Chaos Attraction

The First Rule of Urinetown

2022-01-20, 6:12 p.m.

"Boris is negative! Show is back on for the rest of the run!"


Today's work drama:

(1) Today's bitchiest complaint (see previous days) was "Why do I have to pay (egregious amount of money) and then $5 on top of that for mail?" To which I wrote back "because your organization didn't bother to participate in the pre-paying program," and then I wrote "I apologize for the inconvenience that you have to pay $5 after having paid (egregious amount of money)," then deleted it and just said to contact her program and ask THEM why they don't participate in this. Seriously, everyone in that group is being a snotty little brat this week, what's with that?

(2) Lots of snotty behavior today, as I spent 80% of the effing day on emails again. My boss wanted to know why it takes me half the day to get to the public emails and I was all "I spend half the day just going through all the stuff people send me privately," and then she wanted examples and emails of this. Sigh. I certainly have evidence of that, mind you. She told one office to stop just emailing me directly about everything, I'm not sure what to make of that one.

(3) We had a big meeting with Interim Big Big Boss, saying the following:

(a) We're doing a lot of hiring or at least trying to since HR is hanging up like 9 of them. But we have more that got through HR already than didn't, so that's doing pretty well for us.

(b) Uh....we're gonna put an ad out for Interim Big Big Boss presumably soon....they told me this gig was gonna last a year.

(c) Uh, we did get complaints that we didn't do any open forums for (another big boss) position. Yes, so-and-so (actually named) was in a hurry and did that, we heard you, and we note that we have open forums for BigBoss right now. I was all "wow, they seriously called that lady OUT for that in public."

(Oh yeah, the FOURTH BigBoss candidate also quit, so we're down to two again. Still rooting for lady #1, but we'll see. God knows I don't get to decide or put in input there.)

(d) They are in final negotiations for replacing (Total Crap Computer Program our office runs), so there's that. I saw a snitty article today from people complaining that the program is crap and inaccurate and doesn't work, which I debated passing on to the office and then thought better about doing.

(e) And finally, she addressed the last staff survey, noting that my office is one of the most obviously disgruntled of them (not that that word was used, but we were like -10 on the happiness scale or something like that) and they have something like a 65% favorability rating with the offices in general. My favorite was her noticing that 40% percent think something will actually improve as a result of this survey--because a lot of us have been here forever and know better, hahahahah. She was openly sad that only 60% feel comfortable speaking out about problems and said "This breaks my heart, I don't want anyone to feel this way." Well, I like that you care about that, but I'm not sure what the heck you can do about it?


Rehearsal: got a lot done today: all of "It's a Privilege to Pee," "Look at the Sky," and finishing "Run Freedom Run."

Ed dropped out of the show. Shorthaired Sarah is now playing both Old Man Strong and Hot Blades Harry. "You can't see it, but I'm blushing right now," she said.

On the note G: "That's where altos live." -Sarah

Jan: "Oy gevalt." Me: "Good point."

Kyle: "Don't want to overload people with too much exposition."

During Run Freedom Run, which is starting to kinda sound like an Elvis number: Sarah: "Should we be fainting in the background?" Me: "It's like Elvis, with pee." Marie: "Oh Bobby!"

Kyle was saying that it's a shame there's the mention of the word staff, without the ph. Steve then made a "staph infection" joke and Kyle was all, "l hold no ill will towards that joke."

"It's not fame, this is Urinetown, but that's ok." -Kyle

"What is the first rule of Urinetown? Don't talk about Urinetown." -Dannette

"Sopranos are so stupid they can only sing the melody." -Steve. This made me feel a lot better about being an alto.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com