Chaos Attraction

2019 Karaoke Reunion!

2023-03-27, 7:28 p.m.

Monday: quiet day, tomorrow will have drama (it's Email Nag Day!) but I was pretty well left alone, yay.

Ashley's sick once again...sigh...who knows with what, she said it started last night so it's probably not detectable yet. Waaaaaaaaah. She said the new medicine makes her more susceptible to colds and I wanted to say, THEN WEAR A MASK OUT YOU KNOW YOU SHOULD....but she won't....sigh. well, she said she should now that she knows about the immunocompromising of the drug, but we'll see.

That said, I DID go to karaoke tonight because (Redhead) Sarah could go!!! Spring break and her ex has custody tonight and she has tomorrow off from work. She said he got a job in Dixon so he can be closer to the kids, so hopefully he'll have custody of them more often and his nights off will be Monday/Tuesday. Fingers crossed! She also messaged Robert about going (also tried Sarajean, but she was off in Vegas selling patches apparently?). They both came in around 7, I got there after work so I could drink for a bit first--had a lovely rum slushie, basically.

News from Robert: the rest of Art went well, they got a lot more people, he wonders why the reviewer didn't review it (good question, I do not know either), said it seemed kind of odd to have a reviewer who sponsors shows. Even though I know her, yeah, have kind of thought same except from my experience at DMTC, the sponsor literally isn't even seen around the theater unless they're in the audience, so I dunno if it's an ethical dilemma or not when they aren't actually doing anything beyond donation. Also she sponsors children's shows she isn't in, but he noted she reviewed one she sponsored. So yeah, weird. He has also gotten into a show in Vacaville(!), he won't say what, but is going to see if he can juggle two shows at once. Hmmmm. Said he'll audition Wednesday along with Brian.

Anyway, it was a great night! Both of them sang. Robert in particular was all "I haven't sung in years" and couldn't remember what the heck he used to sing. Me: "99 Luftbaloons in German?" (He considered it but wasn't sure if he remembered the lyrics. Me: "They're on the screen...." Instead he did the also-suggested-by-me "Happiness Is A Warm Gun" and "Here Comes Your Man." Sarah did Valerie and a show tune called "Some People" (from Gypsy? Not sure, can't recall). I did Celine Dion, Duncan Sheik, Taylor Swift, and finished with Sarah's request of "Fancy" and belted the house down. There were some really great singers in there tonight, which was excellent. Tamara and Stephanie were in, not sure where others are, but everyone was happy to see R&S.

The one odd thing was that there's this one dude who's been coming the last few times. Per Sarah, he has a strong resemblance to Pitbull. He sings mostly in Spanish. The last few weeks he seems to have been filming himself on his phone on a stand while he sings--which, slightly weird, but fine. Today he seemed to be filming almost everybody while they sang at some point or another (though once I noticed that's what he was doing, I stood mostly off-camera, har har), including conspicuously moving the camera to film in our direction in the back for awhile when R&S were singing. I think he did ask R&S on filming because they were singing in the back, but we all kind of wondered what the heck he was doing it with it all. Yes, Robert and I of course suspected masturbation, Sarah figured TikTok. I dunno, but it's weird. I may try asking Jim about it sometime when not in public.

This will be my last full karaoke night out for awhile, God willing and the creek don't rise and all that, but hey, maybe we can do dinner or something? It was so good to have everyone back!!! Robert was all "Yeah, I learned to move on" re: pandemic, but I want a reason for people to reunite again, darn it. The good people, anyway. It was like old times of 2019 again, and don't I miss those days?!

The one annoying thing is that I didn't get to talk to either/both of them about He Who Bothers Me, but what can you do, it's kinda loud for conversation at karaoke. Who knows. Maybe it's better to keep my mouth shut on the topic.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com