Chaos Attraction

Random Conversation

2002-02-06, 7:12 a.m.

As usual, just because I was tired and fell asleep fairly early did not mean that I'd sleep through the night. I woke up around 2, and 4 and 6 and couldn't get back to sleep real well. Ugh. This has gotta stop. Really, we'd better sleep this weekend instead of doing the "I Don't Wanna Miss A Thing" thing (no joke, he actually said that. Awwwww.) again or else I fear the consequences. Alas, I suspect this will not be the case, as from what I hear he isn't sleeping either.

Today went pretty well at work. We went from checking people's AP scores to seeing what classes on their transcripts were equivalent to UCD ones, which was a big step up in pure interest factor. Slow going, though.

Man, what ever happened to the so-called "9-5" workweek? When did it become 8 a.m.? And why? Because I swear, by 4 p.m. today (note: an hour before leaving) my brain was like spaghetti and I felt exhausted, and the most I'd done for the last few hours was sit in a chair and make little notes and click the mouse. Is anyone really productive between 4-5 p.m.? I think not.

Anyway, I got home and soon heard from David (who also apparently goes by Dave and I am unsure as to which one to go by. Oh, whatever. It's not like people don't debate the Jennifer/Jennie/Jen thing every day either.). We had a great conversation. Hilarious. He's already landed the new job, friends of the group (Jeremy and Nikki, who were vaguely mentioned in the vampire entry awhile back as the folks I was supposed to be ghoul for) are getting married, Nikki got a puppy, and the whole lot of them are at S&D's screwing around. I swear, any time I'm on the phone to that area I can hear all this amusing and bizarre chaos in the background. I even ended up talking with Nikki for awhile, which was even more random. (First thing out of her mouth: "Why do you like David? He's so ugly!" Insert eye-roll on my part here.) The conversation itself ranged from the vampire game (as usual) to weird names people and businesses have to bizarre party stories to dirty mindedness to absofuckinglutely hysterical answering machine messages. Apparently he loves to make them up, like "Hi, this is Dave. I can't come to the phone right now because I'm either shot or stabbed." His mother was Not Amused. If he made that into a comedy CD� I about died laughing.

He shall be coming into town around 6 or so Friday, armed with money, so that should be interesting. (Especially if we get anywhere near a bookstore.) I have no idea what to do with him this weekend (KEEP YOUR MOUTHS SHUT, I'M NOT EVEN GOING THERE WITH YOU!). Buying toys? Wander the arboretum? Poisoning pigeons in the park? (Okay, perhaps not that one.) I told him I have next next Monday off- yes, it will be one long V-Day weekend- so I will go up there and do scary things like go to the vampire game and meet his entire family. Eeep. They're apparently champing at the bit to meet me or something. Eeep.

I recently realized something else scary: Valentine's Day. As in, I'm gonna have to get him something. And like, actually deal with the day, kinda. (Since it's Thursday and I'm gonna have to work Friday, things ain't gonna be exact.) Given my normal state of V-Day hatred, bitterness and outright crankiness, this is definitely weird. What the hell do I DO? Or get? Well, I know there's this book he likes at Borders with funky illustrations, but otherwise? Eeep.

Awww, another mushy date entry. It seems to be going around, doesn't it?


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com