Chaos Attraction

Hang On, Schmoopy

2002-07-25, 10:53 p.m.

Yes, I'm aware that the title of this is not the exact song. You try thinking of a title that encompasses the front and back of this entry and see how you do at it for awhile.

Awwwwww. They're just so sweet, I swear. Everyone should be so lucky as to get this. Maybe my old coworker (also married to a David) was right: people with that name make good husbands.

Honestly, Dave is just so sweet and caring that it blows me away a lot of the time. A lot of it is just too personal to reveal, if you know what I mean, but he amazes me on a daily basis. He doesn't push me into doing things he wants- lets me know what he wants, but leaves things up to me. If anything bugs me in the slightest, he tries to come up with some way to fix it. He reassures me whenever I'm freaking out. He has an amazing amount of consideration for me that I've never seen before. He encourages me to do whatever I want, even if it means we won't be able to see each other much for awhile because of it (i.e. take Renaissance costume on Saturdays for a month). He doesn't mind a lot of my more negative quirks, or at least isn't too bothered or intimidated by them ("Your room's getting a little sloppy again, my dear."). He enjoys my being weird. He is just delighted to be around me. (It's been a long time since I've had that experience, let me tell you.) His picture could be in the dictionary under uxorious.

I had no idea this kind of thing actually existed. Being with him makes me wonder why I put up with all the crap I got from his predecessors all those years. Of course, I didn't really know any better at the time, but had I met him first and then somehow lost him (God forbid) and then met those fellows, I wouldn't have been able to bear putting up with the wishywashyness and the pushmepullyouitis and the selfishness that I tolerated for so long, because I thought that was just what guys did. That it was normal.

He makes me want to go around to everybody who's with a lackluster fellow and tell them what they should be looking for. Of course, it is hard to find and they probably wouldn't believe me anyway, but once you've had this, it would make it a bitch to try to settle for less. So until they do find it, perhaps that would be doing them a disservice, I don't know.

I wish that everyone could have this. It's not right that so many people don't. This is what people were intended to have in the first place, and anyone else who gives less is an undeserving jackass.

Uh, yeah, I am feeling mushy this morning, in case you couldn't guess.


Last night in metalsmithing I made my first ring. I had bought this thin patterned piece of silver wire with diagonal lines across it that came out quite well and shiny. It wasn't too hard after all, and I was pretty proud of my work. Dave seemed to like it an awful lot, even if it came out a bit tight on his finger. But that might just be circumstances, since he hit a crate yesterday (don't ask) and his hand was a bit swollen up from it. Anyway, the fact that I made it for him seemed to make him all the happier.

Dang, he's just so damn cute!


In other not-so-great news, there's a newly discovered problem with my job. I don't know if I mentioned this before (probably not), but my boss was looking to hire another person or two to do more data entry here, same job as I have already basically. Today she just found out that thanks to state laws, she is not just allowed to renew my extension (which, if you recall, went to July 31). I have to officially be gone after that date. If I want to keep on working here, I have to officially re-apply for the position on Monday or Tuesday (the two days the pool will be opened up again, presumably to let me apply), go through the interview process again like any other stranger, get rehired again, etc. Naturally, there's no guarantees on the last one, but at least I wouldn't have to be trained and whatnot. She made a comment along the lines of "let's assume you get re-hired," so that's a good sign. The position is also changing in job description a bit, which is why the rehire thing has to be done as well. This time, the "limited" bit of the position lasts till the end of 2002, and she's adding a "possible career" bit to the description. So that's pretty damn good for the future, even.

She apologized left and right to me about this (how sweet!). She can't help state rules and funding weirdness, I know. Though I gotta admit that being out of work for a few weeks (assuming I get rehired) right after I was already getting a short paycheck due to pneumonia isn't the greatest. I'm wondering if I should reapply for unemployment again in the meantime, if it's even worth the effort of that. Oh well, I guess that'll be my official summer vacation, huh? Maybe I'll go visit Dave for a few weekdays until I find out when my interview is.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com