Chaos Attraction

It's Not Easy Being A Crazy Vampire

2002-02-23, 10:25 p.m.

Friday night's game was damn weird. The whole gang down here has been working on creating an insane family of vampires for awhile now, and tonight was when they got revealed. Well, oh my lord. I'll give you an intro so you know what the poor unfortunates at the game got to deal with all at once.

Scott- playing the dad, a traumatized stand-up comic who was generally pesky, wanting to adopt people and looking to get into trouble At Any Moment. He keeps looking for a microphone. Do NOT give him one, as all kinds of horror even beyond bad vampire jokes will erupt.

Demma- playing his long-suffering wife.

Dave- the oldest son, a character who had already been in game and apparently gets into major trouble every time he shows up. Also seems to freak everyone else out. Huh.

Me- his wife, who has constant mood swings and can't bloody stand Scott's character when he's in mike mode. Very freaked and cranky. Unfortunately, she's one of the sanest in the family.

Nikki- daughter #1, who dropped out of college, married a gangster, and took up stripping as a career. (Jeremy is her husband, but he was playing another character and wasn't involved in the night's mess) Naturally, her parents are um, upset. (Nikki's VERY SHORT dress for this cracked me up.)

Chrissy (friend of Nikki's or her ex-stepsister or something or other I lost track of)- Jeremy's sister, who Mom and Dad like a lot better than Jeremy. She doesn't like to hear him be insulted.

Julia (unknown connection to the rest of the gang, but I guess people know her)- Scott's illigitimate daughter . Very timid and shy.

Basically, all of us but Dave (who was working on character stuff) went in for the first time and um, were completely conspicuous and obnoxious, family feudin', being weird to other players, etc. My character was attempting to not get into trouble and kept making gripy cracks about everyone else. (Not being able to smartass off as a ghoul got to me.) This was entertaining, but it kinda freaked me out how well, easy it was for me to be Mood Swing Girl. I normally never do that, and it really started to wear on me and make me feel crazy after awhile in real life. Pills, anyone?

I blame it all on Scott and Nikki- she gave him a microphone, and the rest of us, knowing what was coming, freaked out. And um, I screamed a bit too loud without realizing it (story of my life these days), and got people pissed at me and making comments about losing my tongue. Crap, I'm in trouble already! Fortunately they laid off me and Scott got off with a 15-minute enforced silence (which he kept talking through "out of character" anyway).

It got worse.

So the second-in-command of our clan was pointing out who to avoid in town, and she pointed out one fellow and said "Avoid him. He's an elder and you will get in all kinds of trouble." Wouldn't you know he comes over for intros about five minutes later, wanting to play "Spin the Sword." We all left in a hurry.

Having us scatter about was not a good idea, as Julia wandered off into the wrong area and got terrorized. This royally pissed Dave off and set off some fun family chain reactions where nearly everyone but me (like I said, I was trying to avoid trouble) ended up terrified of the guy who bothered Julia. (In real life, that guy's her fiance. Ah, the irony.) The family could not be kept under control and behaving, basically. The guy in charge of our clan was freaked out of his mind at our invasion, which made things Even Worse.

So, when you come into a clan as a new character, you have to get the head of your clan to get you introduced to the prince of the city. If that doesn't happen, you can end up in Major Trouble. And�. We er, couldn't get one. Various complicated machinations went on, resulting in Mr. Sword Spinner and a few others notifying us that we'd been banished from the city at the prince's request for violating the rules or something. I guess it's a temporary banishment and we may be able to come back as early as next week or the week after that (don't ask me how, I'm so confused) or something, and it turns out there was a LOT more behind the whole plot than we knew about that needs to get resolved. Oh well, at least we didn't get killed off on our first night, which I SO thought we were headed for.

At any rate, Dave was royally pissed at the whole debacle and went around kicking random objects in the parking lot, while I was in a bad mood (the mood swings were really getting to me) and wondering why people played this stupid game. I went to go hide out in the out-of-character area until the night was over. Dave eventually found me and and we chilled out in the back for awhile. It was just one of those evenings where nothing was gonna go well while we were there, I think. At any rate, I can't say I am totally looking forward to the week after next's (games are alternating Friday and Sunday nights, so obviously I can't go on the latter) inevitable chaos. Playing a ghoul again is starting to look better, or at least quieter. Doesn't sound like that's gonna happen any time soon though.


previous entry - next entry
archives - current entry
hosted by DiaryLand.com