Chaos Attraction

The Peepee Dance

2022-01-24, 7:05 p.m.

There's this woman in another office who annoys me because she somehow has a high position but always seems clueless about everything? Like apparently on Friday at 5:45 she sends a bunch of crap (note: they are NOT supposed to be sending this stuff at the very end of the workday and expecting it'll be keyed by the end of the day, they've been told this multiple times) messages me and Hope and is all "is anyone going to key this?" Um, fuck no, it's Friday after 5 and we are shitty clerical workers who don't do overtime. Couldn't do it even if I wanted to, which I do not. Nope. Hope spent her day just doing nothing but that lady's crap since she came in at 7 a.m.

In other news, YES WE COME BACK IN PERSON YAYAYAYAY (um, no) next week, blech. To be fair, the stats for GiantOrg actually look like our disease levels are going down--but the ones in town are DEFINITELY NOT GOING DOWN, so um....they weren't taking that into account? Like I'm kinda concerned when our vaxxed-yet-still-getting-it population is around 1500?

And HR is yet again hampering our ability to hire anyone. And apparently nobody liked the two remaining candidates for BigBoss and the managers were all "can we throw them out and start over again?" to upper management, and I'm all "um, this is literally the second batch of candidates after throwing out and starting over, do you actually think you are going to do better on a third round?" Then someone was all "I'd rather get someone good," and uh....really, running this office is not a Cream of the Crop job at this point. I don't know if I've ever found anyone in it to be super outstanding. Like they were all likeable enough people, but it's not like anyone worked miracles or anything, things tend to stay the same regardless of who gets the job. Also I am once again annoyed that we had a candidate who was interested in actually solving problems and NOPE WE DON'T LIKE THAT HERE NOPE NOPE NOPE. She probably wasn't prestigious enough, would be my guess.

In other news, we had yet more mail drama, as someone complained that their Important Document I put into the mail 2 weeks ago has yet to arrive. It looks like the three people who used DHL were all lost, but the FedExers made it to their destinations. Weirdly enough, the tracking numbers all said that they were in Sacramento as of 2 weeks ago and nothing had happened since. I sent a complaint to the shipping company and got "yeah, I don't think they ever got them, check your GiantOrg mail again," since they lost 30 ID's last time. I emailed GiantOrg mail again and was told they didn't have them. To which I really wanted to say BULLSHIT, I KNOW YOU PICKED UP THE MAIL BECAUSE OTHER ONES WENT OUT, but ended up forwarding to my boss, who is reluctant to reorder the damn things again since they turned up from being lost too damn late. Let her deal with it. Mail also hasn't been delivered at all for a few days, which a client is gonna be Very Upset about it. Last week I said they were in transit (which they were), but the damn things were delivered to Giant Org Mail on Thursday and after that, I have no idea.

Also, my office has been out of FedEx envelopes for literally weeks, apparently. Like two weeks ago Grandboss was complaining about this and I said "hey, I can order more for free" and she said "don't worry about it, I'll get it from the mail station" and apparently THAT HAS NOT BEEN HAPPENING. Like someone had to walk to a FedEx store and pay for envelopes individually level of "not been happening." Come on, people. So I finally talked them into letting me order some. We'll see how fast they come since mail is a fucking toilet these days, but hey, at least I tried. And one of the temps gamely mailed all the remaining ID's around here for me, so huzzah for that, and also for getting the upset and the angry off my back.

I have now written up my experience of owning a Chia Pet. And here is a Loki.


Rehearsal:

Tonight was "choreography" (I use that in the very loosest sense of the term) for the beginning of Urinetown, done by Steve. Which is to say that we either laid on the ground or stood around doing a peepee dance. I kid you not. (I debated texting Scott to tell him that we were doing super easy choreography, but why bother at this point.)

We had another person drop out of the ensemble--"her mother said she couldn't do it" was all Steve said about that. That leaves us down at 17 people. I note that they seem to have 17 microphones... But I am the only one with no lines and no parts, so I assume I still won't have one, I didn't in Camelot.

