Chaos Attraction

First REAL day at work

2002-02-05, 9:59 p.m.

Hill made me a happy first real day at work sign! What a sweetie!

The first day went well. Got the paperwork taken care of (paperwork lady was happy and held on to the ID for 45 minutes), then went in for training and talking-to. The people there are really nice. Apparently Molly (there were two of us hired for this job; she'd be the other one. Nice chick.) didn't do an enormous amount of training yesterday, so I didn't miss much. We chatted with people working there, got e-mail accounts set up (I have my old school account back! Yay!), and one chick told me that learning all the programs the school uses would REALLY help me get a permanent job in the future. Woo! We couldn't do a whole lot of other training until the computer stuff was set up and in effect, so I looked around on related websites and spent a fair amount of time checking how AP credits transfer to the school. This was easy but well, dull. Now I know why my coworker said he listens to music. I got shown around the building, found out that I'll be working full time (Molly, however, has to go pick up her kid and thus isn't) and get a fat load of money. I got sent to a mandatory insurance presentation- would you believe they offer some insurance to the temp workers? I was impressed no end. They make you go to this presentation because they figure you'll be hired permanently later and thus you might as well know. That impresses me no end. I think career-wise if I can't do writing, this is a great place to be, sucking off the fat university teat and all.

I am waaaaaay tired lately. Between (a) being woken up to find out I had a job on Friday morning, (b) waking up early for no good reason on Saturday morning, (c) not sleeping at all on Sunday, and (d) being on the phone for long periods of time Sunday and Monday nights, I am just zonked. Except , of course, when I DO have to go to sleep, and then I'm wide awake. Yikes. I suspect I won't sleep tonight either. David called during the day and said he'd call back later, so I'm waiting around for that. The message left on the machine was hysterical. Presumably he was off with Scott somewhere where there was not a landline and was going to have me call Scott's cell, then Scott realized he didn't know the number (insert eye-roll here) , and the conversation just goes back and forth. Total snickering on my part, lemme tell ya.

I don't have a lot to say tonight, but I figured I'd at least get an entry in so y'all knew I was okay and doing well. Now I think I'll go read in bed and wait for the phone call, and if it doesn't come, I may try to pass out early. Night all.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com