Chaos Attraction

Bus Musings

2002-02-15, 10:55 p.m.

(Written on the bus while sitting in Sacramento, 6:30 p.m.)

Gah, I have been so out of it all day. Totally zonked after midnight bedtime and waking up at 6 a.m. for no good reason (AGAIN). The constant fatigue is getting to me, as I was definitely dumber today at work. We got taught how to put out of state and private schools into the database today, and I just so tuned that out that I did half of them wrong and the long way around. Took forever to fix and delete what I'd done. And in general I was all spacy and restless and REALLY wanting out of the building so I could leave and get on with my life. What a looooong day.

The good news is I made the connecting bus and didn't miss it! Phew! The bad news is now I know why they claim it takes two hours to get to Stockton from here. The driver went to Sac first and dillydallyed around for a half hour to see if anyone else would be picked up, but they all went on another bus. What a waste of time, and apparently we get to do that in Lodi too. ETA 7:40 now (late). Good thing they hold the damn train. Poor Dave gets to wait around for me being late. Much as I hate to give in and concede a point to practically everyone, maybe I should get a cell phone. At least then I could tell him I'm going to be late. 'Course then I'd soon become the obnoxious git who spends the entire trip yapping on the cell phone like other folks on this bus. Maybe I should get one sooner than later given my future travel plans/yapping on the phone to him every night, but what if I can't handle the bill later?

Man, I wish the larger part of this journey was on the train instead of the bus. But oh well, it's all the more dramatic-looking to do romantic clinches upon disembarking a train, I guess. (Man, I hardly ever watch old black and white movies, but some obviously musta made an impression on me here.) Given the heart cards and flowers I've seen people carrying, at least several of us are having a hot weekend.

I try to not space out about Dave while I'm at work, and mostly I keep the spacing to a functional level (I do have to use my brain at work). Today, however, much more difficult. A coworker of mine and I were gossiping about VD. Her husband's a David, and we went on for awhile about how wonderful they are. Heh.

It amazes me that after being tired all day, now that it's night I am fully awake. Though maybe my coworker bringing me Reese's Pieces and me downing the Coke all day helped a bit too late. I swear to God his insomnia thing is catching. The most I've ever known him to sleep is about four hours a night, and now I seem to be doing it. Shit. Hope I can actually sleep this weekend, 'cause I so need it. Dave has to work in the mornings this weekend. While it sucks ass that he'll be getting up at 5 a.m. or whatever (damn alarms), hopefully I can go back to sleep and not wake until noon! (He tries to drag me out of bed around 10.)

Arriving tonight will most likely be� interesting. I'm still not sure if he's gonna have an entire contingent of friends staking out his house for my arrival (eep) or just a few or who or what. He seemed to like the idea a few days ago of calling them and crying that I hadn't shown up and to come over and console him, then have me answer the door. (Heheh.) I figure I'll at least get whoever it is (Terry?) that's picking me up and probably Jeremy and Nikki, as well as (eep) his parents. Yup, I'm nervous about that one.

Last night we were on the phone nearly the entire night. He had J&N over, and they were, well�celebrating VD. Very loudly. Combined with Dave going "I wish you were here RIGHT NOW," it was pretty damn funny. Apparently he'd gone around at work all day with a big smile on his face and people asking if he was in love. I felt all blushy hearing that.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com