Chaos Attraction

That's Not The Bay

2023-01-23, 8:21 p.m.

Another day at work. Bleah, what to discuss. Nothing much. I will note that Dawn and Loretta came to my place during lunch and I took them on one my favorite walks to the library, the park behind the library, etc. and to two Little Free Libraries. That pleased them. Loretta also gave us some Lunar New Year snacks (tangerine and chocolate), which was super sweet and covered in fortune cookies from Panda Express.

I got 3 out of the 4 packs of xylitol gum I ordered today (the other one's a different flavor and apparently not shipping today, so much for spending enough for free shipping). Apparently you are supposed to chew two after every meal, which is sort of annoying since I was thinking like, 1 piece a day here. They are small, run out of flavor quickly, but you're just supposed to chew them for 5 minutes anyway. Huh. We'll see if I remember this. I put one bottle by my work computer, one by a home computer and a third in my purse. I will say that the gum experience was better with two of them in there at once, at least.

Ashley is fine after her day of testing. She had Fun Biological Stuff go on, but the dreaded medication that probably would have put her in the hospital overnight didn't happen because her cardiologist called and put a stop to it. Yay. What a relief after all that drama.

In other lack of news: because I got 750 words to do tonight and I got nothing, someone online mentioned that she works for a great tech company that has an office "in the Bay Area" and will offer info on how to get in, and she mentioned stuff Jackie does. I messaged her and I presume she's a New Yorker and has no idea on what "Bay Area" entails because um....the job is in HOLLISTER, which is NOT THE BAY AREA (note: this is around where the NorCal RenFaire is and a freaking far drive), it's an hour away from SF, and they only wanted engineers there, most of the jobs they were hiring for were in NYC. I think Jackie would super turn up her nose and be offended if I mentioned this to her, sadly. (This sounds snitty of me to say, but I feel the same every day when I get emails for job listings and they're for like, NURSING or in WISCONSIN or somewhere totally useless to me. Seriously, the job sites are fucking pointless and useless. Please explain to me how "clerical worker" and "assistant" turn up NURSE jobs?!) At the very least, she can't be that far away from the sick relatives all day.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com