Chaos Attraction

UPS Is Evil

2023-01-20, 8:14 p.m.

Three years ago today was the first confirmed case of Covid-19 in the U.S. I still haven't (to my knowledge) gotten it after three years, officially now. Something to celebrate. On a related note, work finally mandated boosters by end of February, except they said people can decline it (and did not spell out specifically who's allowed to decline or not). So...nobody's gonna get them or have to get them, then? On a related note, the health officer for town said we have the highest infection rates EVER OF ALL TIME now (which they only know via our shit) and nobody's testing and can people please, please practice some protocols....?

Work today: (a) BigBoss scheduled a private meeting with me next Thursday. Unlike the last meeting with IBB, I plan on keeping my mouth shut as much as possible. Or just let him talk about whatever. I'm not going to bring up anything I have to say now, I know better.

(b) UPS STILL IS REFUSING TO DELIVER PACKAGES HERE. They've already returned the newest one back to sender and our vendor said they returned something else too. There is no excuse for this happening now.

I note that I asked on work Slack if anyone else was experiencing this and got told no by a mansplainer (we have one guy who is an expert on literally everything) who said I should contact UPS myself after I said they won't talk to the receiver, only the sender, and "we're still having them sent to campus mail" by another one. Had Another Talk about this with NewBoss and who the hell knows...she did tentatively agree that if this continues they'll need to go back to mail services again. But seriously, FFS, someone's already demanding when can they get the package and the answer is now FUCK IF I KNOW, MAYBE NEVER AT THIS RATE.

In other news, gonna get together during lunch with Dawn and Loretta on Monday, going to get the tires rotated (sigh) on Tuesday because they won't do it unless I'm in line at 8 a.m., and that bookstore that wasn't open on weekends is going to be open on Saturday, so we're going to try to head over there before the show. Unfortunately Debbie and Rae won't get there until probably 12:45 and I need to book it out between 1:30-2, so...sigh. Maybe I'll just go early and have my quality reading time before they get there. Oh yeah, and I found a book I've wanted for awhile in a Little Free Library, "This Is Ear Hustle." I asked for that for Christmas and Mom refused to buy it for me (no shocker there), so muahahah, I have it now!


Show went smooth like buttah tonight, no issues other than starting a bit late due to various traffic snafus--Omar offered to do improv to kill time, love it. Steve did text me to say he'd set up the lights remotely, I texted him thanks and I wasn't expecting that after he just got home, also warned him that the computer wants to reboot (hopefully he can like, handle that remotely) His card will probably arrive in the mail tomorrow, I'm debating whether or not to offer it up to anyone else who wants to sign it or something..

No particular stories from backstage other than Kimmie mentioning being angsty still over a sound issue in Cabaret (I said I understood, thinking of two weeks ago) and commenting "why is she telling everyone to be quiet, nobody's making any noise!" at one line in the show (thought same). Omar and I got cookies for the break. Oh yeah, and had a conversation with Brian and Stacy pre-show about Kimmie's preferred brand of toilet paper, literally called "Who Gives A Crap?" (previously mentioned sometime during Beauty and the Beast). "I told this to Noel and she said she'd never get anything else again," Brian said.

I did see that Scott messaged Eddie that he was seeing Treasure Island tonight (on Eddie's post about it being the last weekend). Oh, and then he reblogged that Young Frankenstein is STILL LOOKING FOR MEN, ANY MEN WILL DO, PLEASE COME MONDAY NIGHT. So gee, I guess you're going then, they'll take any men? ....Seriously cheeses me off that as a woman I'm fucking worthless and extra but literally any guy can walk in and get a good part. I hate being me. It almost makes me want to attempt to be "male presenting" and pull a "She's The Man" or any movie in which a girl dresses up like a guy to get a role, except these days people would probably be offended/think I'm trans/both, sigh. Shorthaired Sarah has it right to play dudes.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com