Chaos Attraction

The Night Before, and More Hair Angst

2002-01-23, 8:14 p.m.

Hill and I had a pleasant evening last night. She agreed to redye my hair for me (thank the gods, because I'd so screw it up by myself. I don't know how people who can't see the back of their heads do it.), we went out for pizza and shopped around at Rite Aid. It was a fun night before Mom called.

ENOUGH ABOUT MY HAIR ALREADY, MOTHER!

She called me AGAIN last night about it. Specifically, that my aunt, having read my e-mail saying that (a) no, I actually can't afford to be picky about jobs while on unemployment (seriously, it says that on all my papers that you are in official trouble if you turn a job down) and (b) I have zero intention of cutting my hair, decided to call Mom and tattle on me for not listening to her about anything she said and for having "issues." She also said that me talking to her about my hair probably made me feel like I was talking to Mom about my hair (gee, ya think?). So thus the yelling and screaming commenced again, with me finally blowing up that if I have to cut my hair, which I will hate and not want to look at myself in a mirror about for years, to get this job, then fuck it, I'll find something else to do. She then started in on "well, don't look too severe when pulling it back, you don't want to look 45 years old." (I couldn't look 45 years old if I WAS 45 years old.) On and on and on and on and on and on. She also put Dad on the phone to yell at me for not obeying those who know better than I do.

GAH! Thank god there's only two more days of this shit to put up with. I know she's wigged out about me getting this job and all and it's driving her insane that she's not here to control my head, but sheesh.

I'm putting this in at around 8:30 p.m. I'm hoping Hill keeps the phone lines busy all night so I won't have to have yet another fight tonight. But that's hoping for too much, I'm sure.

By the way, I now have three references! Woo hoo! I went to go visit my favorite prof today, and he said he got my e-mail and wrote back to it- I just didn't get it. What a sweetie, I adore him. I also passed by the office on campus again, and saw a few people inside. Alas, they look business-suity. I think I'm going to go with the coatdress, though. Honestly, I don't want to wear anything else, it looks businesslike to me, and given the ambiguity of it all, fuck it. I'll wear what I like.

Though I did kinda do a concession to Mom and went to a beauty store today to look at hair stuff. I ended up buying some kind of styling lotion (the hair, during all of its being fooled around with, is getting decidedly frizzy every time it's stuck into a shape) and yet another odd hair clip thingie to test out. Trying to find some practical, boring business style to hide that I have long hair is such a PITA. And to think I used to think that fooling around with my hair was fun. Fortunately the lovely Jess of 3WA gave me a style that she's worn to interviews and it actually worked on my hair! *faint* The styling lotion, while making my hair look kinda wet, actually got rid of the frizziness, too. Now if I can only get rid of the (figures I'd have one of these by now) chin zit, it'll all go okay.

You know what? Perfection is so bloody tedious. You have to print out multiple copies of your resume and references, on expensive nice paper with watermarks that must be perfectly aligned, and not even a slight dent in the paper or a slight smear of the ink will be forgiven. This is much fun to achieve when (a) your printer decides to suck your first six sheets of resume paper into itself all at once, thus forcing you to yank it out, unplug the printer and reboot, then (b) the ink promptly starts smearing, forcing you to clean the black ink cartridge (which is getting frighteningly low) three times so it'll stop, and (c) your printer starts chucking the papers it's done across the room, thus giving some of them nice little bent marks in them.

Ugh! What a nitpickin' waste of time, ink and paper.

In short, I'm as ready as I'll ever be for the interview. I've got a resume, I've got references, I've got an outfit, I've got a hairstyle, and I've read through all those examples of possible interview questions and rehearsed answers a bunch of times. Now I can just dawdle around tonight and chill out, though let's face it, I know damn well I won't sleep a wink tonight, so a good night's rest is out of the question. Wish me luck at 11 a.m. PST, folks!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com