Chaos Attraction

You Know Who This Is To

2003-02-10, 5:46 p.m.

Februarium Day One, February 10: Who you love.

- This is a love letter to anyone. Or no one in particular. Parent, spouse, significant other, ex-lover, pet dog -- you write it all down here.

I'm not good at these things, but here goes. Not that I'll probably actually get up the nerve to show this to you or anything...

You always amaze me. Every day you do or say something that blows me away. Something that reveals how truly kind or sweet or generous or just plain understanding (not to mention tolerant) you can be compared to everyone else I ever met, it seems.

I had no idea guys could ever be like you. I was used to guys who were wishy-washy at best, who jerked me around, who were indecisive, who could be pushy, who expected me to read their minds, who made me feel like I was always the one who was causing the problems in the relationship because I just didn�t get it. I know you wonder sometimes how you got lucky enough to end up with me. Trust me, it's the other way around. (As any of my exes could tell you.) I had no idea that someone was actually willing to put up with my weirdness and not run away screaming. Then again, you�d probably say the same thing!

I had no idea a boyfriend would actually want to work with me on finding solutions to problems, or listen to me when something was going wrong. I had no idea someone would ever be that caring, or that loyal, or have that much staying power.

I�m so confused as to how long we�ve been together. Technically we know it�s a year, but it usually seems like we�ve known each other forever, and yet just met last month and are still in the annoying-everyone-with-our-schmoopiness stage. And I used to think that sort of thing wore off after dating someone for six months- who knew?

I suspect there�s people out there who are all �Uh, you�re engaged? After how long? Are you nuts?� Well, yes, duh, but besides that� well, I just knew you who it could all be worked out with. That I�d found someone who DID want to work things out. Who wasn�t eventually going to get bored or irritated or fed up and walk away when something came up.

I wish I was more eloquent here- you�d top this letter 1000 times over just off the top of your head- but hey, this managed to say it all.

I love you.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com