Chaos Attraction

Women's Storytelling Festival

2023-03-24, 7:20 p.m.

I finished the ninth day of prayers to Guadalupe. No miracles so far....

In office day, was boring, 'nuff said. I will note that we heard back from the Gods of the Giant Org about the two dates and they were all "Um....is anyone else doing this or would we be setting a precedent?" Um, definitely a precedent. I got the bright idea to research this topic and found the answer is "apparently some places in 2020 did," but otherwise I wouldn't be able to tell....and then thought, "Why am I doing this? I can't respond to it, NewBoss will want to, and let her bleeping handle it, I'm not going to help out." NewBoss is at yet another bachelorette party for four days, so I guess the Gods will have to wait.

The Women's Storytelling Festival started this afternoon my time, so I've been watching videos. Stories that stood out:

(a) A young wife who apparently has her mother-in-law living with her and her husband and the MIL nitpicks her all the time, including cooking. She goes to the spice shop and asks for poison to kill her MIL and the spice merchant is all, "Sure, I got one for you, but it takes six months to work." Don't you have anything faster? Well, then you'd get caught. Okay, good point...so she seasons MIL's food every night with it, but over six months MIL becomes easier to deal with....and on the last dose, DIL freaks, goes to the spice shop, asks for an antidote and the merchant says, "If I gave out actual poison, I'd have no customers. That spice just makes everything taste better and gives you time to get to know each other."

(b) Kim Weitkamp was telling stories of when she owned a yarn shop, like providing yarn for Knitted Knockers, a lady who gets her wanna-do-nothing husband into a sleep clinic, etc. I wish I could share that one with the group.

(c) A story that takes awhile to figure out (as the husband's name is mentioned right off, but not the wife's) is Lady Godiva, who finds out that her husband's overly taxing the town and when she asks him to lay off, says "Sure, if you ride naked through the streets." The teller didn't say "CHALLENGE ACCEPTED," but she might as well have. I note that part of the story is that Lady G apparently asked people to stay in their homes during her ride, which is smart.

(d) Jennifer Munro (who I met years ago at the storytelling conference) telling a very creepy/dirty Bluebeard story in which the lady ends up killing her husband first by stabbing a shoe through his eye while they're having sex. HOOOOOOOOOOOOOO BOY.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com