Chaos Attraction

Another Mixed Bag Entry

2021-05-04, 8:37 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Times Have Changed - 2021-05-09
One Take Steve - 2021-05-08
The British Royal Family - 2021-05-07
Weird Discussions Today - 2021-05-06
Men Are Zebras - 2021-05-05

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

Work: thankfully quiet, other than Quarterly Project Has Problems. Two people have something completely effed up going on and might take days to get worked out, uck. Oh well. I also had to do Quarterly Horrible Unrelated Chore in which we have to check people for something nobody wants us to be checking, and they either (a) get busted trying to do something weasel-y, or (b) have to submit proof that they aren't trying to cheat the system. The latter part is awful because it frequently involves people who CAN'T prove the latter, either because it involves getting proof through international mail (cry) or they just plain didn't acquire the document that gives proof in the first place because exceptions were made for their life.

One person wrote me back to complain about getting busted and I was all "um, you are literally THE person they are trying to prevent from doing that. Like, the poster child example, even." And of course I had International Drama, except the person was all "screw it, it's too hard to get my Important Document from my country to get me out of this, I'll just accept it" and I was all, "thank god, because the only thing worse than us trying to send mail to The Country That Can't Deliver Mail is trying to GET mail from The Country That Can't Send Mail." I fear he may change his mind later, but seriously, it's the right decision rather than trying to get anything from there. The first time I had to do this chore, I had one guy who was utterly screwed if he could not get his Important Document from Country That Can't Send Mail, and that shit dragged on for months.

Therapy: my therapist's husband went into the hospital and back out again, and they got two black cats that they're not sure of the gender of. LOL. She mentioned having a previous set of cats called Samson and Delilah because "she bit off his whiskers." We went into the whole inner child thing again. and how I'm being an asshole to it and she doesn't get it, and that I learned that life is better if I just shut the fuck up (well, it is!). More on that next week, I expect. Mostly I am just so mad at mine and I don't want to give her love and kindness.

Yeah, that's fucked up.

In other news, this is the longest I've ever gone without talking to/contacting Scott. Good for me. It shall last forever. Really, the person I cared about probably didn't exist anyway, right? No wonder I'm over it so fast. I thought I liked someone who cared about me and had feelings and well, he doesn't, so why bother?

I have discovered that Renaissance Faires are supposedly coming back in the fall. I forwarded this on to Cameron since she brought it up awhile back, but of course I expect no response. Whatever. I did find out that a steampunk con (Clockwork Alchemy) is going to be online for free this year in June, so I signed up. I also discovered that the replacement to Pantheacon, Behind the Veils, is online this year, but I'm not sure if I will sign up if I'm not that into the workshops?

After work, Claire threw another Zoom craft time and Renee was in for a bit (she's sending me a cowl) before dinner, and then mostly I helped Claire debug an applique project. She wrote on some linen, it didn't go well, and she needs to cover it up with applique, but how to do that? I think in the end "use T-shirt applique on some other fabric, then put some other fabric in between the gluey bit and the linen" was the final decision, and by the time I left, Claire was happily hunting for fonts.

We talked about the joys of trying to maintain friendships/relationships (or not) during the pandemic, and she said something about joining Tautology Club. What is that? Mostly reminding yourself that "all I know is that they didn't respond" type stuff, repeatedly. Maybe I'm just being an asshole of late for not wanting to make excuses for people...but this does trigger my whole "I got friend dumped and have no effing idea why" issues and all that. Maybe just focus on the people who WANT to talk to me and WANT to respond.

Shrek rehearsal: all guards numbers. We had to do our numbers (singing and with uh, dance moves) individually a few times apiece, and read the Gingy torture scene. Thankfully Jan seemed fine with what we were doing, overall.

Quotes: Steve: "I have 4900 Facebook friends." Hollywood ones, Jan says. Robert has 400 "and some of them are friends in low places." In chat, Robert followed up with: "there's literally like 90 people I follow on Instagram that are celebrities and they bother to follow me back lol." Jan says that Steve's are "washed up tv stars," like 90 are friends, most are Broadway stars and they just accept you. Jan hangs her mask off her ear in case anyone walks in. "Does your mask hang low, does it wobble to and fro.." -Robert Andy: "Where is Raoul? Is he stage right, or stage left?" It's Hugo, apparently. "I'm going to be showing you off, man." Hugo: "Cool." Jan said that Raoul was the original set designer for Broadway. "I will do a dainty tiptoe. I'm still going to do the tiptoe because it will be funny." -Andy "Multitasking! Doesn't work!" -Dannette after she accidentally played a recording of herself when her camera was supposed to be off. I asked if the guards have any reactions to Farquaad saying he's going to guillotine his bride: "You have to be happy about it, or else he'll kill you." -Jan "That's how Dannette gets to be Gingy and a guard at the same time." -Jan on editing. "I didn't get enough demanding." -Jan to Andy. Jan later rhymed "Dannette" and "minuet." "You're a poet and didn't even know it." -Dannette. Dannette forgot her "good" glasses at the theater and at one point Jan waved them in front of the camera. I was all "You're taunting her with her glasses," and "Not my glasses! Not my gingerbread glasses!" "After this week, you will never have to worry about the guard numbers again!" -Jan

Gap between May 22 and June 9 for Shrek Jr. They are waiting on costumes (Fiona wigs this week) and once they have costumes they want to film. Not ready to film Andy yet. "all the guard stuff is here, and Shrek's costume is here."


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com