Chaos Attraction

Online Education

2002-01-28, 5:06 p.m.

It actually SNOWED this morning in Northern CA, or so I heard. It was on the Sacbee's web page with an actual photo of white stuff on the ground. I was sleeping in this morning (while I still can?), but heard Hill come back in after she got off work, and she yelled "It's SNOWING!" At the time I was all "Either I'm dreaming, or she's on crack," and promptly went back to sleep. That couldn't REALLY happen here, you know. And by the time I did get up, the ground didn't even look like it had ever been wet. Oh well, the one time I saw it "snow" in this area I couldn't even tell it apart from actual rain, so I probably didn't miss a lot.

I decided not to apply for the job that would be due today. I still have bad vibes about the whole thing, and I did a tarot card reading on it that came up with all kinds of "You don't know enough about this, information still needs to be revealed"-type cards. I also did another "Will I get the applied-for job" reading, and that still came out positive, so I kinda put two and two together. Oh well, I obviously wasn't too hot for this position in the first place.

Hill found out today she does not have mono. Which was not a surprise to either of us since she was obviously a lot better by the time they actually told her this. However, they did decide she must be depressed or something instead, since they didn't have any clue. Oh lord. Having lived with the depressed, I can verify for you that Hill isn't. At least she still like, goes out and does things like her homework and goes to her job, if you know what I mean. Hill was pretty ticked at the assumption they were making.

Just for fun, I once again signed up for some of Barnes and Noble's free online classes again. I originally signed up for the astrology course sometime during the summer, but didn't complete it (after Sept. 11, I was not in the mood). I figured what the hell again, and signed up for tarot, programming basics, and this class on how they pick Oscar/Golden Globe winners.

Here's how the courses work, for those of you who don't know: The instructor recommends that you buy a book or two to go with the class (naturally), and posts written lessons and "homework assignments" online. They have message boards, "online folders" (I'm not sure why you need these to take notes on when like, YOU HAVE A COMPUTER already�) , and stuff like that. And they don't grade you or complain if you don't finish ;) You don't really have to do the homework for any reason, you could just put yourself down with a check mark of saying you did it.

Anyway, thus said� the classes aren't all THAT good, I think. Okay, so this is based on only one class I took, but still. The message boards are convoluted messes to read and I cannot keep them straight. And the book reading that I had to do didn't seem all that crucial to the online lessons, if you know what I mean. I did go buy the book (ironically, I bought it through B&N's rival because I could get it from them faster) for that class, but I won't be doing again to keep up with these new ones unless I get the vibe later that they'd make a good selection for my library. The one I bought for astrology was really too� simple for what I wanted to learn about. The equivalent of learning 2 +2 while I wanted to do multiplication, anyway. So why am I taking this stuff when I think the classes stink, you ask? I liked the written lessons, which went into more detail than the book did and were more interesting. And at least I could save them to my computer for future reference. Besides, gives me something to do, you know ;)

Yesterday I became totally obsessed with reading astrology sites. I was reading a thread on 3WA about horoscopes and someone mentioned finding a weblog written by an astrologer that talked about how this stuff related to life, or something like that. I did a search in hopes of finding this (note: I don't know if this is the same person, but they sound similar) and found this lovely site. And I was really impressed by the writing. She's only got a few entries up from December and then started updating daily in January, but it was all a treat to read. Some entries and ideas just blew me away, like this one about natal promise-- an area in your life that will just always go well for you no matter what. I was pretty impressed� until I thought about my life and what came easy to me and realized that my one area of natal promise must be in attracting men I'm not interested in, and what's the point of that? Eek! The other one that blew my mind was this one about how sensitive Scorpios (and those with strong Scorpio aspects in their charts) are and how if they've been betrayed, they will be mortally wounded in that area, never forgive again and never try to go back to what they've lost. Gee, does THAT sound familiar? Guess who's ascendant is Scorpio� not to mention growing up with a Scorpio dad, also known as Mr. Just Because The Cable Guy Didn't Show Up, I Will Forbid You All From Cable Forever Man.

I then went all obsesso reading about Saturn Returns and astrological advice columns again, in hopes of finding something saying that your life would also be shitty at my current age and might like, be ending soon. This is about as close as I found. And finally, I wound up my er, fun by fooling around with these cupid card readings. The one I got for this question was just plain spooky.

Gawd, I really need to like, go buy some new books with my gift certificates or something instead of eversurfing the Web. Or update my weblog with the fifty links I have for it. Or like, READ THE EXCEL BOOK or something like I should be doing. In short, finding something practical to do!


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com