Chaos Attraction

Quilling

2023-03-05, 9:39 p.m.

Today I took a class at the Craft Center in quilling. It feels like it's been so long since I've been there... knew no one, new paint jobs and artwork in there, etc. I enjoyed my class VERY much--she had a piece of paper and had us learn all the various ways to adjust a coiled piece of paper, then glued them to the paper so we remembered which was which. Then we were provided with little shadow boxes (????--not sure what these are called) to decorate for the rest of the four hour class. I don't think anyone officially quite finished except for someone who didn't put a whole lot into hers, which might have been a smart move? I tried to glue ALL of mine in before the teacher left, but ended up going to the hardware store and getting the polyurethane spray glue she recommended to fix it all in. I note that I asked about doing quilled jewelry and that people who do it won't tell me what they use, and she was all "oh, it's just polyurethane glue" and I was all WOO HOOOOOOOOOO to this.

Anyway, it came out quite cute.

The teacher, Tresa, is also a craft/theater person and said the theater group she's worked with is Empire Arts in Sacramento--I knew a person or two over there pre-pandemic, and have considered going back over there for various things but haven't done it yet. She said that since she started working at the Craft Center she hasn't had time to do theater and totally agrees that you can only do one or the other--"maybe I'll switch every other year." She also said that Empire Arts is very welcoming, so I'm keeping that in mind for future theater homes that might take me. That was a good conversation to have, right there. Nice lady, would be nice to run into her again.

I don't know the current batch of students/employees/volunteers these days, but a bunch were hanging out in the room having conversations--mostly about RuPaul's Drag Race, which is apparently a lot like Project Runway--but it was the kind of thing I used to hear. One person is going for the "Matan" stamp in taking every class, and I was all "that's still going?!" because I remember when Matan did that! And some people mentioned wanting to take glasls mosaic, which made me sad. Did they get someone else? I feel so bad for quitting there because it's so cool, dammit. How could I pass up a sure thing for such a dicey thing as theater, given what my skills are?!

Beyond that, I finished uploading my Stitches pics, quilling pics, and costume in progress pic and wrote a book review, so good for me there.

Did a Knitters Oracle on whether or not to tell Scott how he hurt me. Got The Circle (social events), The Sweater Curse (death, breakup) and The Moth (suffering, pain). So.... no point in doing that, eh?

Will I ever find true love within the next year: The Moth, The Bind Off (good!, positive outcome, goal achieved, victory, happiness), The Handknit Gift (something nice).


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com