Before the show Jan told me that she haaaaaaaates the old fashioned granny shoes that Jean makes everyone wear for historical plays and said she couldn't dance in them in Mary Poppins and actually bowed out of the one dance number in Titanic because of them. "I can't wait to dance again," she said. (Another reason to not do Music Man: so far two people have told me about the heinous shoes. Hmmm.)

Later, she told me (in the bathroom) that "we're gonna have 2 pay toilets." I asked how and she said "we're still figuring that out." She also said that the creators of the show got the idea for it from having to pee in Paris, only being able to find pay toilets, peeing in the bushes, and getting arrested. They had never done a musical before. I'm amused as heck by this.

Anyway: the opening number features all the poor characters lying on the ground singing for half the scene, then we get up, then we get some signs, then we go to the front and do jazz hands, then get in line to pee. "When you think of choreography in the Sacramento area, think of Steve. It's inaccurate..." I gather Sherilyn doesn't come in to do dance numbers until later in the week.

Tonight was SO QUOTETASTIC I had a hard time getting it all down and was literally typing while lying down and hoping Steve wouldn't chew me out for that. He didn't notice.

"I didn't know we were supposed to read minds." -Marie "It's in the contract." -Steve

Steve to Paul (Bobby): "You hate your job, you hate your parents..." Dannette (playing his mother): "Hey, who are you saying that in front of?"

Steve to Marie (Sally): "If he doesn't cut you off, you gotta come up with a whole lotta shit."

Sierra (Hope) is told to step over everybody. "This is very frightening." -Jan "Did I mention I'm clumsy?" -Sierra "Did I mention it will be total blackout? We'll put tape on people." -Steve

"Dead people, I'm gonna yell out your cue." -Kyle

Sarah, now playing Old Man Strong: "Can I have a beard on the mask?" Steve: "Beard on the mask is funny. And I laughed, so we're doing it."

Sofia (Becky the pregnant character) while in line to pee and we're told to improvise: "I'm pregnant, for Chrissake." Later I ended up knocking her over when told to back up (I note she has the giant foot injury) and she was totally fine, thank god.

"This stinking town, they record you when you pee. I would be so screwed," Steve, elaborating on being diabetic. Kyle: "That's too too much exposition, it can kill a rehearsal."

After Old Man Strong pees onstage: "Steve, can I run to him and stand in it?" -Paul Steve noted that last time they did it they had someone peeing out of a Camelback, but that was too much.

I started wondering if Evan and James are a couple, as they were sitting together tonight. If so, THEY HAVE THE SAME HAIR AND THAT'S ADORABLE. (Then I thought "well, Scott and I sometimes sat next to each other" and got sad....)

Paul and Sarah discovered that they live on the same street. Amy and I were all "you should carpool" and Steve was all, "Maybe you could wave to each other and take separate cars."

I note that somehow Old Man Strong doesn't notice that his wife was in the pee line behind him when saying his goodbyes ("tell my wife I love her"). The girls next to her are told to POINT at her. Steve: "She just lost her husband, but she won't care in a minute. He left a large life insurance policy."

Steve quotes:
"Whenever anyone stands in this number, you do the peepee dance."
"Wee wee never fail" is his favorite line in the show.
"Do I have any men in the poor?" He does not.
"You're doing the peepee dance while doing the Morlock walk."
"I make crap up. That's what directing is, you just just say it with confidence."
The back of the scene will have a bunch of posters for Urinetown that we hold up. He said he wants signs that say "dmtc.org," crossed out "org" and then write "com" and then crossed out com and write "org...
He also suggested chalk outlines for our bodies, "and if it's funny, I'm doing it!"
"Take about 3 minutes, go pee."
"You're terribly oppressed people who have to pee."
"DMTC Depends, who's gonna wear 'em?"
"Why Tiny Tom is a ghost, I have no clue."
"Toilet plunger with a gunshot sound effect...it's a very serious show."
"They'll yell at me. I don't care. I used to care. I don't care any more."
"I wasn't really upset, but it upset me." (Me: I'VE HAD THAT FEELING.)
"Jan and I found (here) from a TV commercial in 1977."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com