Chaos Attraction

Sawdust Poops

2022-08-28, 8:42 p.m.

We didn't have to go to the theater today until 1 p.m. I was exhausted, roasted, and kind of sore, so I didn't do much in the morning besides try to sleep. I prepared my wardrobe for tomorrow's interview, but frankly, my brain has NOT been in gear to rehearse questions or whatever...oh well.

Today there was only Gary (Molly and Annie's dad) and Sierra and Katrina and me there. Also Andee (another Andy/Andi...different spelling) was there learning her blocking when we came in. She seems very cheerful. Good luck learning it all in two weeks! Gary and Sierra (and Katrina later) spent the day adding an extra step to the staircase since it's a bit too off for people to step on, and adding more pillars to the top. I only did anything from about 4:10-4:53 or so, and that was finally more painting on the staircase once Gary left and the construction was about done. I got a lot of knitting done.

I went to Nugget with Sierra and Katrina to get dinner, and Jan joined us later, talking about the upcoming shows. Then I went home because I managed to snag two holes in my butt during sliding my butt across the platform, SIGH.

Quotes:
Steve:
(quoting Chip in the script): "Will I be a little boy again?" No, you're a girl, shut up."
"I looked exactly like Peron. Except I don't like little boys." (Note: I don't know where he gets the "little boys" thing from, all my reading indicated that Peron liked teen girls....)
On being Peron to Andee's Evita: "I don't know where my stage is, but she kissed me there."
To Andee when she asked if she needed aging makeup: "You're what, 75-80? That's what I thought." (Nope.)
"Seriously, how important is the rose to the show?"
On how Sierra used a piece of wood he wanted for the rose: "I slept with it under my pillow!" Upon finding another piece: "This is actually better! I'm lying!"
Do the objects eat and poop, I wonder. "They have little pieces of sawdust that come out." He said this while Sierra was drinking, she was unfazed. "I thought I'd make her do a spit take." Sierra: "I'm used to your humor now." Him: "You get into my mind, take a shower."

Andee:
"Remember, I spent a week with Jean, I know everything."
"I have to tinkle again! I know it isn't a break, but whatever."

Sierra: "Why are you looking at me? You're the director."
On the step issue: "She'll be a pile of floofy dress falling down the stairs."
Boris (joking): "Who trusted you with power tools?" Sierra: "Good question."
"I have a carpenter dad, I don't have to build anything."


Rehearsal: tonight we ran through all musical numbers (no lines) in order, which was fun and easy since I'm only in six numbers and got to see the other ones, like the wolf numbers, "Maison de Lunes," actually seeing Jared sing something once in awhile, and "Me," i.e. the proposal song, which is the most sexist thing in the WORLD and Julia is literally being thrown around and picked up and dragged about and dropped. This is especially seeming complicated when she's 5'10 1/2 (Steve said) and Gaston/Ryan is 6'3. Her being a very tall Belle can be interesting in this show (she's about Beast's height, he's 5'11). Probably the best/most horrifying number in the show in its own way, and I note that "Gaston Reprise" and "Maison de Lunes" are openly evil evil evil, not to mention "The Mob Song," of course.

Wardrobe (but not THE Wardrobe): several people were practicing dancing in large skirts. I note that the Babette skirt is indeed covered in feathers...but it's SCREAMING DISCO BLING HOT PINK. Not maid-ish AT ALL. Da fuck?! On the other hand, Julia's giant yellow dress is indeed lovely, if likely to make her trip. I note that the other Steve, playing Maurice, wore a tank top that said "DAD BOD," with Mr. Incredible on it.

Kat continues to be "Stunt Potts," as Andee was doing something-or-other tonight. Scott played Stunt Chip and Stunt Cogsworth (dunno where Omar was) again. He can pretty much do all the show himself.

Quotes: "I'm a professional margarita maker." -Ryan "You're my best friend." -Kimmie

Kimmie: "I can be bribed, talk to me later."

On Steve and Kimmie telling people not to mess with the curtains: Steve: "I will electrify them." Kimmie: "I'm thinking shock collars."

Julia is wearing a plaid shirt on top and skirts on bottom. Jean (actress): "I like the plaid, it's very forest chic."

Annie put on her strap-on knife to play silverware. Think backpack-ish with a giant gold knife sticking out of her back.
Me: "You finally got your knife." Annie: "It looks really dumb." Me: "I just like that it looks like a giant fuck you in the middle." Annie: "I thought that too. Or I'm a shark."

After painting the stage yesterday (didn't repaint it today), it was literally dirty all over with footprints after "Gaston." Kimmie: "Who got the stage dirty?"

Scott on the dress: "Look at the pretty dress! And there's a girl in it too." Julia on the dress: "If I go too low, it's like a plunger."

Steve: "Let's go, napkin, back in the cupboard."

Kimmie: "I will be in at the butt crack of--oh, never mind, Maya's not here." Steve: "She will be here at the tuchus crack of the morning."

We got out early! Boris: "What to do with the extra ten minutes?" Me: "Go home and eat ice cream, usually." Though tonight I had to shower/do my hair for the interview. I'm taking a Benadryl tonight, but am 99% sure I'll just be wide awake all night like usual anyway.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com