Chaos Attraction

Start of Tech Week

2022-11-06, 9:10 p.m.

This morning: attempted to sleep in, was lazy, caught up on my temperature gauge cross stitch, went to a local craft fair with Dawn and Loretta, ran into Rae a few times while there. One lady really liked my outfit and said I should be selling--well, on the one hand, I agree, on the other hand I don't think I'd get much out of doing a craft booth again with the stuff I make. I'd need to be like Ella Emhoff and get booked to do custom things at best, I think?

The rest of the day was Tech Week.

Cue-to-cue: I only have about four set changes, so not bad there (also there aren't that many-ish). Kimmie handed me two signs to put "toy shop" and "baked goods" on at some point. Felicia is still testing positive but was on Zoom for the day. I am confused as to when her ten days started, as frankly it sounds like this is getting finagled. Uh, if she tested sick Thursday, which it sounds like, then ten days um....isn't opening night. Hell if I know. They are probably hoping she clears it on day 8 like some people have. She did literally dance along on Zoom.

Supposedly a snow machine is coming. I'll believe it when I see it, and also I want to know, who has to clean all that shit up?

Quotes:

Scrooge Scott:
"I'm not here even when I am here."
"The ghost of Christmas recycling."
"I'll hit you with my cane."
"Lift with your crotch!"
"I think we should put the names of sponsors on the tombstones."
Kimmie: "Scott, do you want satin sheets? I'm kidding." Scott: "I only want satin sheets!"
Steve: "If you put gauze on" (the bed) "it'll make him look younger." Scrooge Scott: "Not enough gauze in the world."

Noel called herself a "disaster magnet" because she spilled coffee in the fridge. Also, her catalytic converter got stolen (apparently this is an issue with Priuses) and they are ALL GONE FROM THE WORLD and she can't get another one for months. She asked about getting an anti-theft thing on hers years ago after her husband's got stolen and they said no, yours is too hard to steal from. Uh-HUH, she says now. She was telling this story during dinner and Omar said, "My cousin, who used to steal catalytic converters until he went to jail...."

Everyone was admiring my yarn outfit I had on today (a Stitches yarn special) and Noel said she's interested in going/taking her mother-in-law the fiber artist. I should hang out with these people more. I wonder if I could take her along if/when I meet up with Meg?

Noel: "Never trust a trombone. They have ONE VOLUME."

James:
"My goal is to make Kimmie so mad that she says, I'm back!" Later: "She's gotta blow her knee out earlier and let me know."
"I haven't burned down the theater yet."
"I kill a number of trees during tech week."
"And then we get the wet noodle out, and we threaten you with it, and then we hit you with the wet noodle."
On the topic of bras: "I need extra support these days."
To Steve: "You're really smart. You should run a theater," followed by "You've been demoted back down."
On the Marley door: "We've had five people working on the door and five people have cursed it."
"Come on, Felicia, jump out of the screen!"
On Kimmie telling him she stuck a book to the table and just put the gruel down on top of it: "Scrooge would do that? THAT PIG!!!"
"Tiny Tim can la la la just a bit longer, right?"
"Felicia was really quiet tonight, couldn't hear anything."

James gave an example of someone asking "Billy Bob" to do a set change. Kimmie: "Billy Bob? I've missed him." James: "Billy Bob will do anything for us."

James has twins who are approaching their 21st birthday. One wants to hit a certain bar just so she can play Galaga(?) all night, the other wants to do sake bombs.

Kimmie:
"We'll be using Chuck E. Cheese coins because they make a better sound."
Jan: "Everyone is free." Kimmie: " I have a price."
"I think that missing kid from YPT is down there" (in the pit).
"I'm living with Brian and his three boys right now, I want to move out."
"Morgan, you're going to have to fake your fish tonight."
Steve: "Kimmie is going to make cream puffs every night." Kimmie: "They might be foam."

Kimmie told a ghost story about the prior props master, Marie. After she died, she was trying to find something in there and asked Marie to direct her where to look for it-, then found it. Then mentioned that she wanted to throw out something Marie made, and the lights flickered. Never mind. Later Kimmie said, "I was going to bring it down to antagonize Jan." She also told a story of trying to make Brian break character in a scene while muttering "You are so sexy" ("I wouldn't do it except I know he won't break") on the comms, prompting someone to ask who was being talked to. Kimmie: "Dannette."

Everyone will be mic-ed, including little Alex apparently. Oy. I do not look forward to dealing with that stuff.

Dinner was out at Black Bear--they were out of stuff and had one waiter, who did his best to juggle everyone even if we were only like seven people. The food was delicious though. Told Omar about the Avenue Q auditions and he checked and they are up for mid-February. I was all "I checked yesterday and they weren't up!" Danny said he has a muppet voice and Scott said he's played Brian and Trekkie. There was discussion of catalytic converters (see above), the joys of moving two large string basses about, virtual theater, some random stuff store called "The Cave" in Sacramento that I need to look into, and not that much theater going on right now.

Rehearsal: supposedly Sunday night is supposed to be ONLY sets/some props, not costumes, but they told us to put on boots/petticoats--but not all the time petticoats? This was confusing AF. Like it's fine to roll around on the ground in white dresses, but NOT IN THE PETTICOATS!!! Huh?

Mostly, just trying to figure out timing and set changes. Don't look forward to the costume stuff tomorrow.

Stacy told me a story of a guy who used to do shows here and was SUPER GAY and SUPER UNABLE TO NOT BREAK CHARACTER, such as being a sassy gay policeman shaking his butt and walking up and adjusting her wig during Carousel and saying "You go, girl" when um, not appropriate to the time period. She said he quit when they didn't ask him to do a bit part because he couldn't stay in character.

Show was 1 hour first act, 48 minutes on the second act, but it had a lot of pauses, so it can only get faster! The three business men continue to have issues, be late, be un-heard, etc. I gather um...they are not getting along so well either. I don't really want to comment on interpersonal conflicts I don't know much about, but that one surprised me since it's not like that bunch are socializing much outside of scenes.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com