Chaos Attraction

More Movie Observations

2001-12-30, 6:10 p.m.

(Yes, I intended to write an entry for every day. Alas, my parents� net access died the day I got there, and thus I�m posting the paper journal entries I wrote instead a few weeks late. Sorry �bout that.)

12/30:

You know, I gripe all the time about not wanting to go home (here), but really, it�s not so very bad. People care about me here, they buy me tons of stuff, I can eat and actually turn heat on in the house without constant worry about the bill, I can avoid everything there that I don�t want to deal with� Other than lack of net access, I don�t want to go back. All I do there now is worry. Other than goofing around on the net, I don�t have much there for me any more, and one way or another I�ve lost a good number of friends in that town, so what will I miss if I do have to move home?

Essentially, I didn�t do a damn thing today either beyond reading and watching more movies and TV. Since I have nothing else to talk about (unless you�re really interested in Mom�s continued efforts to NOT clean out stuff for the New Year�s Day party), I think I�ll pass on some completely random observations about what I saw.

On TV/in the newspaper: So what�s with all the "9-11 babies" stories alluva sudden? Seriously, why now has this become a major story? You could say the same thing about them now that you could have on 9-12 or any other day in the future- their birthdays will kinda suck, they�ll have to watch "Since 9-11" stories on TV every year, but they�re hope for the uncertain future, blah blah blah. This one�ll get rehashed a ton, you can count on it. Some days I�m glad I�m not in the media any more.

The Thomas Crown Affair (Brosnan version): I like this movie, even if it�s got artsy pretension throughout (then again, I�m kinda amused at that too), but ...

� Why must Catherine persist in wearing sunglasses while (a) indoors, and (b) in dark indoors? Can she see anything? I assume they�re just trying to make her look cool and European, but I see that and think she�s hiding a black eye or two.

� I love Faye Dunaway, but are shrinks allowed to be that bitchy to their clients? That�s just ... off.

� Nice ass, Mr. Brosnan!

� Wouldn�t sex on marble stairs while nude hurt?

� The model chick playing Anna is UGLY. I mean, WOOF. She has no lines, and just stands around and pouts. Musta not been able to act.

� I love the end. People�ll shoot me if I say anything, but I just love how it�s done.

� All of that said, there�s really only one bad moment in the movie, where Catherine "spontaneously" gets up and gets a (insert name of low-calorie soda that didn�t do so well in the market here) soda, and yes, I counted this�there�s 15 whole long seconds of shot of her (this is the entire focus for 3-5 seconds while the men in the room stare at her. Nothing else goes on but her damn drink) glugging down this soda, talking while clearly showing the logo on the can, glugging a few more times ... then she delivers this line: "This is an elegant crime, done by an elegant person. It�s not about the money." It actually offends me that this elegantly done film has a totally whoreish money moment in it that just has no purpose with the plot (at least Bulgari had an excuse to sneak jewelry in).

Maverick:

� I heart Jodie Foster in this. Love her. What a tricky, tricky babe. And I want her hair. Mine�ll curl like that as long as I never leave my house.

� "It had just been a shitty week from the beginning." I love that opener. Sounds like me, doesn�t it?

� Don�t assume just because she�s a woman that she knows how to clean your shirt. And Mom wonders why I refused to do the ex�s laundry?

� Missionaries are no fun. Anywhere, doing anything.

� I love Joseph the Indian. And his attitude.

� I really want to go on an overnight riverboat cruise now. Sex on a steamboat, whee!

� Again, love the ending.

The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas: Now, it�s been a few years since I�ve seen this one, and I think that I�ve probably mentioned at some point that I got to watch it all the time as a kid and had no idea it was about sex. Rewatching it now, was I blind? Hello, naked boobies are everywhere in this, along with some butts. Thinking back on seeing this as a wee tot, why on earth were my parents so concerned about my seeing bare boobies in Road House in the third grade? There�s more boobs in here by far compared to that flick.

� Dulcie Mae = boring. Though I always like the term "weekend daddy." I used to call the ex that, as he has a penchant for dating short blondes with young sons and playing temporary daddy to them until someone gets dumped. He doesn�t want his own kids (and shouldn�t have �em), but borrowing someone else�s is fine. Yikes. Poor kids.

� I never realized how um, Mammy Jewel is. Kinda freaky.

� The Governor is a hoot. The perfect politician who says nothing.

� I�m surprised Ed Earl didn�t try to reveal any of Melvin�s er, underclothes hypocrises, along with the toupee. Perhaps pantsing him might have been fun?

� Anyone think they�d ever see so many dancing football players from Texas in real life?

� Senator, why don�t you just claim that aliens kidnapped you and dropped you off at the Chicken Ranch? It�d be about as believable as what you came up with there.

� I still think Dolly�s "I Will Always Love You" is better than Whitney�s. Whitney�s may have more power, but it has no emotion. I actually feel sad when Dolly sings it.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com