Chaos Attraction

How It Went

2002-01-24, 9:16 p.m.

I was a good girl and went to bed at promptly 1 a.m. (hey, that IS good for me) and fell asleep fairly quickly. Alas, I still didn�t get to sleep much anyway, due to a panicked call from Hill at 6:45 a.m. (her boss hadn�t shown up at work yet and she wanted her number) and a weird call from Mom at 8:30 saying "Your father says you can take a taxi to school." HUH? (It's like a 5 minute free bus ride away.) AT least she didn�t start in about the hair again. But still, so much for getting rest beforehand ...

The interview went pretty well. I was introduced to the chick running the project and another fellow working on it, who read me questions off of sheets. Most of it was fairly straightforward, though I did kinda wonder how to describe doing a multi-step project ("Um, you just figure out what needs to be done in what order and do it."). And I think I came off kinda egotistical in the "Why should we hire you?" question, but shoot, I�d just said what I was good at already and I couldn�t think of what else to say. I think I might have scored an interesting point on one question, though. The other chick working on the project is deaf, and they asked me how I�d work with her, and I said that I knew a little sign language (sadly, that�s only a little. I�d love to take the class offered here, but couldn�t afford it). Otherwise I figure we�d just type to each other or something. If other people are weirded out by that, hey, could be an in for me. (Plus I'm selfishly thinking hey, maybe she could teach me some sign.)

If I get hired for the project, it sounds like I could go in for 4 days a week or 5, hours are fairly loose, goes till mid-May to end of June, depending on when it gets done. That�s pretty cool..It would start the end of next week or the beginning of the week after that.

Anyway, I don�t think I did all that badly, but I don�t have the usual "Oooh, I so nailed it! They HAVE to give me the job now!" high that apparently indicates that I won�t get it for sure. So that�s a good sign? At least I know my references will be good. We shall see. I will survive if I don�t get it, so I�m not going to worry about it for the next few days. I even was a good girl and wrote thank-you notes and mailed them today, too. I'm starting to scare myself.

I haven�t mentioned this before, but I found another position at UCD that I�m eligible for (or at least, it doesn�t say anything that I think totally shoots me out). It�d be an admin assistant job in education. And while it pays a fabulous salary (a LOT larger than I have ever made before. But um, that might be an indication it�s not for someone of my level.), I just have this pretty strong vibe that it might not be the best thing for me to do. They want the person to write and edit proposals, newsletters, correspondence, reports, etc. Some of that, no problem, but other things, well ... no professional experience doing them. I could learn, sure, but do they want someone who doesn�t know yet? Of course, they want Excel. I�d have to "train and oversee student staff," which is another thing I haven�t hugely done professionally (unprofessionally, sure). Honestly, if I were them, I wouldn�t hire me over everyone else for that. I know, I might as well try for everything I can, no guarantees that I�ll get the job today, blah blah blah� but I have nervousness about it. The due date for it is on Monday, so I�d better decide soon- and yeah, I don�t get to find out on the first job before that. I really don�t feel comfortable applying for more than one job at a time, especially if I get the one today and then get asked about this one. If I (miraculously) was wanted for #2, would they hold out until June for me? I think not. At least application-wise it�d be easy because I could just take my old forms and alter them, as well as my resume, and write another cover letter. Oy. Choices, choices.

Interestingly enough, we were talking about the haircut debate on chat (and on another board I post on), and Jette showed me this entry from when she got her hair all cut off. I read the comments at the top and bottom and thought, "You know, I�d SO have that happen to me if I got mine cut." All the cooing about cuteness, definitely. I suspect her haircut is one that many people would like to see on me, too.

Heard from Shawn again today- I smell impending date asking for tomorrow, as he was hinting about movies again. (Not ones I want to see, though.) Who wants to bet $50 that I completely don�t say anything next time I see him? I think I've lost the nerve again, even though I had a feeling this was coming.

He did have some funny details about an ex-coworker. This would be the fellow who I swapped positions with to get my last one because he wanted to go part time because of school. Now he�s working part time at the candy store so he can get more money for booze-filled activities, apparently. Uh-huh, and what happened to school? I�m totally giggling at that and him sticking his picture on amihotornot.com. No, I won�t link you to his picture, but he�s pulling an 8 so far, even though the picture is the one where he looks like a spiked out, kinda pissy-ish football player. Good thing, too, because if he got any low scores he�d completely freak. He�s a good-looking guy, but had a fat stage in middle school or so and like all of my other formerly-fat friends, has been traumatized about his appearance ever since. Which is kind of hard to believe, looking at him now ... then again, maybe I shouldn�t talk. I may have not had a fat stage, but having the way your looks are regarded changed is confusing as hell.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com