Chaos Attraction

Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga

2021-05-23, 9:39 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Catching Up With Melinda - 2021-05-28
Professional Yarn Bombing - 2021-05-27
Shit For Brains - 2021-05-26
Therapy Day - 2021-05-25
The Return of Karaoke - 2021-05-24

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

The library is reopening with very weird, limited hours that change daily, they limit the number of people who can go in, you can only go in for an hour, etc. I haven't even gotten an announcement about it, it was just quietly mentioned on the webpage when I went to go sneak a link to the NYT.

"I love stupid things!" -Sigrit Ericksdottir.

So yesterday and today, per yesterday's television, I watched "Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga." Lars, an Icelandic fellow with a dad that hates him, (Will Ferrell, of course) is a loser obsessed with winning Eurovision. His partner in band (hopefully not his sister...I guess Dad gets around), Fire Saga, is his childhood bestie Sigrit (who is luminous, and ah.... yeah, not exactly around early enough to be his childhood friend, oh, movies--also I hate to say it, ,but Will Ferrell looks weatherbeaten as shit, like maybe he did spend his entire life on an Icelandic fishing boat, so that is not helping) who wants to get down with him, but he won't because dating your bandmates destroys the band. Which is legitimate. Anyway, the Icelandic song committee is so convinced they've got a winner that they just pick their 12th submission for this year at random, and that's Fire Saga. After Lars fucks up on stage a lot and goes off to sulk, that means he and Sigrid aren't on the after-competition boat party when the boat blows up.

I mean, it's a Will Ferrell movie. They're different but also the same, you know? Lotta dumb jokes. Penis jokes. (I finally get why everyone was hyped for JaJa Ding Dong, though). Kind of good and kind of not, but that's what he does. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yu8lDlSQ33Q Dan Stevens is hot as fuck, though. Love him so much. I am DROOLING. Rachel McAdams is as lovely as ever.

However, what's motivating me to mention this (that and I also need to fill in my 750 words for the day) I absolutely love the song-along, in which everyone sings along (various parts) to Cher's "Believe." I LOVE IT SO. I want to be at this so bad. I want to do this IRL. Then it turns into "Ray of Light" and someone busts out a violin and I am all, this is how life should be. And then they break out "Waterloo" (Dan Stevens' voice is hilariously deep when he does this). Then it becomes a mashup of everything and "I Gotta Feeling" and I LOVE THIS SO MUCH. THIS IS BEAUTIFUL. I totally want Sigrid to star nailing Alexander once he says he's into the elves. (Sigrid loves the elves. Lars does not believe in elves.)

I do enjoy Sigrid finally standing up to Lars after she thinks he slept with someone else, though. (Lars then claims he's going to sleep with everyone in the room. Classy.)

"We know they're awful, but they're OUR awful!" "Okay, so not as awful as I expected. This is wonderful." And then, of course, there's an incident with a too-long scarf and a hamster wheel. She is all "I am going to go back in there and when there are no votes, I am going to sit there and take it." Seriously, SIGRID IS SO MUCH BETTER THAN LARS I DO NOT WANT HER TO BE WITH LARS.

That said, I developed some slight respect for Lars when he decides he no longer needs his father's respect.

Okay, it was very sudden that the song committee guy tries to strangle Lars and confesses that he blew up the boat because Iceland is bankrupt and can't afford to host if anyone wins next year. AND THEN THE ELVES MADE HIM SUDDENLY DROP DEAD. OKAY THEN. "I'll just leave the knife here in case you have to do other murders!" Wipe your prints, dude. Anyway, we have the last minute rush to the airport, a change of song, them making out onstage (sigh).... "They will be disqualified for changing their song, but quite beautiful."

I do like there's kind of a sweet happy moment with Alexander and Mita. He never turns out to be a jerk, just probably gay, as he makes a comment about Mother Russia not allowing him to be happy. Anyway, I like him. Still better than Lars, mind you.

I think about the only time I laughed at Lars was at the end where he's insulting the American visitors--in great American detail--but it's clearly a fun joke for all at this point. Awwww.

I will note that Jaja Ding Ding Dong is stuck in my head like mad now, of course it is. I feel as obsessed with Eurovision as everyone else now (Jackie too, as it turns out).

Collage group was pretty intense. I felt like most other people are doing great with the meditation and having revelations and all that stuff, and meanwhile I was Not In The Mood to do another meditation in which I made up bullshit in my head. I feel like I've been lying to myself all along about having hope when there wasn't any, and anything I did in meditation was me telling me what I wanted to hear. That is all I feel about saying about this, really. Though others pointed out they haven't manifested everything either or always gotten what they wanted, so good point.

After that, I went out with Jackie. We met up at Krispy Kreme, got free donuts (they were out of the regular ones at the time so the guy let me have an Island Time one), then drove out to the Thai restaurant in Fair Oaks we like and hadn't been to since February 2020. Yay mee krob eating! (And getting leftovers.) It was a good time.

I will note that while I was stuck in traffic, I decided to have yet Another Conversation With The Universe to specifically say, "Please do not send me any signs if they are for the wrong person who I am not meant to end up with. It hurts my feelings and it felt like a slap in the face to see that graffiti the other day." Sure 'nuff, I saw another license plate with a heart on it ("MRSPUN(heart)") probably within about 15 minutes of that. Fuck you too, universe.

Dear god, please let me meet someone else that I actually want to be with and actually wants to be with me.

Note from November 2021: in retrospect, now I laugh every time I see me bitching about the signs. I'm still confused AF on the whole psychic saying no thing, mind you, but the dang signs were still going...


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com