Chaos Attraction

Interview Rehash

2002-08-08, 5:31 p.m.

Much to my great relief, the jewelry supplies I ordered last week showed up at my place at 4 p.m. Wednesday, just in time for my class. So I had a fun time cutting and filing and discussing stones and bezel cups and generally getting a good amount of work done on all of the pieces I'm working on. The ruby turned out to be quite dark pink, but Dad's just gonna have to live with it. My rainbow topaz stones turned out to be smaller than expected, but I'll deal. I'm going to make a matching bracelet for the ring, since I have two and all.

Today's interview was amusing on several levels.

For one thing, what the hell do you wear to a job interview when it's 95 degrees out? Every job hunting thing you'll see tells you all about wearing suits, blazers, etc., but that stuff is boiling hot. I had a little black businesslike dress, but damned if I know where it's gone to now. I ended up wearing a long black with red/pink flowers dress, which I've worn to work many a time and oft before, and its accompanying short screeching pink short-sleeved, double-breasted jacket, which I normally don't wear because it's heavy as hell. (I realized that once I got to the interview, this dress must not have been washed well or something, because there were little white spots all over my lap. Fortunately, I got to sit at a table during the interview.) I put on the dreaded panty hose and closed-toe flats, the latter of which drove me the craziest of all. Any time I have to wear non-sandaled dress up shoes any more, I somehow end up having them literally cut into my heels. After wearing them for an hour, my blisters had blisters and I was limping the second I left the building. I even gave up and went barefoot on hot pavement just to keep the Shoes of Pain off of me. (I'm going to have to find a pair of high-heeled white sandals for the wedding or else limp all night.) I think they were somehow amused to see me that dolled up, with jacket included.

For another thing, how silly is it to have to go to an interview and be formally asked the approved list of questions about doing the job, when you already know all the answers to it? Bizarre experience.

Not to mention that when you walk in for the appointment, everyone passing by is like "Hey! You're back!" Plus the "Oh, no need to introduce you to (the other interviewer, who'd I'd worked with)", stuff like that.

Anyway, except for my hurting feet, it went well. I should be hearing final results on Tuesday, and will hopefully be re-employed by the end of next week.

Since my feet hurt too bad to walk home in the Shoes of Pain, I stumbled into the library and took off the offending shoes, jacket and pantyhose, then settled down to wait another half hour until the bus arrived. Which is where I was spotted by my rarely-seen friend Christine. Y'all won't remember her, most likely, but she's the one who has cancer. Turns out she's got a lecturing job here now, big yay for that. She was bald but looked gorgeous as ever, even wearing a Gilligan hat. Since Dave's taken to wearing one lately (and with his new haircut, you don't even see hair under it), I was amused at the similarity. Anyway, I finally got around to writing her e-mail, which I'd been planning on doing and then never got to for a few months. Yay me.

Tomorrow, Hill and I will be doing a cheapass breakfast at IHOP, then doing food shopping. God knows I need it, there's almost nothing to eat around here by now. And hopefully money will be coming in soon anyway...


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com