, definitely worth going on the one dry day of the year.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com