Chaos Attraction

Tinsel Hair

2023-05-14, 4:07 p.m.

recently on Chaos Attraction
Avenue Q - 2023-05-19
Newbie Interviews - 2023-05-18
Mr. Stabby Stabby - 2023-05-17
Envelopes - 2023-05-16
RIP Stitches - 2023-05-15

archives

Cast list as of November 2019

"You are my favorite mini-series." -Jennifer Crusie.

Sunday: woke up today to find out on Reddit that some instructor at the CC (not someone I know as far as I can tell, it's been years since I knew who taught lapidary) is taking skeevy pictures of girls' feet during class, posting them online, with skeevy commentary. I did not want to look at this and in fact did not, but he was apparently easy to track down the name of (perhaps don't stick your name on your skeevy photos?) and people were already emailing the CC about it so I didn't have to. Someone said they saw Skeevy Guy at the booth yesterday--I did walk by it and I didn't see an older dude at it today, so.... hmmmmm.

Back on happier times, I went to lunch with Rae and Deborah today. Uh, we forgot it was Mother's Day because most places had lines, so we ended up going to Seasons (fanciest/most expensive restaurant in town) for their brunch, which was indeed delicious. Avocado toast with crab salad, quiches, fruits, monkey bread, extremely good homemade chocolate chip cookies with oatmeal, coconut and Rice Krispie Treats in them--honestly, it just tasted like crumble-y good cookies. The place is worth the reputation. And had adorable gay waiters that were quite personable and fun. I note I showed them my pictures of "Donna" and they said they didn't recognize me! Awesome, exactly the goal.

After that, we went by my place to drop off the leftovers and grab my "hang out on the lawn" chair and blanket and pillows, then went to Whole Earth. Rae now has a "sort of boyfriend" named Tone who is over 40 but also has autism and apparently they are some kind of sexy soulmates or something, but she and/or possibly him as well aren't ready to be officially committed or whatever, so they are constantly cuddling. (Yes, Rae is one of those people who forgets everyone else when with a dude, SO much.) Well, he seemed nice and they seem happy. But someone please explain to me how she manages to find a potential true love at 21 and I still can't and probably never fucking will?

...Anyway, off that topic, Rae was off with Tone the day, Deborah's granddaughters came to visit and they were sweet and adorable and lovely and I mostly hung out with them. Took Deborah to Harmony to pick up baby tie-dyed things and while I was there, asked Jim was he sure he didn't want shirts, because they had his size. He said pick two, I took pictures of four, he wanted them all. Huzzah! He paid me back later and came to get them/gave me a ride back.

Heard from Ashley, said her heart was going off and making her barf, said she was going to ask to be admitted to Stanford tomorrow (presumably she's too fed up with do-nothing health care in Sacramento to go back there). Asked Jim later and he said she felt fine enough to ask to go out to dinner tonight and he thought they'd be back for karaoke, so...fingers crossed?

Back to Whole Earth, I did find Denise off and on and introduced her to Deborah, which was fun. She recognized Rae from dancing around, which I figured. I walked around with Deborah showing her other sights, and at the end we went by this hair sparkle booth. The lady has these silk threads she attaches to strands of hair with a latchhook, and they stay in as long as the hair does, and you can wash and style your hair the same as ever, no special maintenance required. Well, I won't be doing another show again until at least August, so sign me up! So I have pink/purple/blue sparkles threaded throughout, which is fun. I will have to take better shots of my hair now that I've gone home and washed it because I had whopping hat hair and the photos look a bit messy.

Deborah and company left midafternoon, so I hung out with Denise and her friends, Other Denise (for purposes of this, Blonde Denise, motorcycled in from the Bay Area), Carlos's wife and kid, and the various other people Denise knows. I hung out with them for a bit and followed them off to dance for awhile, then headed home for singing lesson. I did have an amusing conversation with Other Denise about how taking selfies is hard, and then we took a bunch of selfies to attempt to get a good one. She said Denise and I were meant to have met, I agree.

Singing lesson: Morgan didn't ask about how the show went, I did not bring it up. Dunno what to say about that. It kind of bugged me, but also she probably forgot after two weeks or whatever and life has been busy, so shut it, me. Went back to working on Fifty Percent and then Watch What Happens, which I guess went pretty well? She had been going off to audition in Fairfield and mentioned Scott also auditioning for that-- in retrospect maybe it was some other one because I was all "didn't he get into Sweeney Todd?"-- and she is going for other shows over there, apparently.

Nails lost today: 3. Nails found that came off while I was washing my hair: 2, so good save there, then found a forth that popped off. The Nail Experiment continues. I note that what seems to do them in is my own hair snagging at the cuticles. Annoying, but I think I'll keep this up another week or so.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com