Chaos Attraction

Good News and More Psychic Crap!

2002-01-17, 9:53 p.m.

Well, you will be happy to hear that today's non-Michael-seeking phone call was (insert drumroll here)�. a call about the other UCD job I applied for! I have an interview next Thursday! Woo hoo!

So now, naturally I'm running around trying to figure out what to wear (people there apparently dress like this, which is a relief because most of the chicks there don't look all formalized and suity) and reading up on interview tips and trying to figure out that whole references thing. It's hard coming up with three because I've been at the one place in the last two years and nowhere important before that, and my other two reference people are er, hard to get ahold of. One of them (my favorite professor) can be kinda flaky, which might explain why he hasn't e-mailed me back yet, or at least I hope that's why. But he was cool with being my reference a few years back, so� I think tomorrow I'm going to go on campus and try to find out when he's got office hours so I can visit or call him in person to get ahold of him (as well as taking a subtle pass by the place I'm being interviewed at, just in case, clothes-wise). The other one I'm missing is an ex-editor at the paper who said I could use her as a reference when she left. Unfortunately, I called her number tonight and found out she doesn't live there any more. I know she's in the area because I've seen her byline in the SN&R, but there's no contact information to be found about her online anywhere, I guess she's no longer working at the university part-time and I can't find any identifying info in the phone book for her. Frustrating as hell. I'm going to try to call the SN&R and see if I can get it from them, but I don't have high hopes there. Argh. This is all so damn difficult. If I can't get ahold of her I will probably have to ask another editor at the paper to do it for me, since most of my other profs that aren't design wouldn't remember me (or don't remember me fondly!). Eeep. I hate asking for references, though. It just makes me feel weird, though so far in my life nobody's told me no about it.

As for clothes, I am debating on what to wear:

(a) Black pantsuit

(b) Black blazer and medium black skirt with some non-black blouse underneath

(c) Medium length black dress with black or red blazer

(d) Lavender coatdress

(e) Nice long skirt and a sweater or buttondown top

So far people's opinions seem to be towards a or b, which are more of what I don't want to wear, but I guess that doesn't really matter. I plan to do a fashion show of trying things on tonight or tomorrow (or indeed, for the next week) to figure out what to wear.

And I'm rereading my job hunting books a thousand times as well. Now I'm feeling annoyed that we're going to have a pile of people in the house for the next four days, because that'll be distracting as all hell. Either that or I hide in my room the whole time, I guess, but still.

In the meantime, I have got to start going to bed earlier than 2 a.m. (Okay, I've been going in the 1 a.m. range lately, but definitely not sleeping then.) Hell, I might have to stop having my usual late morning schedule because I'll have employment! Wouldn't that be a mindblower to actually be employed again two months after being un? I wonder if I can still get unemployment if it's a temporary job, or if I can stop it and get it again after the job's up.

Continuing with my theme this week being "How much of a crackpot psychic am I?" I decided to do some tarot card readings about this. And um, there were some issues.

First one: 7-card spread, asking "How will my job interview on Thursday go?" And boy, did the cards almost all suck. Ace of wands reversed (start over again, you're missing something), eight of swords (restricted action, inability to cope with changes), six of swords reversed (nothing will be accomplished at this time), ten of swords (end of a cycle), nine of pentacles (the ONE good card, good for financial independence), five of pentacles (impoverishment, loss of job. Yep, that came right after the other card) and the Empress reversed (environment is lacking in some way). Ugh, does it all sound bad or what? Talk about like, no hope.

So then, just for shits and giggles, I do a 3-card spread asking if I'll get the job, and I come up with Strength (face fears, inner strength. Duh.), nine of pentacles again and the page of wands (good news message). So I'll have a horrible interview but get the job? Huh? I did a 3-card for the first question again and came up with five of wands reversed (will work out differences, constructive outcome), king of pentacles (friendly businessman, decides about financial issues, security) and the five of cups reversed (reversal of negative energy- hope and happiness return). Huh. So that looks a lot better� let's hope the first reading was about the layoff or something instead, huh?

Also while flipping around through my tarot book, I found a layout (the "horoscope" one) designed to go into what's in store for your year. Since this is January, after all� Here's what it came up with:

First house: physical self, personality, early childhood: The Hermit. It's about learning lessons and open-mindedness- you will seek counsel or someone will want to help you. Not bad.

Second house: possessions, earning abilities, self-esteem: Emperor reversed. Immaturity in dealing with positions of power, not always logical. Ugh. Sounds like me, sounds like a problem.

Third house: knowledge, siblings, environment: Knight of Cups This one represents an invitation/proposal and can mean romance- an issue of the heart comes closer to you. I'm not sure if this is a good thing or not. I guess so, if it's a proposal I actually want�

Fourth house: home, family, foundation of life: Five of wands Opposition, struggles, something's gone awry. In other words, same as always ("That bad, huh?").

Fifth house: creativity, romance, risks: Queen of cups Usually represents the heart, strong attachment, helping others, being sensitive. This is the card most like me (what I use as a signifier when required), so good sign that it comes up here.

Sixth house: personal responsibilities, health, how I serve others: Six of pentacles Happy union with fellow employees, a raise or promotion, sharing the wealth. By all means, bring this one on!

Seventh house: ("when the moooooon, is in the seventh house�." Okay, okay, so I had to go to a Fifth Dimension concert once or twice. I couldn't resist.) primary relationships and partnerships: Three of cups reversed. Make new plans, bring excesses under control, communicate your feelings. Eep. Ugh. Yikes.

Eighth house: sex, death, rebirth, joint resources: (what a catchall, huh?) Nine of cups reversed My wish won't be fulfilled, overindulgence, lack of money. Um�so I won't get laid, then? Or so much for the happy job stuff? Who the hell knows?

Ninth house: social- higher education, philosophy, law, religion, travel: (another damn catchall) Wheel of Fortune reversed (oh, that's not good) Stagnation. Relax and slow down. Ugh, not again.

Tenth house: reputation, career, social responsibilities: Ace of pentacles reversed Lack of prosperity- new road is not prosperous. False sense of security, great plans may not materialize. Overextended financially? In other words, oh shit, that's all I need.

Eleventh house: goals, groups, friends: (also known as the other area besides fourth house that's guaranteed to be a shithole) Page of wands reversed Delays, contacts not made, message you don't want to hear. Again, same as always, that bad, huh. Man, I am so tired of this.

Twelfth house: subconscious, privacy, karma, secrets, hidden knowledge: Eight of wands Success for goals, travel, love. Land in happiness. Move in the right direction.

Okay, NOW I'm confused. Things are good, then they're bad, then they're good again? Er, what?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com